We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at My Friends Inn Manitoulin

Room/Suite (19)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
US$97
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/10/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$97
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/10/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$97
View Deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
CheapTicketsUS$97
Agoda.comUS$97
TravelocityUS$97
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
... place. Betty-Ann was most welcoming and very helpful. Our room was beautiful, clean and super comfortable. Although I’m...
... also told by her husband that the previous occupant of our room had been a homeless guy in quarantine. Guests don’t need to...
Not your ordinary Motel. Our room was spotless and very modern and the owner ensured we had a great stay. It's located just a...
Most popular question about the rooms
Do you have a room available on the night of July 13; queen bed?
Answer from MyFriendsInn
Jun 2015 |
I do have a queen room available for July 13. Please call me at 705-859-3115

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
awgallop wrote a review 8 Sep
Madoc, Canada12 contributions2 helpful votes
We can’t give enough positive feedback about this place. Betty-Ann was most welcoming and very helpful. Our room was beautiful, clean and super comfortable. Although I’m not sure if it has A/C, it has a ceiling fan and great cross ventilation from the windows. It has everything you need......coffee (Keurig type) maker, fridge, microwave, paper towels, hair blower, iron, bath products i.e. shower gel, shampoo etc., and super smelling bar soap. Ice is available at the office if you need it. When (through conversation) Betty-Ann found out we had just gotten married a few days earlier, within a 1/2 hour, she and her cute little helper brought over a bottle of wine & two glasses.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Ruth R wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Thought we were going to love this place. We booked three nights and because of weather decided to leave a day early. I let the owner know before five pm the previous night, to get within 24 hour rule. She said absolutely no refund as it should’ve been three. There is nothing written that it needs to be before three and she later said “well it was after five “, so she clearly doesn’t have a rule or a time set. (It was 4:30) DO NOT PAY upfront for your stay. She was rude and has a reputation of being cheap from the locals. It was a bad marketing decision as four friends asked me if they should stay there and I have said no unfortunately, as the unwillingness to discuss and attitude were not good. I was also told by her husband that the previous occupant of our room had been a homeless guy in quarantine. Guests don’t need to hear that information, doesn’t help the comfort level.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from BettyAnne MacDougall, Owner at My Friends Inn Manitoulin
Responded 4 weeks ago
It's unfortunate that you were disappointed with your stay here. We have absolutely no control over the weather, and yes - the fine print does specify that we require 24 hours notice of a cancellation, and you were not able to provide that. Your comments about being rude and cheap are just that - a rude, cheap shot because you did not get your way. We provided many over the top extras for you including arranging the repair of your bicycle tire twice at no cost to you, putting in a desktop fan for your personal issues (night sweats). We also brought in live singer/song writer as you had expressed an interest in indigenous country music. And one of our staff was hospitable enough to invite you to her home for an evening fire - another entertainment request on your part. As for your quarantine comment - Yes - we support our community. We offered accommodation for those needing to self-isolate, and this was many weeks before your arrival. Your safety was never an issue and your comments are out of line. But we would be happy to offer you a free night's stay the next time you are in the area in our effort to make this experience more pleasant for you. Reservation is required. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P wrote a review Jul 2020
Toronto, Canada30 contributions15 helpful votes
Not your ordinary Motel. Our room was spotless and very modern and the owner ensured we had a great stay. It's located just a short walk from the bay, where there's swimming, nice scenery and some tourist attractions.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Martin wrote a review Sep 2019
Penetanguishene, Canada6 contributions4 helpful votes
Our stay here was very enjoyable and we were very pleased with our room. It was clean, modern, and comfortable. The owners, Betty-Anne and Wayne were extremely friendly and helpful. We found the location of this motel central to all the sightseeing we did. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this place.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
wakeupjames wrote a review Aug 2019
Birmingham, United Kingdom194 contributions76 helpful votes
The village of Manitowaning, just off highway 6, is nothing to shout about, but this small motel was just what I needed - somewhere quiet, clean, well-equipped and comfortable with friendly, helpful staff. The island of Manitoulin has some delightful small harbours and other interesting attractions.

I was made to feel very welcome when I checked in - I was sat down in the kitchen and lectured (in the friendliness of ways) on where I should go on the island - the advice was spot on.

My room was large, had a comfortable bed, table and chairs, microwave, coffee maker, fridge and good wifi. If I needed crockery or cutlery, I just had to ask. The tiny bathroom had a great shower. I was able to park directly outside my room.

By the way, if you try and put the motel address into your GPS, you might find it doesn't exist! Try telling it that you are looking for Queen Street, Assiginack, not Queen Street, Manitowaning. Having said this, Queen Street is signposted from highway 6.

I had a small problem getting my TV to behave but this was resolved quickly - it was unplugged and plugged in again!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

2coach asked a question Jun 2015
Calgary6 contributions2 helpful votes
Do you have a room available on the night of July 13; queen bed?
Answer from MyFriendsInn
Jun 2015 |
I do have a queen room available for July 13. Please call me at 705-859-3115
1 vote
Answer from MyFriendsInn
Jun 2015 |
Can you call me. 705-859-3115
0 votes
PreviousNext
1