Plume Villas
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Plume Villas

Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (27)
Plume Villas
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 inns in Matakana
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set amongst the carefully planted and manicured gardens of the Plume Estate are 12 brand new villas ranging from one to three bedrooms, all equipped with king size beds, ensuite bathrooms, Sky TV and Netflix; including two Accessible villas. Plume Villas - situated on 37 Sharp Road - just a five minute's drive from Matakana Village. We have a total of 12 Villas encompassing 20 bedrooms, each with ensuite. 1 x 3 bedroom Villa, known as KIWI VILLA - to sleep a total of six adults, double occupation per bedroom 6x2 bedroom Villas known as KINGFISHER VILLA - to sleep a total of four adults, double occupation per bedroom 5x1 bedroom Villas known as TUI VILLA - to sleep a total of two adults Each villa has a lounge/kitchenette equipped with Nespresso machine/tea kettle/toaster/fridge/dish washer. However, we do not have cooking facilities in the Villas - Plume Restaurant is right next door and Matakana Village has many restaurants, pubs, cafes. Television in the lounge and heat pumps in all the rooms. Furnished to top quality standards - many guests who experience great sleep as us where we got our beds from! Swimming Pool (open mid-October to mid-April) and petanque court to pass the time with family. A lovely, picturesque walk-way, overlooking vineyards and our manicured lawns, leading to the Glen Eden river, below. Wake up to the sounds of birds chirping early morning and listen to the birds partying every evening before sunset! CONFERENCES at Plume - with accommodation at Plume Villas and Conferences at Plume Restaurant on week days inclusive of full catering for breakfast, lunch, dinner - we are very popular for Board Meetings, executive management meetings and conference.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Qualmark.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
53Reviews0Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 10
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kerryl Moultrie wrote a review Sept 2022
6 contributions
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Plume Villas were set in beautiful gardens, the Villa (Kiwi) was very clean, modern and superb quality. We would have liked the bathrooms to have had safety handles in the shower as we took our elderly father but we could not fault the place. The bedrooms were spacious and each room had its own deck. Absolutely beautiful. Will definitely book again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Villas
Responded 7 Sept 2022
Thank you Poppy Jake for this lovely review! We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay at Plume Villas . We shall definitely look forward to seeing you again at Plume, soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jb6785 wrote a review Jan 2020
Denver, Colorado62 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 3 lovely nights at the Plume Villas during our recent trip to the Matakana region. The individual villas are nearly new with kitchens, tile bathrooms, and great air conditioning. Charlie’s Gelato is 100 meters down the road and very handy for coffee, wood fired pizza, and of course 20+ types of gelato. I would certainly recommend the Plume Villas as a base to explore this area. The staff were very helpful when needed but otherwise left you alone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FCCOOPER, Owner at Plume Villas
Responded 1 Feb 2020
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Plume Villas and thank you for taking the time to put down this review for us. We do look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beverley C wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely modern unit with three seperate rooms in smaller units - bathroom, bedroom with a comfortable bed which is separated with a barn door separated from living room. Great location and quiet close to the Plume restaurant and cellar, whole food cafe and a gelato and sorbet cafe and shop as well as a knitting shop. Swimming pool availability in Warmer months. There are options for 1 and 2 bedroom units as well as a three bedroom unit. Coffee pod machine, toaster, kettle, microwave and drawer dishwasher with all crockery and cutlery as well as tea, coffee, sugar, sweetener, some milk and hot chocolate available.
Nice large modern bathroom with shower, toilet, hand basin and hairdryer as well as some toiletries.
Tv with sky and Netflix in lounge area with a couch and chair and tables and own air conditioning
We had a lovely stay and are going back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Has accessible units
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Villas
Responded 26 May 2022
Thank you Beverly for this lovely review. We appreciate the same and are so glad you had a good time at Plume.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annette wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a group of 15 senior adults, who stayed in 4 Plume Villas for 3 nights mid-week at a total cost of $5,985. Yes, we can agree that the Villas and surrounds are comfortable, attractive, well appointed and serviced. However, the PR of the owners/management left the group with a sour taste for the following reason. Unfortunately one couple were unable to join us after the lady woke unwell on the morning of our departure for Matakana and ordered to have a Covid test and isolate until the result. This couple were booked into a 3-bedroom Villa with 3 other guests, thus this Villa was still occupied. The rest of the complex was virtually empty, so they were not turning guests away. The Manager was approached to ask if there could at least be some reduction in the $718.20 owing by this couple (they had already paid a deposit of $79.80). After talking to the owners, she came back with the answer they would not meet us in anyway. This was a very disappointing outcome - yes, we were advised , when booking, of their cancellation policy, but there have been many good reports of compassion given in what has been a very trying Covid year for all, not just businesses.
P.S. Nowhere in the world have we ever been charged $25 for a King bed to be split into 2xsingles.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Villas
Responded 19 Nov 2020
Thank you for staying at Plume Villas and we are happy to note that you found the Villas and surrounds to be comfortable, attractive, well- appointed and serviced. We were quite disappointed though that at the time of your check out a threat had been made to us of putting down a bad review on Trip Advisor if we did not discount the one missing guest, which you have now done. On the first day when you checked in, we were told that “one couple could not make it on the day as was feeling unwell , but would perhaps be joining the next day - If we had been told from day 1 that the couple was not coming, we could have possibly accommodated you in a 2 bedroom Villa, instead of the 3 bedroom Villa that you occupied for all the three nights. We would like you to know that we had turned down at least three corporate inquiries for conferences on the said dates, as you had already booked four out of our twelve villas. Ideally the expectation would have been for the couple not coming in to at least telephone us on the day itself, if they had wanted to cancel the booking. As regards the extra charge for the split beds – yes this is a decision we had to take some time ago as it is extremely difficult to move the beds, change from double bed linen to single bed linen and then vice versa on check-out. In fact we know of more than a couple of accommodation providers locally who have stopped providing split beds. Yes, 2020 has been a very trying year for all of us, however, we have not turned away any guests who were suffering and made an advance request, and who made contact with us directly prior to coming in,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GR1NZ wrote a review May 2022
New Zealand99 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful landscaped setting with landscaped access driveway and villa surrounds. The villas are in natural tones and lovely modern styling and located to give each its own privacy and dedicated carpark. The setting scores very highly

The Villa interiors are extremely comfortable and nicely appointed. They are modern and the décor in beige and creams with light woodgrain and some black is very tasteful (What you see in the pics is true to what you get)

But I would not call it luxury at all. It is very competent and comfortable but for me luxury is a step up form here

The arrival / check in process is also not in keeping with a luxury facility ("OFFICE" is not a welcoming Luxury term. (Covid accepted) Walking into a chair and cabinet in the motel like reception shatters any concept of Luxury. Then the greeting and check in process is VERY transactional - focusing on simply getting your payment and giving you the key. There is no Luxury welcome to position the villas as somewhere that you should be looking forward to and will enjoy. a spiel "Of Welcome to the Plume Villas, we are looking forward to looking after you during your stay. Your lovely/luxury villa is located ... etc etc" might have done more to position the venue and make a connection with us. In reality it was just like checking in to any other top quality motel complex the likes of which I have stayed at many times. The term "Luxury" is clearly a work in progress and at the moment a step too far
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Villas
Responded 26 May 2022
Thank you for the above review and we have taken note of your view point. Our Villas Manager has been with us since day 1 and works very hard - being elderly we have tried our very best to protect against covid and thus the chair and cabinet - in fact the villas asked to remove the same two weeks ago but our thought was to continue with it in view of winter and covid working its way through again - then again it is very difficult to talk and smile when wearing a mask. Taking your view point we have now moved everything out and we are back to a proper reception area. We have also emphasised on the need for a warmer greeting and welcome, Once again we thank you for the review which has facilitated changes - we have all lived with the dread of covid for much too long!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Felicity G wrote a review Mar 2023
Auckland, New Zealand50 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Tastefully furnished and comfortable with tea and coffee-making (coffee pod machine) facilities but not a full kitchen. Very expensive and not good value for money. We were two couples in a two bedroom villa, and there was only parking for one car, which we considered very poor, given that this is out in the country.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Villas
Responded 13 Mar 2023
Thank you Felicity for this review - we are so glad to read that you found the villas to be tastefully furnished and comfortable with amenities for a kitchenette. Yes, this was a decision we took from the beginning that there would be no cooking facility at the villas and we have not regretted taking this decision. As regards the car park - in case you are not aware we are bound by the council and there was only so much land we could build on so only 1 car park is attached to each villa. However, there is a common car park off the main drive way which can take many cars for parking too. We would have loved to give car parks per bedroom but that was not something permitted to us. When your class reunion was organised - the organisers came down and saw the property in 2020 and they were very happy with the same - then came covid and the event was postponed to 2021 and then finally happened in 2023. So, yes the rates did go up over the three years.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SAMUEL Y wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A really amazing property with a beautiful outlook while the villas themselves have been finished to a really high standard. Very clean and warm and perfect for a weekend away. We could not fault the actual accommodation. I had heard previous reports about the managers and their 'transactional' disposition and I have to agree - this aspect desperately needs some work. When we arrived it was as though the manager was doing US a favour by checking us in and taking our money and she seemed very cold and almost disgruntled we had interrupted her. There were numerous other instances where we encountered this 'disposition' and, to be quite honest, it is unacceptable in this current environment. Not to mention the fact these villas are not cheap so I would expect more warmth from the hosts. As mentioned, we had 4 or 5 instances where things were just 'off' and we just felt we were an inconvenience to the whole operation despite things being relatively quiet around the complex.

Lastly, the villas need a small oven or, preferably, a BBQ to really round it all off.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Villas
Responded 12 Jun 2022
Thank you Samuel - we are so glad to read that you found our property amazing and the villas to have been finished to a really high standard. It is a pity that the swimming pool was closed though due to winter as we are sure your boys would have loved swimming. Sad to read your comments about our managers who have been with us from day one and are very hard working - it is difficult to live in a mask and to smile through a mask. We shall definitely emphasise on more of the smiling though. We too found a lot of instances that were off but would really not like to talk more of the same on a public forum.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katherine P wrote a review Sept 2023
13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We could not fault our one night stay. We chose to stay here between the Coromandel Peninsula and the Bay of Islands on our road trip. The area is lovely, as are the towns of Matakana and Warkworth. We were the only guests so it was quiet. The price of the accommodation, and the restaurant not being open on a Tuesday, may have been contributing factors to the low occupancy. We enjoyed the sunny deck overlooking the beautiful gardens and the heated floor in the bathroom. Nick and Denise, the managers, could not have been friendlier or more helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Villas
Responded 22 Sept 2023
Oh what a lovely review - thank you so much! Yes Matakana is quiet during the week and that is when we do Conferences at the Restaurant with accommodation at the Villas. Guess you were lucky to have the whole place to yourselves! Glad you had some sun to enjoy the deck! Look forward to seeing you again and do hope that is on a day when the restaurant is open too! Thank you for appreciating Nick and Denise our Managers from 2018!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynaire K wrote a review Dec 2020
Denarau Island, Fiji3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay here. As a family of four the villa worked perfectly for us and we were so impressed by the grounds and all the little extra touches within the villa.

The hosts are so welcoming and friendly and we could see the love they have put into the property.

We particularly loved the bathrooms and lighting and phone charging station by the bed. The villa was spotlessly clean and everything well thought out.

We hope to return soon as it really is the perfect spot.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Villas
Responded 2 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for this lovely review Lynairek - we appreciate the same, highly! We are so glad to read that you will return soon to our perfect little spot in Matakana! Do hope you visited Plume Restaurant and Plume Cafe too while you were in Matakna and if not, we look forward to seeing you, soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin C wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a relaxing weekend surrounded by beauty and the Tui 7 villa was well set up and amazingly comfortable. The facility is of a top standard with all the amenities and luxuries one would expect in a 5-star hotel, and we didn't need to ask for anything to be provided. The check in was seamless and the food at the nearby Plume restaurant was delicious as were the wines and the whole ambience of the place magical including the landscaping and lighting. A place well worth spending time in to relax and unwind especially with the autumn colours surrounding us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Jillian S wrote a tip 12 May
Auckland, New Zealand34 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tui villas 8 and 10 have lovely views over the garden."
Read full review
869adriennep wrote a tip Nov 2023
Papamoa, New Zealand138 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location to get to so many great places "
Read full review
di wrote a tip Sept 2023
Perth, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware no cooking !!"
Read full review
Frank M wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't get Tui #7 if you want privacy or views"
Read full review
Beverley C wrote a tip Apr 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Has accessible units"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Matakana area.
PRICE RANGE
$334 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandMatakana
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PLUME VILLAS - Inn Reviews & Price Comparison (Matakana) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Plume Villas
Which popular attractions are close to Plume Villas?
Nearby attractions include Sculptureum (4.6 km), Of Hand & Heart (4.3 km), and Brick Bay Sculpture Trail (3.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Plume Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Plume Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Plume Villas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Plume Villas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Plume Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rothko at Sculptureum, Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, and Plume Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Plume Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Plume Villas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Matakana War Memorial (2.7 km).
All Matakana HotelsMatakana Hotel DealsHotels near Plume Villas
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire