We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant

72 Main Road, Meriden, Solihull CV7 7NF England
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (138)
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#2 of 3 hotels in Meriden
Welcome to The Strawberry Bank a modern styled drinking and eating destination in Meriden. With our stunning surroundings, relaxed decor and friendly team, we invite you to enjoy the newly refurbished interior with a leisurely drink from our extensive selection in the pub or dine from our range of classic meals in the Restaurant. We also boast an exclusive function room that can be tailored for Weddings, Conferences and other Events to suit your individual needs as well as, 55 bedrooms in The Strawberry Bank Hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian, Polish
666Reviews7Q+A99Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 252
  • 193
  • 117
  • 62
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Traveller wrote a review 6 May
1 contribution
Booked a table for bank holiday Sunday, for a mixture of ladies , some of who were pregnant. We tried to order a mocktail as the pregnant ladies couldn't drink alcohol and were advised they weren't on the menu as we wasn't sitting in the conservatory area. Politely asked to speak to the manager Andy who quite frankly was rude and obnoxious. I explained myself as well as another lady was pregnant so could he make an exception and order a mocktail- or if we could order a cocktail but for them not to include the alcohol. His response was appalling explaining they were too busy, they don't have time and to stop asking, to settle for coke or lemonade. i was taken back, embarrassed and made to feel like being pregnant was an inconvenience !!!! . A lack of compassion and terrible service ruined my afternoon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Response from Nick Windsor, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 2 days ago
Hello, Andy here !! Thanks for especially signing up to trip advisor to leave your feedback I do feel honoured. It is fair to say my staff and I have a slightly different recollection of events ( maybe this is due to the amount of “mocktails” you drank) Just for the trivial matter of fairness here’s how we remember your Sunday experience.... your server explained that in the garden we run a reduced bar menu from the garden and unfortunately that doesn’t include the particular drink you were requesting. After the member of staff confirmed this a second time, you approached the bar (strictly against the current government guidelines but let’s forget that for a moment). Where I would agree that you were polite when you approached the bar, however after I (also politely) explained we did not have the ingredients to do the drink you had asked for and then listed all the non alcoholic drinks I could do for you, tone changed completely. You began to tell us what we could and couldn’t serve and completely stop listening to anything anyone was saying to you. (Not important now but honestly we didn’t have the ingredients needed to serve your drink) Then when I asked you to return to your table you called me an *@&£hole, don’t worry I did apologise to the 16 year old stood next to you on your behalf. The staff were relieved to see you manage to at least try to overcome your embarrassment with some drinks from the “no-so mocktail” list. We, like you clearly do, find the current trading conditions frustrating but in order to provide an efficient and high level of service to ALLour guests certain sacrifices do have to be made when we put together the external menu’s. No hard feelings and best of luck with your pregnancy. Kind regards, Nick aka Andy
Read more
Shirley T wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Called in for a meal at the Strawberry Bank whilst having a drive in the country. I had been to this restaurant over 40 years ago and thought it would be nice to see what it is like now. I can only say improved beyond all recognition. Lucy - the hostess and Jordan our waiter couldn't have been more attentive or pleasant if they had tried. Nothing was too much trouble and their service was excellent. The burgers that we ordered were the best we had ever eaten, well cooked and extremely tasty, and this from one who doesn't like burgers as a rule. The chef made a point of letting me know that there was a remote possibility that the oil that the chips were cooked in may have had garlic cooked in earlier. This was as a result of a throw away comment made to Jordan to say that I was allergic to garlic. I couldn't have been more pleased that such care had been taken. A restaruant that I would recomment to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Garry And Lorra... B wrote a review Oct 2020
Coventry27 contributions32 helpful votes
Late afternoon Sunday lunch! Lovely relaxed service and food was lovely... place was well set up for social distancing and nothing was too much trouble. View late afternoon from the conservatory was stunning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
melaniegriffiths44 wrote a review Oct 2020
Kenilworth, United Kingdom30 contributions49 helpful votes
Our son and daughter treated us to a meal to celebrate our silver anniversary at the Strawberry bank which was the venue for our wedding reception 25 years ago. We had a lovely evening. Atmosphere was sociable whilst socially distanced. Service was excellent and the food was lovely. No complaints at all. The waiter even went out to restock on alcohol free beer for me because they’d run out.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Keri-Edwards wrote a review Sep 2020
5 contributions
The most embarrassing customer service we have ever come across. Last year I booked a table for 26 people for my friends 30th, on the day of the booking a few hours prior we had a message of cancellation from strawberry bank because of a funeral - which we accepted and had our deposit refunded. Luckily we were able to rebook nearby on the day elsewhere I had a lovely message from Neil (the manager) that we would be looked after bottle of prosseco on the house for the inconvenience when we return to the strawberry bank. Tonight we visited, when making the call at 3.30pm I asked politely if Neil could do anything with drinks. When our meal was booked at 7.30 I asked the waitress if Neil had responded and sorted anything out. He hadn’t replied which was fine and we were more than happy to pay what we had ate and drank. Regardless of that issue the food we received the steak wasn’t good so I gave it to my brother and noted it to staff. Happy for it not to be replaced because I had eaten a quarter already the slow service with drinks too but we let it go, mentioned a couple of things to the staff and that was it. When the bill came out, without even getting chance to look at it the most rude member of staff (Becky) accused our table of just wanting free drinks and why we didn’t tell her staff about the steak (in which we did) a lovely lady from another table and came over to stand up for us and say she had overheard exactly what our table had said to the waiter and can back up that we were not telling lies. (Becky spoke so abruptly other guests were disturbed and got involved to vouch for our table and what we had said as they over heard her accusations) We have never ever been so embarrassed with customer service. I strongly recommend you never go to The strawberry bank, if you have a complaint then close your mouth because the staff are absolutely vile, the food takes forever to come out (we cancelled the pudding because it took over 25 minutes to put two scoops of icecream in a bowl) and the drinks service is appalling!! We paid our bill in full and are giving feedback exactly where is necessary. I strongly recommend that Becky has some customer service training quickly!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
US$121 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United KingdomEnglandWest MidlandsSolihullMeriden
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Middle England Farm Alpacas (3.3 km), Escape Hunt Resorts World (5.0 km), and National Motorcycle Museum (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Meriden Spice Indian Restaurant, Oodles N’Oodles, and Peel's Restaurant.
Is The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 km away from the centre of Meriden.
Does The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Knowle Parish Church (7.9 km).