We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at The Top House

Room/Suite (16)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
Great location with fabulous views from the room. Lovely to watch the stormy weather from. Nice cosy bar and great food....
... them, and we were not disappointed. Stayed in the Polpeor room on the 3rd floor, very comfortable room with incredible...
... and more refined lighter options lovely fresh fish. Our room was polpeor the king size on the top floor the photos of the...
Featured room amenities
Housekeeping
Hair Dryer
Internet
Wheelchair Access
Iron
Flatscreen TV
See all room amenities (11)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
alan c wrote a review Feb 2020
13 contributions4 helpful votes
Great location with fabulous views from the room. Lovely to watch the stormy weather from. Nice cosy bar and great food. Breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and served piping hot, just the way I like it. Looking forward to coming back in the summer.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
BinfieldTiger wrote a review Jan 2020
Binfield, United Kingdom128 contributions73 helpful votes
Just spent a lovely long weekend at the Top House at the Lizard. We'd eaten many times in the pub, but this was the first time we'd stayed with them, and we were not disappointed. Stayed in the Polpeor room on the 3rd floor, very comfortable room with incredible sea views. Breakfast is superb.

We had a couple of meals during our stay, always good quality and good portions and quite nice to eat in the bar on the sunday night, brought back memories of visits there in the early 1990s. Staff friendly and helpful as always.

We'll certainly be back later on the year for a meal- planning a weeks holiday in Sept/Oct and it will be first choice for any future winter breaks in Cornwall. It is incredibly good value for money

Thanks for a lovely break.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: Polpeor is a fine choice
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from DonnaGlosby, Owner at The Top House
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit such a great review! We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at the Inn and felt so well looked after. We very much appreciate your continued support and it is particularly pleasing that you chose to stay with us for the first time and we will be your first choice for future winter breaks. We look forward to you staying again. See you later in the year. Kind regards James & Donna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jojome wrote a review Nov 2019
Cheltenham, United Kingdom115 contributions26 helpful votes
I’ve been to the top house for food on previous occasions when I’ve been in the lizard the staff have always been friendly and squeezed myself and my friend in over the summer peak! Last year my partner and I stayed in November and decided to again this year.Received a warm welcome when we got there and everyday. Staff were very friendly and remembered our favourite tipples. Food was lovely good mixture of hearty dishes and more refined lighter options lovely fresh fish. Our room was polpeor the king size on the top floor the photos of the sea view do not do the view justice you can see most of the coast from the windows. Bed was extremely comfortable a very generous en-suite with good size bath and shower lovely range of teas, coffee and hot chocolate. Would definitely recommend staying here.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Glosby, Owner at The Top House
Responded 14 Nov 2019
Thank you so much for your super review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and would recommend us to others, very much appreciated. It is great to hear you felt so well looked after, loved the food and had a comfortable and happy stay here. We and the team look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards James and Donna Glosby
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleypuplett wrote a review Jul 2019
Sherborne, United Kingdom402 contributions278 helpful votes
My husband only booked the day before. Each time we’ve visited lizard on our many trips to Cornwall it’s been raining and windy but not this time. Room had two windows overlooking the sea. Very quiet considering it’s a pub and busy however in the mornings you could hear early morning risers, walkers I suppose getting themselves prepared. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We ate there on our first night and the food and service fab. Lovely atmosphere. Locals very friendly. Fabulous walks every which way. Really enjoyed staying at The Lizard and at this quaint pub.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
nikSomerford wrote a review Mar 2019
Tonbridge14 contributions5 helpful votes
Beautiful en suite room with sea views from both windows (Kynance room), surprisingly comfy bed, good sized bath in the huge ensuite. They serve a good selection of local ales and spirits along with a very good selection of meals. Staff are all friendly and very attentive.
If you don’t come here you’ll be missing out.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous