Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Glenorchy Hotel

Traveller (26)
Nice looking pub
Dining (10)
You can put up with quite a bit for views like this!
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 hostel in Glenorchy
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Country Hotel located 47kms or 35 minutes from Queenstown at the Head of the Lake in the centre of town. Recently renovated. We have ensuite rooms with TVs and free wifi,BackPackers accommodation and parking for self contained campervans. We have a separate restaurant, with a full Gastro Pub restaurant menu, both breakfast, lunch and dinner, Bar with HAPPY HOUR FRIDAY AND SATURDAY NIGHT, and bar menu and a large terraced outside beer garden. FREE OFFSTREET CARPARKING, luggage storage and boat parking.Our Glenorchy Information Centre and Glenorchy General store provides maps, track transport bookings arrival and departure centre,bike and fishing rod hire. Free information for trout fisherman,and trampers from experienced staff.Special rates during winter.Recently renovated ensuite rooms.Self contained campervans park for FREE. Backpackers has recently been renovated. Twin rooms and bunk room cabins.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
91Reviews0Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 32
  • 17
  • 14
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
baletravellers wrote a review Jan 2020
Ascot, Australia74 contributions31 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We randomly popped in here for lunch and the food offering was complete stodge.

As we lurked further away the choices were much better. Not a bad place for a beer but don’t go here expecting even a half decent pub lunch
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Funny how you can comment on our menu when you did not even dine with us.... Lurking is probably what you do best so maybe just stick with that!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian D wrote a review Aug 2020
Whangarei, New Zealand85 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a cold, wet winter day and we really fancied something to eat and drink. Only place that was open was the Glenorchy hotel. It’s a proper little gem with great tasting and value food, and a good selection of things to drink.

The open fire is just awesome and the friendly staff were great too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Brownie, General Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel
Responded 2 Aug 2020
Thank you for discovering the Glenorchy Hotel. It has been cold lately so the fire is a much needed when you come in from outside. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and our hospitality. I will pass your comments onto the staff. Thank you and please visit again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jill wrote a review May 2023
Porirua, New Zealand34 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for one night before heading off into the hills. Nice rooms and comfortable bed. The bathroom is really small though. Friendly staff. Had a casual meal - the blue cod was excellent. Nice to experience a bit of Glenorchy history. Plenty of parking available and easy to walk down to the waterfront.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TBMR Brwn, General Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel
Responded 6 May 2023
Hello, Thank you for the review. The ensuite bathrooms are not that big. I think that when they were built people were shorter. Pleased that you liked the Blue Cod and service. Cheers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
melissa jones wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We popped into the Glenorchy hotel bar for a tasty IPA, we were very impressed with the delightful range of tipples on offer. After a drink we decided to stay the night in their caravan area. The toilets and showers were impeccably clean and had a great range of high quality toiletries (manuka honey). Tim was a great host as were the rest of the staff. We will be back on our next visit from the UK to NZ.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tim Brownie, General Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Melissa, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. I hope that the rest of your trip went well. Look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick W wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two nights in our Motorhome, and were made to feel most welcome. We ate in the beer garden both nights, had a pizza the first night, followed by a very tasty
“pub platter” the second. We thoroughly recommend staying in Glenorchy so that you have time to really experience this special part of NZ. So many people just drive in for an hour or two then return to Queenstown - they don’t know what they are missing!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TBMR Brwn, General Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel
Responded 29 Mar 2023
Thank you for coming to stay at our venue. Great to see that you liked our food and Glenorchy. You know where to find us now, Cheers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric Feng wrote a review Dec 2016
Wanaka, New Zealand19 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Probably the worst backpacker hostel I have stayed in NZ. Very dirty room and bed sheets look like no cleaning at all. And there is no kitchen facilities (only has drinking water and a tiny fridge) available which is not mentioned in the website or booking email at all. Avoid at all cost!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TBMR, Owner at The Glenorchy Hotel
Responded 1 Jan 2017
Probably the worst guest we have had.Cheapskate expecting 5 star in backpackers that writes false reviews.You tell ""Super porkies"" The sheets are obviously new each day.All bed linen is provided.The cabins are new and have all been renovated. The cabins are cleaned each day as I check them myself.Yes me. You were informed at booking time and check in that there were no cooking facilities at present.Problem was you had nowhere else to go as Queenstown is fully booked as we are.Oh, and why did you have to sit and use our free internet for so long on departure day? Because you had no transport organised. Pump up your tyres and on your bike smiler!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul B wrote a review Nov 2016
Canada53 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I popped into Glenorchy for a few days in order to avoid the chaos that is Queenstown. There are only a few budget accommodation providers in town, which is perhaps unfortunate because the setting is stunning. I opted for the "backpackers retreat" at Glenorchy Hotel, the hotel arguably being the social epicentre of town. Unfortunately there wasn't much to it. The "backpackers" consists of two dormitories in cabins behind the bar, with a picnic table to the side (exposed to Glenorchy's frequent rain). There's no (dry) social space whatsoever. There is a toilet and separate shower for men, and a matching set for women, but these are outside, around the corner, and down the hallway, tucked deep into the conventional hotel. Since the buildings all automatically lock, you need two keys and a flashlight, just to pee in the night. The room had two electrical sockets for 6 beds, and was pretty cramped in terms of storage space.

Ultimately when I booked, tolerating some of New Zealand's highest dorm prices, I was hoping to save some money on food expenditures. No luck. While there are two general stores in town, the kitchen at the "backpackers" is "closed for renovations." In the 3 days I was there, I didn't see any renovations. It's possible they're doing a good job of tucking that away, but it seems to me like the logical place for a kitchen is where the bar's staff are living. This would've been less frustrating if they didn't continue to advertise a kitchen on the website, and if I had been informed before I made a booking, not when I checked in.

One more flaw: The information desk is open to the general public. So they can't tell if you're a paying guest, and give you the same (minimal) attention and enthusiasm as any day-tripper who pops in with a question.

On the plus side, the bar staff are friendly, the mattresses are super comfortable, and if the weather's nice, you can look past all the other flaws for a short visit. Most guests were doing exactly that, staying for a night before heading up the Routeburn track. There is also the option to do your own laundry. All told, I don't necessarily regret staying here, but I wouldn't come back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel
Responded 25 Dec 2016
The fact that you choose to visit a location or town when it is raining is up to you.It rains all around the world not just in Glenorchy. There are toilets out side the cabins and bunk rooms and the area is well lit with automatic lights and yes the doors keep unwanted cheap skates out as well. How many electrical sockets should we supply when you were able to use them with no problem.For 35.00 per night including free wifi we dont offer charging facilities as big as Texas! When you booked and checked in you new the price and the fact there are NO cooking facilities at present so more PORKIES. The renovations start in the New year and its not up to you to see when they start as you were also told this when you booked and again on check in.Oh and next time you visit a back packers area I suggest that you stop snooping around the staff house and learn to mind your own business. The Info Centre gives the same time to day trippers as it does to a guest.The Info Centre provides a full range of maps and some free maps and info.We are however not tour guides and can only help so far if you dont have a car and are hitch hiking. Backpackers does not come with a porter service. You for got to mention the unlimited wifi you used which you didnt have to pay for. So when you do reviews how about dealing in the facts and not some concocked rubbish.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Snacks wrote a review Jan 2016
Sydney, Australia394 contributions121 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful drive from Queenstown to Glenorchy takes about 45/50 mins. Worth it the town is small and quiet but the hotel has a nice beer garden and vibe. Worth a morning trip from Queenstown great views of lake and snow topped mountains. Definitely stop by the hotel for a drink.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel
Responded 15 Jan 2016
Thankyou for choosing to visit our hotel.Please to see you enjoyed yourself and the great views.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quang Kiet Le wrote a review Apr 2014
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam967 contributions488 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It was probably the only backpacker accommodation in Glenorchy township. Its location was good as close to walkway, the wharf. However, its services had poor quality. We booked for two beds in a dorm room but staff told that we had a twin room while checking and tried to charge us more than we expected.
The backpacker cottage was quite small for 4 rooms (with 18 people). Room was too small. The bathroom was dirty. The kitchen was lack of essential utensils, knives. It was dirty also, just like it was not cleaned for thousand years. The fridge was terrible with lots of leftover food inside.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TBMR, Manager at The Glenorchy Hotel
Responded 7 Apr 2014
What a load of crap but I guess you are from Auckland! BackPackers sleeps 10 and not 18 as you state. There is more than enough cutlery and plates except for teaspoons as backpackers keep stealing them. The fridge always has food in it as backpackers come and go and return from their tramp to reuse their food. The showers were clean for the time of day remembering that they are continually in use as is the kitchen. But I guess you forgot that DOC charge 52.00 for a bunk bed on the walking tracks that is in a room for 30 or more with no showers TV etc. You payed us 30.00 each and from this comes a credit card fee. This includes sheets and bedding, heating, tv and like most trampers 15 minutes or more in the shower twice a day not to mention the electricity used as you prepare your 5 star cuisine and then leave the dishes on the bench afterwards! So before you go criticising facilities present the correct facts first. I guess we could post CCTV footage as well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TAmember123 wrote a review Mar 2007
California29 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked two nights at the Glenorchy Hotel but ended up staying only one night. It was overpriced for what you get - somewhat drab, outdated rooms, no kitchen or fridge. We checked out and found a room at the Mt. Earnslaw Motel which was cheaper than the GH and much nicer.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2006
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TBMR, Owner at The Glenorchy Hotel
Responded 9 Aug 2013
We were not the owners of the hotel then.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Sue wrote a tip Apr 2019
51 contributions45 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware that budget accomodation has no kitchen facilites"
Read full review
trotts555 wrote a tip Nov 2018
Christchurch, New Zealand43 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose carefully"
Read full review
paulscottfilms wrote a tip Jan 2017
christchurch48 contributions54 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Inside the hotel itself are the better rooms. There is shared bathroom facility."
Read full review
sars355 wrote a tip Jul 2016
Hamilton, New Zealand4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Paradise room or Earnslaw. I think they are all probably very good"
Read full review
annefrost wrote a tip Jun 2016
Dunedin, New Zealand13 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worth it to pay more to stay on the hotel side if you're looking for more luxury"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Glenorchy area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionGlenorchy
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GLENORCHY HOTEL - Hostel Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Glenorchy Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Glenorchy Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Glenorchy Animal Experience (2.0 km), Glenorchy Lagoon Boardwalk (0.3 km), and Mrs Woolly's General Store (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Glenorchy Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Glenorchy Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Glenorchy Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Glenorchy Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Akin, Kinloch Wilderness Retreat Restaurant, and Glenorchy Hotel Ltd Restaurant.
Is The Glenorchy Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 km away from the centre of Glenorchy.
Are pets allowed at The Glenorchy Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is The Glenorchy Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Glenorchy HotelsGlenorchy Hotel DealsHotels near The Glenorchy Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire