We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Frinton Road, Thorpe le Soken CO16 0JD England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$451
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/12/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$451
Booking.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1045)
360
Panoramas (59)
Room & Suite (503)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 12/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 12/02/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Lifehouse Spa & Hotel, located in Thorpe-le-Soken, Essex, is a contemporary lifestyle spa. Only 80 minutes from London by train and set in 130 acres of grounds, Lifehouse Spa & Hotel will help you revitalise and relax in beautiful surroundings. With a selection of day and residential packages to choose from, guests can indulge in a day of pampering, or truly get away from it all with an overnight stay. With 89 bedrooms, 35 treatment rooms, a gym, exercise studio, swimming pool, sauna & steam room, thermal spa area with salt-inhalation room, relaxation area, manicure and pedicure stations,and 12 acres of listed gardens, you can do as much or as little as you like!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Aerobics
Patio
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Adults only
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
2291Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 871
  • 631
  • 417
  • 214
  • 158
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jo1963 wrote a review Nov 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom71 contributions103 helpful votes
Booked here for two nights whilst attending a relatives wedding . Looking at the website before we booked we thought this would be a luxury hotel, but in fact it reminded you of a very low budget TUI hotel . Low concrete building with no character at all. We checked into a contemporary double room which was extremely bland with all miss matched furniture. One bedside table only and the other was a round coffee table. Room was very dated and needed a makeover. Bathroom was supposed to have luxury toiletries but they weren’t. There were also no flannels in the bathroom. Bed that night was so uncomfortable and saggy we kept rolling into the middle of the bed. Told the receptionist on checkout about the bed and got an oh dear!! Lenny Henry would have been more sympathetic I think….. We had an evening meal in the restaurant, I chose the Bucatini all’ Amatriciana which was supposed to be a rich pasta dish with pancetta but in fact tasted like a tin of Heinz spaghetti with a couple of bits of pancetta. Breakfast was also disappointing as the only eggs on offer were scrambled and resembled curdled milk. The bacon was dry and the min hash browns you could break your teeth on. Was very disappointed in the restaurant for all our meals. The pool area was needing a makeover as looked tired and run down and there was no calming music being played as was advertised on the hotel website. Overall I can admit the room was clean and tidy but the whole place lacked any atmosphere and did not offer we thought any luxury at all. Would we return, doubtful.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Florida060 wrote a review Oct 2021
England, United Kingdom105 contributions106 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Sheer bliss! We had a girlie weekend away and greeted by lovely receptionists, friendly, chatty and helpful. We had 2 twin signature rooms 42 and 43 and they were beautiful, over looking the lake with a lovely balcony. The bar was fabulous, Charlie served us some amazing cocktail - a lovely lad and a real asset to your workforce, the sun came out and he helped us sit outside with cosy blankets for our legs and of course some more cocktails. He really is the best - Lifehouse martini, pornstar martini and espresso martinis - simply lovely. The Spa was perfect, relaxing and the hydro pool was beautiful and relaxing. Not crowded at all and very clean. The whole place is just so tranquil, a fabulous nights sleep and divine breakfast in the morning - served with care and very attentive staff. Thank you lifehouse for such a beautiful few days and night with you. Keep up the good work and we will see you again very soon. Make sure Charlie is working! 🍹
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Mrs L wrote a review Nov 2021
King's Lynn, United Kingdom21 contributions4 helpful votes
Food lets this place down . Afternoon tea - sandwiches nice enough . Asked for no salmon , was given cucumber, ham and a few leaves , grated cheese and egg Mayo. Nothing special or exciting . The scones were nice served with plenty of clotted cream and jam. Top plate was mini desserts - eclair, cake, brownie and a hard pastrie. Again all edible but nothing exciting . In all honestly the cake was a bit tasteless and the pastrie too sweet. £44 for 2 people Including 1 cup of either tea or coffee is a bit steep . Would of been nice for the price to have unlimited hot drinks at least . The spa area was nice . Lots of spaces to relax and enjoy . Plenty of things to choose from - pool, sauna, steam rooms, aroma showers and jacuzzi type pool . Maintained very well . Good to say a chap their working all day , wiping down handles and replenishing the towels etc . He was doing a great job . The robs provided are lovely fresh and clean . The room was nice . Bed comfy and room clean . Would of been good to have instructions for the coffee machine . We found the room very hot even with the radiator turned off . We booked a table for evening meal and cancelled it due to the poor menu . Extremely over priced , £20 for a bowl of pasta ! And poor choice . Nothing simple like burger and chips , it was either fish , duck or pheasant. Breakfast - probably the worst breakfast I’ve ever had . I’ve had so much nicer elsewhere . Only one piece of toast offered , usually 2 slices surely . The bacon and sausages very chewy fatty and spicy . Mini Hash browns awful . Tasted like they had been deep fat fried and then reheated . Beans ok . Mushrooms covered in oil and green herbs . Nice clean cutlery but coffee pots could do with a deep clean especially in the grooves . All staff encountered where lovely . Friendly and helpful . I had a facial cost £49 for a mere 25 mins. It was ok but left the room feeling underwhelmed by it . She didn’t even massage my scalp which is what the treatment advertised, no mention of products used . I wouldn’t come back as breakfast and afternoon tea not enjoyed and dinner menu not to my taste and well over priced . Not enough wow factor here for the prices they charge.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
MrandMrsCraig wrote a review Nov 2021
29 contributions4 helpful votes
I visited Lifehouse spa with a friend, Our room was ready on time, rooms are clean and spacious - albeit missing a little 'luxury' I feel. The spa itself is lovely. Even more so of an evening when it was quieter and lit up gently. We had initially decided to order room service drinks and food, as we were tired and hadn't booked a restaurant table, the menu was very good but the price of having it delivered to the room was extortionate - £10 just for the delivery. I've never encountered a charge like that in any other hotel. We decided on that basis to head to a local pub instead. Beautiful spa and surroundings but a few luxury touches in the rooms and revised room service charges recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Imogen B, Revenue Management at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Melissa, Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed using our spa. A tray charge for service is common across many hotels as a member of staff must leave service to deliver to a room. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
Journey21579877925 wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Disappointing. Booked 6 rooms 2 months in advance. Rang to book treatments (1 month in advance) to be told there was none available. Surely guests should be able to book a massage if staying? Decided to cancel all rooms and go elsewhere for the spa experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Imogen B, Revenue Management at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your feedback. We do apologise that you were not able to book in for treatments. Our treatment diary is very busy, and we encourage guests to book in treatments as in advance as possible to save disappointment. We do also have a cancellation list that goes up everyday at Spa Reception. We hope that you are able to book again with us!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$174 - US$303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lifehouse country hotel thorpe le soken
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexThorpe le Soken
NUMBER OF ROOMS
89
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lifehouse Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Tricky Escape Clacton (6.3 km), West Cliff Theatre (7.3 km), and Great Danes (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bell Inn Bistro, Restaurant 43, and Aroy Thai.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Lifehouse Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Thorpe le Soken.
Does Lifehouse Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Lifehouse Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting West Cliff Theatre (7.3 km) and St. Mary the Virgin (5.6 km).
Does Lifehouse Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.