We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kinloch Wilderness Retreat

Save
Share
862 Kinloch Road, Glenorchy 9372 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (258)
Dining (28)
Room & Suite (28)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 7 Speciality lodging in Glenorchy
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Set in a spectacular setting on the lakefront opposite Glenorchy township between the Routeburn and Greenstone tracks, a stay at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat is a highlight of any holiday. With a variety of room types, including shared dorms, private doubles, family rooms and heritage queen rooms, there's something for everyone. Our 13 Wilderness rooms are YHA associated and our Heritage lodge, with 6 rooms, dates back to 1868. The site can be hired in sections or as a whole, and there are great discounts for longer stays in all rooms and groupings. There's a cosy restaurant on site, hot tub with a view, bikes and fishing rods for hire, kayak trips in the summer and a TV room for those looking to relax. For those wishing to self-cater we have a communal kitchen, BBQ facilities and inside and outdoor seating. Kinloch is a haven for walkers, fishermen and people who want to be immersed in their natural environment. There are many activities in the area which we are happy to help organise, we offer track transport and a boat between Glenorchy and Kinloch; we can arrange transport for those without a car.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Parking
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Game room
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Windsurfing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Fireplace
Microwave
Radio
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Seating area
Separate living room
Clothes rack
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
391Reviews4Q+A69Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 253
  • 99
  • 18
  • 11
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Simon Thompson wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
My friends and I stayed at Kinloch in April ahead of completing the Routeburn Track. We were told that Kinloch was an "upscale backpackers" with higher quality rooms available as well. When we arrived, we were dismayed to find that Kinloch's cleanliness and rooms were of a far lower standard than any of the backpackers we had stayed at so far on the trip, despite charging considerably more per night. The main issues that we encountered here were: the kitchen (ovens would not light - it took an unenthused staff member close to 20 minutes to come light them for us), the faucets (the handle broke when we turned on the water and the manager had to come repair this), and the toilets/showers (the light turns out on you after 5 minutes, and were just generally dirty/unkept). There were positives too though. The hot tub under the stars was very nice, and the surrounding scenery was breathtaking. On the whole, the place was just generally none too clean, and quite cold. Ultimately, I would recommend staying in Glenorchy for the night if you are visiting the area rather than coming out to Kinloch.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Toni Glover, Owner at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat
Responded 10 May 2021
Sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us. We clean everything daily and would happily clean anything brought to our attention that's not up to standard. These guests did arrive late so other guests had the opportunity to impact the site after staff had finished for the day. We apologise that the electric oven didn't work, we don't test appliances on a regular basis and are unaware of faults unless someone tells us. There are instructions on the wall for the gas oven which work if followed correctly, sorry I was unenthused about coming back down to do this for you after finishing a busy 10hr day, but it definitely only took 5 minutes of my time. Our taps don't usually break so we're not sure what happened there but thankfully John was able to fix it, especially as it was late and we operate in a remote location. There is no timer on the lights in the toilets or in the sink area of the showers, there are timers on the lights in the showers that last 10 minutes to try and encourage efficient use of the facilities for both the environment and the sake of other guests wishing to use them. These areas are cleaned daily and other reviews all over the internet indicate that guests are pretty happy with our site. We admit we're not perfect, this has been a very leanly staffed year and staff will occasionally make mistakes and miss things, as all humans do, but we do our best to keep the site clean and welcoming for our guests. There are heaters in every room and firewood in the lounge for the wood stove so it's only as cold as guests choose to be. We have many guests who keep returning and love Kinloch and we have a lot of glowing reviews and feedback from them. We are always happy to hear what we can do better but exaggerations of events aren't helpful.
Read more
Zen99 wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
Glorious place to get away from it all! Stunning views over the lake and surrounded by mountains and birdsong! We had the pick of the backpacker accommodation, very clean facilities and the restaurant dining indoors and outdoors. Lovely hosts, great hot tub, and peace. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Toni Glover, Owner at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat
Responded 10 May 2021
Thanks so much for your review Margaret!
Read more
Matt H wrote a review Apr 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
The Kinloch lodge has life sorted for any budgets and is the perfectly located spot for launching your next adventure, undertaking small day hikes or just purely relaxing The restaurant provides perfect breakfast overlooking the lake prior to heading out for a day on the track, the facilities are clean and perfectly pitched for the relaxing environment surrounding you, to top it off the hot tub overlooking the lake is just magical
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Toni Glover, Owner at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Thanks so much for your lovely review!
Read more
newr0se wrote a review Apr 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand6 contributions
A short short stay before heading off on a four day tramp around the Greenstone & Caples track. Simple but comfortable room and good facilities for a good price. Chosen for location but highlight was the incredible music coming from an abundance of birdlife both in the late afternoon and early morning and such a peaceful place. The history also amazed us.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Toni Glover, Owner at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Thanks for your review, we hope you had a great hike!
Read more
Rosalie P wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions
Kinloch is a beautiful tranquil location by the lake with many of the rooms overlooking these gorgeous surroundings, and heaps of birdsong throughout the day. Only have to walk a few minutes to be in the bush. All the facilities, including our room were very clean and ideal for our needs. Sitting in the hot tub viewing the lake and surrounds was a bonus! Having their own shuttle service to start/finish of walking tracks is ideal too. We’ll definitely come back and stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Toni Glover, Owner at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Thanks so much for your lovely review Rosalie, we're so glad you had a wonderful time!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kinloch hotel glenorchy
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kinloch Lodge
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionGlenorchy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kinloch Wilderness Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Kinloch Wilderness Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Glenorchy Animal Experience (4.0 km), Glenorchy Lagoon Boardwalk (2.7 km), and Mrs Woolly's General Store (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, an additional bathroom, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kinloch Wilderness Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Trading Post, Glenorchy Cafe - The GYC Restaurant, and Kinloch Wilderness Retreat Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kinloch Wilderness Retreat?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Kinloch Wilderness Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.