Shangri-La Hambantota
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shangri-La Hambantota

Traveller (4330)
Sera Restaurant
Dining (268)
Shangri-La's Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 3 resorts in Hambantota
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
An unspoiled personal tropical paradise on the southern coast of Sri Lanka. Our spacious rooms create a sense of privacy and relaxation. You can enjoy the finest authentic Sri Lankan cuisine at Bojun Hala, our all day dining restaurant. The unique Artisan Village showcases the local craftsmen allowing guests to absorb the cultural background of the South Coast. Visit the 18-hole golf course or rejuvenate at the signature CHI Spa and discover Shangri-La! Our promise ‘Shangri-La Cares’ comes straight from the heart. It underpins the caring spirit of our brand and guides our unrelenting efforts to ensure your well-being and comfort. As part of our ongoing efforts to create a trusted and nurturing environment for you, we have embraced a series of safety standards and precautionary measures.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Game room
Golf course
Mini golf
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Entertainment staff
Table tennis
Babysitting
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Charming
Hotel links
Special Offer:Exclusive Member Rate

Location

Sittrakala Estate Chithragala, Hambantota, Tangalle 82100 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Mattala Rajapaksa International Airport
20.7 km
See all flights
Weerawila Airport
24.6 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,454 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a tranquil and remote setting, Shangri-La Hambantota is lauded for offering a haven for relaxation and a range of activities, despite some accessibility challenges. The hotel's cleanliness receives high marks, with its well-kept rooms and common areas. While the atmosphere is appreciated by some for its live entertainment and hospitality, others find it lacking in energy. Exceptional service is a hallmark here, although there are occasional lapses. Rooms are spacious and often boast stunning ocean views, yet inconsistencies do arise. The value proposition is debated; guests enjoy the affordability of certain aspects but are sometimes taken aback by unexpected costs. The abundance of amenities, especially those catering to children, like the various pools and water slides, garners consistent praise and ensures an enjoyable stay.
Location
Remote
Atmosphere
Mixed
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Abundant

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,454Reviews123Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,798
  • 398
  • 135
  • 59
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Snowbird52 wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I last stayed here in 2017, not long after it opened, and expected to notice a deterioration after all the Covid problems and collapse in tourism. In fact the opposite was true: the hotel has improved. The rooms and public areas are in excellent shape and the gardens have grown and matured creating a very lush environment in this dry zone area. Without exception the staff were polite, friendly and welcoming. I could not fault a single one of them. The main restaurant does excellent buffet spreads and a cheaper lunchtime alternative is the poolside menu which offers pizzas and similar. Shangri-La Hambantota is especially attractive for families because of the pools and water slides and kids’ club and trapeze area. There were many Colombo families with young children enjoying themselves. Others come here to play golf. A new addition is the ‘jungle survival’ rope course up in the trees next to the driveway. The guests were a mix of foreign tourists and locals and apart from face masks and sanitiser you could almost forget about Covid. The place is not cheap, that’s for sure, but I felt that it was money well spent.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It’s a very long property and the wing near the pools and restaurant is more convenient.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moshi Perera, General Manager at Shangri-La Hambantota
Responded 12 Mar 2022
Dear Snowbird52, Thank you so much for the review of your experience with us. It is truly rewarding to note that you have observed development and improvement since your last visit just after we opened. We do look forward to your return visit and I hope you don't leave it so long next time. Till then Ayubowan Moshi Perera General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vimarshanath M wrote a review Dec 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We made the reservations in the late evening but the tremendous support we were rendered by Tharani who was an outstanding reservations officer who made sure she gave us the best even at 9 pm she called back with the protocol info on Covid 19 upon request. We were then greeted by Osha at the check in who we believe was the Manager in charge with courteous smile and warm personality. Ajantha at the dining area greeted us at every meal experience with squinted eyes signifying his smile under the mask. The kids enjoyed their time at the cool zone with fun activities with the friendly staff:)

Over all the chefs, the staff were very friendly and hosted a lovely Christmas dinner not to forget the standard maintained to keep the dining area safe they had broken the guests down to two seating order- the first and second and in between the sets the entire floor tables were sanitized. we saw them work so hard to maintain the same at the Gala Christmas night dinner which meant everything had to be staged twice the carols, the food stations and the service which was to keep everyone safe and avoid over crowding.

Hats off and hope that next year will be a better year for all.

Best,
Eshan
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moshi Perera, General Manager at Shangri-La Hambantota
Responded 31 Dec 2020
Dear Eshan, Greetings from Shangri-La’s Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa. Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you were comforted by the health & safety precautions that our resort and team had taken during this festive season in order to keep everyone safe. Tharani, Osha, Ajantha, Chefs, Choir team & the entire team are humbled by your kind appreciation of their service. Such reviews uplifts and empowers our staff to delight our guests. Once again it is delightful to see our guests enjoy their stay with us and create many wonderful memories. Until we meet again have a superb festive season and stay safe, Ayubowan,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Floozette wrote a review Apr 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has a lot going for it but doesn’t quite live up to its 5 star billing. It is located in large grounds with the sea on one side and a stunning golf course behind it. The main pool is lovely and not too deep so perfect for relaxing. The beach is close by but the sea is extremely rough so you cannot safely swim in it. The rooms are spacious, showers are great and the linen is high grade and soft. The golf course was beautiful and the staff in the golf shop so helpful in arranging a round with club hire and a buggy for us. We ate in the main restaurant (buffet) each night as there is nowhere to go out locally. We found the food some of the best we have ever experienced in a buffet. The chefs are visible right there busily woking up food and serving it so it is incredibly hot, fresh and regularly replenished. The choice is extensive with them trying to cater for Asian, local and international tastes. Every lunch and dinner had different choices and so we never tired of eating there even though it was for 7 days. The chefs, the waiting staff and the table clearing staff are so hard working and even when clearly flat out busy, ready to help you whether answering questions, trying to accommodate special requests or giving you a smile and greeting. The only disappointing aspect of the hotel for us was where to go for a nice evening drink. There are 3 places, all of which have a drawback. Firstly, there is a beautiful top floor bar with a view which no one knows is there so it is empty and thus has no atmosphere. Secondly, rather than have happy hour there, which would make a wonderful location for a sunset drink, happy hour is at the golf club bar which is tucked away at the back of the hotel and unfortunately had an extremely limited menu. So if you had checked out the cocktail menu earlier in the day and earmarked your cocktail of choice, you may well be disappointed as the majority will not be available to you, even if they cost the same as those on the reduced menu. Thirdly, the pool bar, which should be the busiest bar during hot days, has terribly slow service and unfortunately the only rude staff we experienced at the hotel. Unfortunately their bad attitude and service was a topic of discussion amongst many of the guests and it seemed our view was not an isolated one. If people enjoyed the drinks experience then you would get more revenue so it would be win win. So Shangri La, I really do think if you could sort out the drinks and social side of your hotel, people would experience the full 5 star hotel we know you can be.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: It is easy and inexpensive to hire clubs, a buggy and book a round of golf once at the resort.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moshi Perera, General Manager at Shangri-La Hambantota
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear Floozette, Thank you for your recent stay and for such a detailed review. Some great highlights and also some good feedback for us to work on. We sincerely regret if there were any inconvenience during your stay and the interactions with some of the team which need improvement. Thank you for your suggestions and observations which we welcome for us to continually refine the services and facilities to meet our guest needs. Wishing you a wonderful summer ahead and we look forward to your next visit for a better service. Ayubowan Moshi Perera General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Asanga R wrote a review Aug 2020
Sri Lanka
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Salinda at the reception greeted us well and assisted us with the checkout very smoothly. He was supportive, friendly.
Navod who did our checking-in is the worst receptionist I've met in my life.
Mr. Navod confused us, he was not attentive and rude for local customers.Voice tone was not polite and didn't have a caring nature that one must have when working as a receptionist.
Overall Hotel was good. Housekeeping of the rooms can be improved. Maybe the hotel was closed for a long time due to the pandemic. When we checked in to our rooms and entered the elevator (rooms building behind reception) had a musty/moldy smell.

Best thing about the hotel was their staff was Covid19 health and safety measures were very well. There were hand sanitizers at some public areas. Staff serving food we're wearing masks, gloves and face shields. At the entrance of the restaurant they don't allow the guest to enter without a mask. I would recommend to keep the masks in a visible place where guests can see them and give everyone a face mask upon arrival + put some hand sanitizers near the elevators and staircases. Public areas of the hotel is clean and elegant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moshi Perera, General Manager at Shangri-La Hambantota
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Dear AsangaR, Greetings from Shangri-La’s Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa. Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. It was very disappointing to note that small minority of our staff were not accommodating. Please accept my most sincere apologies for this. Rest assured that our team is looking into this with the individuals concerned who may need further training to deliver more engaging, attentive experiences. However, I’m pleased to note that you have found the other staff in general were welcoming and full of smiles, specially the services by Salinda at the reception. He will be humbly proud of your kind commendation. I am reassured to note that you were comforted by the COVID-19 hygiene measures taken by our resort. Thank you for your observations to improve on this further. Guest feedback is important as it gives us the insight to us as to how our guests experience our services and facilities to continually improve. While wishing you a wonderful day ahead, we would like to see you again soon in the not so distant future. Ayubowan,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marina D wrote a review Feb 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
They have a big and beautiful land in hambantota but I was not satisfied with their service in general.
When I entered into my room there were only 2 bottles of water and no welcoming fruits plater which is not a usual Shangrila standard. In this room (number 296) the TV has a very bad quality of image (very dark and faded colors). When the technician came the brightness and nothing couldn’t be fixed!! In some time I noticed that when I closed the balcony door the Air Conditioner didn’t switch on. I again required the technician to come and he had to do some reparation work. The room was located in the far end of the corridor from reception. I was not happy with this particular room as it was dark on the ground floor, looking the burned soil. I asked to change the room. They gave me another room (number 345) where they brought a lot of bottles of water and fruit player after I complained to one of the manager lady whom I found not very friendly. In room 345 there was a problem in the bathroom sink and the water was always stucked after each time you wash hands. I mentioned this to the service staff but they never reacted! I was not happy with this matter and also with the fact that one day the cleaning staff didn’t bring any shampoo, conditioner and body wash in the room. Shangrila still has a lot to improve!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ricardo_vale01, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hambantota
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear U998Lemarinad, Greetings from Shangri-La’s Hambantota Golf Resort & Spa, Thank you for your candid feedback following your recent stay with us. We were sad to note that initial room assigned to you was not your favorite, nevertheless we have noted that you prefer a room closer to the lobby area and we will be happy to incorporate this in your next visit. Your feedback regarding the sink is duly noted and based on this comments our staff was able to fix it. Our apologies as your overall stay experience was not up to your expectations and we hope you will allow us an early opportunity to restore your faith in our services. Ayubowan,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashinie wrote a review Feb 2020
Negombo, Sri Lanka
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Shangri-La Hambantota is located in a gorgeous environment with a red sandy beach front and a golf course. Must say that the hotel is very child friendly and have a lot of facilities to keep a child occupied. Rooms were fully equipped and clean that allowed for a pleasant stay and there are multiple gorgeous pools and other activities surrounded with beautiful nature to make your stay extra special.

Although the hotel has everything else to make it perfect, the restaurant service and the food quality is not acceptable for a five star hotel. At lunch we came across some undercooked smelly sea food that had gone bad which the same was served for dinner with a little twist. Same desserts were served for both lunch and dinner that was totally disappointing and the variations and flavor of all the other food was not up to the 5 star quality. Most of the food were flavorless and/or not cooked right (flavourless steaks and rock hard fried bacon for an example). At a certain point we doubted if they are short of restaurant staff. We had to roam around to find a table to sit having tables not being cleared from the previous occupants. And the tables were not cleared on time for the next course, our soup bowls were still on the table while we had desserts.

Overall, although the hotel is a totally different experience, the food and restaurant service is the worst I had ever come across.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have a nice feel to it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ricardo_vale01, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hambantota
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear ashiniep, Thank you for your candid review of our resort & its services. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed the picturesque natural environment at the resort & most of all the golf course. Indeed the special attention given to our young guests is paramount to us as they too deserve to be pampered. Furthermore, it was disappointing to note that your dining experience fell short to your expectations. We are grateful to your well received comments so that we can improve on our offerings. Naturally, please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings upon your last visit and do allow us an early opportunity to restore your faith in our service. Until we meet again, Ayubowan,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeremy K wrote a review Jan 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an absolutely stunning property located on a quiet stretch of land with a sea wall. The property itself is spectacular, and the rooms among the best we have ever stayed in. However, due to the remote location visitors are reliant on the hotel's facilities for food and drink. This is where the trouble was. While the buffet is great, unless you want to take all your meals here, you will need to utilize the other two facilities (Pool Bar and Golf Club) for other meals. They might as well shut the Pool Bar down or offer a very limited beer/wine menu. If you can find a server, expect at least 1.5 hours for food orders, and you will need to follow-up multiple times. Forget getting something off the bar/drinks menu. Despite all the barware, it seems to be only decorative, with the staff fetching drinks from the Golf Club some 300m away. Same story, waits of at least 30-45 mins with multiple follow-ups required.

I completely understand the property may have limited offerings given the pandemic, but I think they need to be realistic with guests about their offerings. If you cannot serve food/drink just state it upfront, limit your menus, and only offer what you can deliver.

The property is stunning, grounds were well kept, and rooms well apportioned, but food/drink service so appalling it heavily detracted from the overall experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moshi Perera, General Manager at Shangri-La Hambantota
Responded 11 Mar 2022
Dear953jeremyk, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the resorts facilities and expanse. Please accept our apologies for the lapses in service experienced and thank you for your understanding of the country situation which is also compounding availability of items. Rest assured that we are looking into this and do hope to improve the speed of service, choice and variety offered. We do hope to welcome you back to enjoy the resort without any constraints and have the complete experience to remember. Kind regards Moshi Perera General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha W wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A very spacious hotel set on a golf course. The gardens and landscaping was just beautiful. Plenty of activities for kids trapeze, games room, video games, younger children play room with art activities. The pools were lovely equipped with water slides and sun lounges. Good food choices for children in the buffet and a large range at dinner and breakfast.
We took lunch at the golf cafe and drinks were refreshing and lunch was a la carte and tasty.
Rooms were not as spectacular as I expected but still had comfort in mind. Beds were cosy and enough room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ricardo_vale01, Resident Manager at Shangri-La Hambantota
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Dear samanthawicky, Thank you for your amazing review following your recent stay with us. It is truly delightful to see such lovely feedback from our guests following their stay with us. Such wonderful reviews encourages other travelers to come experience our resort. Do visit us again in the not so distant future, Ayubowan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter H wrote a review Jan 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just arrived home from 9 nights at Shangri-la Hambantota Sri Lanka.
like everyone we felt privileged to get away over new years because of the limitations of the pandemic. Unfortunately the hotel was not at the same standard as the other Shangri-La's that we have stayed in. Our room was at the golf course end seaward facing, but not the best view, nicer at the other end over the sunset pool with beach views. Only the communal restaurant was open for all dining, the Sera SE Asian restaurant was closed so all meals were buffet style in the main restaurant. The chefs were more than happy to cook from the Sera menu on request, unfortunately management failed to mention that and we only found out by chance toward the end of our stay, The the food we did have was excellent. The golf club was open but was very small and lacked ambiance. the Spa and shops also closed, annoying as the hotel is quite remote. The food however was at a good standard, especially the gala dinner on NYE for which the hotel pulled out all the stops, and put on a great evening, its only a pity that all was back to normal for the rest of the stay. No evening entertainment, no piano bar or activity after dinner, hence the evenings were quite boring, most guests retiring to the golf club lounge which didn't hold many people, but at least there was some piped music and cocktails, and a pool table. The hotel ran out of items regularly, coke zero, decent tonic water, sparkling water items on the additional menu ( which you had to ay for ) were not available on a few occasion's, this we were told was due to supply chain issues. The hotel itself was clean and tidy but not very elegant and a little dated, however all the staff and managers did absolutely everything they could to improve our stay going the extra mile whenever faced with a challenge, unfortunately many of the issues were out of their control. the grounds were pleasant and tidy, with lots of water based fun and activities for the children, and an adults only pool, and loungers away from the kids for those of us who didn't have children, so very peaceful. One bright spot was the gym which was actually quite well equipped. in summary, if you want good weather, peace and quiet, not fussed about a choice of dining experiences and are not needing spa treatments, or evening activities then you wont be disappointed. if your looking for any of the above then beware. Had we been advised that the covid situation had impacted the hotel so much, we would have changed our destination as other hotels in Southern province seemed to be able to provide more of what we were looking for.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Better at the garden end over looking the sunset pool, golf course side you could see the port...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moshi Perera, General Manager at Shangri-La Hambantota
Responded 13 Feb 2022
Dear PeterhH4419SO, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience here. We are happy to note that the team were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible whilst your were with us. Thank you for your understanding in some of the challenges faced with the supply chain and country situation which is improving by the day. We are also gearing up on the services in our control to come back to operation. We do hope you will afford us an early opportunity to experience the resort with all facilities back on line so you can also enjoy vibe of the full range of services and activities which many of our guests have become so fond of. We look forward to welcoming you back soon With kind regards Moshi Perera General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stanis wrote a review Jan 2020
Warsaw, Poland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I will try to advise not to visit Shangrila in the shortest comments possible. We booked a room one month earlier and paid in advance PLN 3800 for two days. New Year's Eve 31.12-01.01. The day before the planned arrival it turned out that a group of friends is nearby and we offered them to spend the New Year's Eve together. I checked the prices and availability for them, to my surprise the room for which a month earlier we had paid PLN 3800 on the same date the day before cost PLN 1300. I informed the object by email that such a policy is absolutely wrong and I just feel cheated. I absolutely did not order a refund, I only suggested that they upgrade the standard of my room for the same price since they did the Guest in such and no other way. I got a reply that booking.com imposes prices they have nothing to do with it, and that if booking asks them to upgrade at this price they will do it. After that I call to booking.com, it turned out that everything they say was a lie, they simply reduced their prices due to the lack of occupancy. Finally, after exchanging e-mails and arriving at the place, we did nothing with them - the usual deception and trickery. Resort: food very average, not intelligent service with poor service, mini bar empty for two days. New Year's party Embarrassing level, staff even had a problem with firing fireworks (finally failed) I do not recommend. I’m traveling around the world, I was absolutely in every section of the hotel, pleasure in the Shangrila network I had the first and last time. I've never seen such a bad servic customer. I don't have the habit of writing good or bad reviews, but this time it deserves to be advised against anyone planning a visit!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Moshi_Perera, General Manager at Shangri-La Hambantota
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Dear Stanis87, Thank you for your candid feedback following your recent stay with us. We are happy to note that you encouraged your friends to spend time with us at our resort. It is truly disappointing to note that your overall experience with us during the New Year’s eve was below par though we did have many very complimentary comments on the set up ambience and the al fresco celebrations enjoyed by many. We do apologize if this was not to your taste. The rates offered to all our guests during the period of your stay remained unchanged, especially for the 30th Dec & 31st Dec nights. The rates however will fluctuate thereafter with availability and seasonality, not uncommon in all hotels around the world. If your friends made the booking or inquired for an extended period which went over the 31st and into January, the average rate over the that extended period maybe lower than the nightly rate for the 31st since the aggregate is based on the full duration of the stay. For instance if your friend had made a reservation with us from 30th Dec 2019 to 13th Jan 2020, booking engines such as booking.com would show you only an fluctuated average daily rate of the entire stay. Unfortunately, during your time of stay all our suite rooms were all booked and our colleagues were not able to facilitate your request to upgrade your room to a suite room. Your booking was made through a third party website an as such there are only certain parameters we can assist with. For more flexibility with changes please make the reservation direct via our website: https://www.shangri-la.com/. Please rest assured that we always provide our guests with possible rates with transparency based on availability. Ayubowan,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tasneem P asked a question Dec 2023
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Is it far to travel to city for shopping
Tasneem P asked a question Dec 2023
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Does the hotel cater halaal food
Fat Barney asked a question Nov 2023
Harrow, United Kingdom198 contributions54 helpful votes
Hi, is Sera Restauarant included within the half/full board package
Answer from Kishan D
Colombo, Sri Lanka19 contributions36 helpful votes
Hi Sera Restaurant is not included in the meal plan. The Menu is Ala carte at Sera and you would get meal credits if you choose not to have a meal that is on half or full board at the main restaurant which could be used against the bill at Sera. Hope you have a good holiday in beautiful Sri Lanka!!
happytravel asked a question Jul 2023
40 contributions4 helpful votes
do they have water park and slides in operation during week days for kids.
Answer from Eesha W
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Yes they do.
Answer from Travellinggoalgent
Ghent, Belgium946 contributions248 helpful votes
Hello, No half board needed. Then you eat what you want. If it were only a pizza, you would pay less than half board. Food is not expensive in SL Hambantota.
Dhanushka wrote a tip 11 Jul
Sri Lanka141 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wear flip flops all the time inside the room to avoid slipping, Try to catch Happy Hours for good deals on drinks from restaurants"
Read full review
R R wrote a tip 11 Jul
London, United Kingdom14 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Shangri La Hotel in Hambantota is the perfect spot for a family or couples’ holiday, Sri Lankan enviable sunshiny climate makes it a mag"
Read full review
Shalinda H wrote a tip 9 Jul
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make some time to try out the other restaurants on the property + check out all the amenities and activities!"
Read full review
Shawn S wrote a tip 9 Jul
Colombo, Sri Lanka83 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get rooms close to the pool or buffet area. Its quite a distance otherwise."
Read full review
Ishadhi K wrote a tip 9 Jul
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent Food with variety .Tourists can experience local food.Cycle Rides available between 10am to 11am.Buggy rides, Kids area available "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hambantota area.
PRICE RANGE
$330 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceTangalleHambantota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
274
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHANGRI-LA HAMBANTOTA - Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Sri Lanka) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shangri-La Hambantota
What are some of the property amenities at Shangri-La Hambantota ?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Shangri-La Hambantota ?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shangri-La Hambantota ?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Shangri-La Hambantota ?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shangri-La Hambantota ?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Shangri-La Hambantota have airport transportation?
Yes, Shangri-La Hambantota offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shangri-La Hambantota ?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shangri-La Hambantota offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Shangri-La Hambantota have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Shangri-La Hambantota accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Hambantota HotelsHambantota Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HambantotaHotels near Shangri-La Hambantota
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire