Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park

2014B Arnold Valley Road, Moana 7872 New Zealand
Cottage 1 with adjacent parking
Traveller (59)
Cottage bedroom 1
Room & Suite (89)
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 motel in Moana
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Unique self-contained, serviced, motel cottages (sleep 1-6) in a village style setting on six acres of native bush & trees. Immaculately presented. Secluded, with abundant birdlife, & no neighbour noise. Cabins, power sites & non power sites also available. Chip & putt golf, games area, wireless internet. 2Km from Lake Brunner, boating, trout fishing (rivers,streams & lakes), bushwalks. We are centrally situated on the West Coast, an ideal base for your holiday. You are invited to come & stay at "Our VERY SPECIAL PLACE" - where service comes first.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Badminton
Hiking
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Massage
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Mini golf
Billiards
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Dining area
Seating area
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

2014B Arnold Valley Road, Moana 7872 New Zealand
138Reviews0Q+A22Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 28
  • 6
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Debbie D wrote a review Mar 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand79 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We ended up avoiding bad weather further down the Coast and spending a night at Lake Brunner. We were in a caravan. This is a lovely spot surrounded by native bush and the property has beautiful gardens and very nice cabins scattered throughout the property.
The hot showers were free and very clean in a great ablution block. We also appreciated the clean rubbish bins - sounds odd I know but in the era of COVID it's good not to have to touch a dirty rubbish bin lid.
The communal kitchen area is also well organised and well stocked for those who have left home without all the right equipment. We were able to access a discount through the NZMCA so this was good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol and Peter Roberts, Owner at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park
Responded 14 Mar 2021
Hi Debbie You clearly took time out of your schedule to prepare this detailed review for our camp site, for which we are grateful. Thank you for that and for recognising some of the small but important issues that are so important. We hope to see you back when you are in the area. Take care
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Briony wrote a review Mar 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This complex is run by a caring and welcoming couple with local knowledge to help your stay be worthwhile. We were going to camp but heavy rain changed our plans. We were offered a comfortable cabin with TV and heater at an affordable rate. The ablution block was spotless - shower pressure could improve but I realise that with gas heating this is sometimes not possible. Upside is that there is always hot water! The communal kitchen was well equipped and comfortable with eating/relaxling seating. The grounds were immaculate & well maintained. My companion and I said we would definitely be back for a longer stay to enjoy Lake Brunner and its surrounds.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms have queen beds or bunk beds.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol and Peter Roberts, Owner at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park
Responded 14 Mar 2021
Hello again, thank you for your lovely and detailed review of your stay with us. We pride ourselves with paying attention to detail to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We love taking care of our grounds and use our best efforts to keep them neat and tidy. We look forward to your return journey to Lake Brunner.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo J wrote a review Jun 2020
Geraldine, New Zealand1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were unable to stay there and had to cancel our booking 5 days before we were to stay there, to return home to attend a funeral. Their policy is to cancel within 7 days or they will deduct 50% of the cost.
I emailed and explained this to the hosts and she wanted proof of us attending the funeral. How do you do that? I emailed her the details of when the notice was in the paper and the memorial service was two days later.
Honestly, I am very disappointed at the reaction I received. How do you know when someone will pass away? We were very disappointed not to be able to stay there as we were celebrating 50 years of marriage on a holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Room Tip: the cottages sounded amazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol and Peter Roberts, Owner at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Hello Jocelyn We appreciate all our guests responses to their experience. Fristly it is imperative that you see our cancellation policy which comes standard with our confirmation once a booking has been made with ourselves: See our Cancellation Policy below: Quote Cancellation & deposit of booked accommodation. Credit card details are deemed to be a deposit, and are required to confirm your booking, but no deduction will be made from the credit card until first date of booked accommodation, at which time full payment is required. Direct credit can also be used to confirm booking. Guests can cancel free of charge until 7 days before arrival. Guests will be charged 50% of the total price of their booking if they cancel in the 7 days before arrival date. If the booking is cancelled on the day of arrival or a ‘no show’, the guest will be charged 100% of their booking. Rates / tariffs are subject to change at any time without notice. Unquote This booking was cancelled without an explanation see your email dd 24.06.2020 (see below) Quote Hello, I wish to cancel our booking for a cottage on Sat 27th June for 1 night as our arrangements have changed sorry. Unquote As you well remember we were not advised about the death/funeral so we applied our standard cancellation policy fee and after the fee was charged we received another email from yourself dd 26.06.2020 (see below) Quote Hello, Today I was reading your email re our booking and that we should cancel within 7 days. As we have had to return home for a funeral, which we didn't know about until 2 days ago, I think it wouldn't be fair to take part of our payment because we weren't able to let you know within that time frame. Hoping you will understand. Unquote See our reply to the above dd 28.06.20 Quote Hi Jocelyn Thank you for your email. We are sorry to hear about the loss of a person of whom you were close to. Your original email to cancel the booking, came with no explanation, for this reason we applied our standard cancellation policy. We are sure you can well understand the decision we took in the absence of any mitigating circumstances. In order for us to refund the 50% we would require some proof of the funeral you attended. Hoping you understand our need to go these lengths in the interest of being fair. Unquote At no point did we take a position that we were not prepared to accommodate your cancellation and believe our request for some form of proof to be quite reasonable, since we are not insensitve to the fact that death comes unplanned. Proof could have been a brochure from the funeral, since we were not going to go out specifically to purchase a newspaper to validate this funeral service. Sadly we live in times where supporting evidence is required to substantiate one's position and we too believe this not to be unreasonable. In conclusion, we do not view our request for evidence as a question of your integrity, but merely a means to be fair to both parties. Had you indicated upfront in your first mail that your cancellation was due to a funeral and not due to a change in your arrangements, this may have taken some frustration out of the exercise, for both parties. Unbeknown to yourself, we had prepared a welcome and congratulation card for your anniversary as well as a complimentary bottle of bubbly. In the end your cancellation charge was refunded in full (without proof) and in good faith and we are therefore somewhat surprised by your Dissappointment with us as hosts.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greg S wrote a review Oct 2020
Auckland, New Zealand4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spacious grounds and amazing hosts. Carol and Kelli looked after us while the guys were away. We were 2 couples who just completed the West Coast Wilderness trail cycle over 4 days so the facilities were welcomed. We were treated like family and were able to borrow a car which added to the trip. Thanks Kelli.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol and Peter Roberts, Owner at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park
Responded 16 Jan 2021
Hi Greg Your kind words are really appreciated. We consider our place home away from home for our guests and are pleased that you enjoyed this experience. Thank you for the treats you volunteered. We were more than happy to assist with the vehicle whilst you were here to explore our area more.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vanessa A wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is only a few minutes to the lake -(so seeing the lake from the accommodation is not possible, which we knew, so was not a problem for us. The accommodation was very clean and well set up, the shared kitchen was very clean and one of the nicest I have come across, oven was great and clean. The facilities had a wonderful glow worm viewing place only 5 minutes walk, and there were many games and activities for younger kids and families. Our teens enjoyed the chip and putt facility.

Our family studio unit was serviced and cleaned daily, which was great value for money.

The staff were very pleasant and very helpful, going out of their way to make our stay perfect, even bringing another small fridge onto our verandah to accommodate our need for extra fridge and freezer space.

It looked like boats could be parked on site too.

Would recommend and stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We stayed in a family studio unit, these are separated from the rest of the complex, with...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol and Peter Roberts, Owner at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park
Responded 16 Jan 2021
Hi Vanessa Thank youso much for your detailed review, for which we are grateful. So happy you enjoyed your stay and found our amenities to your liking. We hope to see you back again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen wrote a review Jan 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently spent 9 days camping here with my family and wish to thank Carol and Peter for an awesome stay. They could not have been more helpful or friendly, nothing was a problem. The facilities were very clean and well appointed. Everything we needed was at our fingers tips. We loved the fire pit and spent many hours playing table tennis, volley ball and petanque. The grounds are kept beautifully and as the complex attracts travelers from all over, we were able to meet some lovely New Zealanders and overseas visitors. Thank you, we will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from weka2014, Owner at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Your positive review and acknowledgement are greatly appreciated Karen. Ensuring that our guests are comfortable and have a memorable stay is high on our agenda and it is so rewarding for us after the fact, when we have a sense that this has been achieved. It was great to meet you and the rest of your family and thank you for spending your time here with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hoofcare110 wrote a review Apr 2021
Christchurch2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Without a doubt the best camp ground we have ever stayed at, the most gorgeous native bush setting only a few minutes from the lake, spacious sites at very good prices. The facilities were spotless and the whole park was beautifully maintained. The owners really tipped the whole experience off, super friendly, helpful, accommodating and genuine, it’s a little but if paradise we are so happy to have discovered and now that we have we will most certainly be back as soon as we can. We honestly cannot recomend this place enough. You would be silly to miss it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol and Peter Roberts, Owner at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park
Responded 14 May 2021
Hi Ben and Georgina It was an absolute pleasure to meet the two of you and enjoyed every encounter and interaction with you folks. Thank you so very much for your kind words and we look forward to catching up and hosting you again when the time is right, particularly around a campfire and a few social drinks. Take care always
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah M wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hosts, well maintained and clean facilities, beautiful, private tenting area with lots of room for our group. It is well set up so you feel that the kids are safe from vehicles. So much for the kids to do in the playground and sports shed. Not far from the petrol station/shop for ice and supplies. And although not on the Lake not far to drive. We felt very welcome and really enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol and Peter Roberts, Owner at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park
Responded 16 Jan 2021
Hi Sarah It was our pleasure to host you and appreciated the time you took to review our facilities on offer. Also delighted that you had a great stay, knowing that your children were safe and occupied. Take care, until next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert S wrote a review Apr 2021
Whangarei, New Zealand13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 3 nights in a cabin while visiting the area. Facilities were clean and well managed. Communal kitchen was well resourced with excellent seating and ability to watch tv while you cook. Grounds were well laid out with gardens well maintained. Owners very friendly and took an interest in what we were doing and providing local information.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol and Peter Roberts, Owner at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park
Responded 14 May 2021
Hi Robert Thank you for your time in reviewing our place and your positive acknowledgements. We hope to see you return when you are on the South Island. Take care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
patrice wrote a review Oct 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the cabins for 2 nights at a recent visit.The owners were very welcoming from the moment we arrived.The amenities were really excellent ,in particular the comunal dining area was really well set up with all the kitchen facilities provided.There was a lovely bonfire put on in the evening with a great area for people to sit around it and enjoy . great place, look forward to returning
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carol and Peter Roberts, Owner at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park
Responded 14 Oct 2020
Hi there, thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted that you ofund our amenities to your liking and we look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
J M Kennedy wrote a tip Feb 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cottage 1 met all our expectations"
Read full review
Jenny wrote a tip Jan 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Luxury at budget price."
Read full review
nique197 wrote a tip Jan 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our cabin was private and good value for the price"
Read full review
Maree A wrote a tip Jan 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Always have your insect repellent"
Read full review
Charles L wrote a tip Nov 2021
49 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cottage 4 is our pick"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Moana area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionMoana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAKE BRUNNER COUNTRY MOTEL & HOLIDAY PARK - Reviews (Moana) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Te Kinga Summit Walk (6.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Lake Brunner Country Motel & Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire