We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel

Save
Share
Ara Tapu, Titikaveka Cook Islands
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$265
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/09/21
Hotels.com
US$258
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/09/21
eDreams
US$265
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/09/21
Booking.comUS$265
Priceline
ZenHotels.comUS$275
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (292)
Room & Suite (94)
Pool & Beach (68)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Titikaveka
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel, directly overlooking the idyllic Titikaveka Beach, features a variety of studios with stunning beachfront views. Evenings can be spent at Sands Restaurant & Bar and our popular Sunday night beach BBQ.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snorkelling
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, German, Indonesian
334Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 165
  • 112
  • 36
  • 13
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
paulinew99 wrote a review Mar 2020
Gold Coast, Australia43 contributions52 helpful votes
No prior information as to the renovations. We did notify our travel agent for his future references. He was told that we had been offered alternative accommodation. NOT TRUE. We were not even given a free drink. Our agent was told that they were doing upgrading to balcony railing, also not true looks like a complete refit ( I should say that it’s well overdue for the whole property). Lighting is a must considering walking down a few stairs with no lights. The situation is perfect for snorkeling, beautiful outlook, staff friendly but would we go back. No.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Claire McErlane, Marketing at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Responded 24 Feb 2021
Kia Orana Pauline I would like to take this opportunity to apologise sincerely for the very long delay in responding to your review. We have been through some major changes here at the Moana Sands Group, and unfortunately your review slipped through. With regards to your experience at our Hotel, we have looked into the matter, and apologise that you were not informed of the necessary unplanned maintenance work prior to your arrival, however unfortunately the work had to be done immediately to guarantee the safety of our guests. Due to the inconvenience to you, upon arrival you were offered an upgrade to our Villa property. Once again, we do sincerely apologise. Kia manuia, Claire
Read more
Nina B wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand227 contributions68 helpful votes
Hotel is located on the private beach and each room has a perfect view. If you enjoy swimming, snorkeling and kayaking choose this hotel. They have a good selection of snorkeling gear, flippers, reef shoes and kayaks for guests to use. The beach is safe for swimming. You have to be careful when selecting a hotel in Raro as some do not have access to nice sandy beaches. There are many rocks and corals. The beach in front of Moana Sands hotel is perfect for swimming and snorkeling. You can see fish even standing in the water or kayaking. We saw a turtle from our kayak. The rooms are spacious and clean. They have a small kitchen with a fridge, jug, toaster, plates. We enjoyed having lunches on our balcony. The hotel restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner. Continental breakfast is included in price. Cooked breakfast meals are about $12. Hire a car, so you can explore the island. We used Island Car Hire and they were cheap and reliable. We would definitely select the same hotel if we come back. For younger people I would suggest Muri Beach Club hotel in Muri.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Peter D wrote a review Jan 2020
Hervey Bay, Australia18 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Absolutely loved our stay here. We believe the best location on the island. All staff were fantastic. Marshall the groundskeeper was very helpful with anything outdoors. Merylin for room services was incredible. She even did our muddy washing when we were in a rush. Reception staff were extremely helpful and full of information. The rooms were very comfortable and basic. Full range of kitchen goods to cater for in room easy meals. We had an early morning flight. The ladies prepared a full breakfast tray for us the night before. If you don’t want all the glitz and glamor of a fancy resort... this is the place for you. 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Tina F wrote a review Jan 2020
Cambridge, New Zealand41 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Hotel a bit tired but rooms are very clean. Small kitchen area with microwave, kettle, fridge, crockery etc just right. Don’t do lunch which is a shame. A La Carte menu is good but didn’t change much over the week. Spot on for beach access and total relaxation. Would highly recommend if you want a chilled out break.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Travelchic72 wrote a review Dec 2019
Melbourne8 contributions12 helpful votes
Rooms are spacious, clean and with an incredible view! Well facilitated room, as well as great onsite restaurant. Be sure to be served on the back Bure on the beach, rather than out front next to the road. Staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. Location is a good half hour from the airport, but worth it for great snorkelling, sandy beach and beautiful walks. Transfers can be provided through the hotel at $25pp, however, we would highly recommend charles@kaimanishuttles.com at $20pp. Charles is super friendly, helpful and provides some wonderful information about Rarotonga and you will be greeted at the airport with fresh flower necklace and cold water upon arrival. We booked our accommodation through Qantas beforehand, however when we booked a return stay, we were charged a much lower rate as we were “already on the island”.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$177 - US$241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moana sands beachfront hotel and villas, moana sands beachfront titikaveka, hotel moana sands beachfront
LOCATION
Cook IslandsSouthern Cook IslandsRarotongaTitikaveka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tik-e Tours (6.2 km), Cook Island Christian Church (CICC) (5.2 km), and Aroa Marine Reserve (2.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Mooring, Beluga, and Antipodes.
Does Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Indonesian, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wreck of the Matai (6.6 km).
Does Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.