We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at The Coach House

Room/Suite (16)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
... and was nice to be able to get a decent pint after our walk. Room was good with comfy bed and an excellent shower and it was...
Third time we have stayed, room, service and food was excellent, since the last time we stayed Sean the owner has now employed...
... Mynd. Excellent spot for walkers. We had a very nice & clean room with superking bed and ensuite. The staff were very helpful,...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Andy B wrote a review Feb 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom24 contributions20 helpful votes
We have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Coach House. Service was excellent from the minute we got there. The food was amazing ranging from lovely cooked breakfasts (recommend the breakfast Hash) to superb evening meals (Ham Hock starter and Beef Rib main were both excellent) with the most unusual and tasty Apple Crumble. Bar was well stocked and was nice to be able to get a decent pint after our walk. Room was good with comfy bed and an excellent shower and it was so quiet. Good location in a lovely part of the world close to Bishops Castle and around 30 minutes from Shrewsbury. Was nice to be able to take our Labrador dog with us and not worry about offending people as we ate in a separate area. Can’t wait to return
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from coachhousesean, Owner at The Coach House
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Andyb4444, Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us and such a positive one as well. We are all very grateful for your generous comments and are really happy that you loved what we do so much. Your visit was impeccably timed with the arrival of our new head chef Blair and he seems to have made quite the impression on you. His food is really inventive & yet comforting at the same time. We are very lucky to have found him and he will be made up to read this review as will our excellent Front of House team. We look forward to your next visit. All the very best, Sean & the Coach House team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P wrote a review Nov 2019
Pickering, United Kingdom160 contributions58 helpful votes
Third time we have stayed, room, service and food was excellent, since the last time we stayed Sean the owner has now employed Ben to run the bar and restaurant and he has certainly made a positive difference, like Sean he is very friendly and Ben is very knowledgeable about food and wine.
Goes without saying we will be back
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from coachhousesean, Owner at The Coach House
Responded 6 Nov 2019
Dear Michael P, thank you so much for taking them time to write us such a glowing review, it is so lovely when guests return and find our standards so consistently high, it is something we really strive for. Ben will be thrilled to read your comments, he really is an asset to the business. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda C wrote a review Aug 2019
Dorset, United Kingdom55 contributions17 helpful votes
The Coach House is in the middle of nowhere - beautiful surroundings. Norbury is a tiny village which lies to the west of the Long Mynd. Excellent spot for walkers. We had a very nice & clean room with superking bed and ensuite. The staff were very helpful, particularly Ben. Unfortunately we were not able to stay for an evening meal as we were attending a function elsewhere - but heard they are well known locally for the restaurant.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Room Tip: We had two rooms, both with ensuite. There are other rooms not ensuite but with own adjacent...
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from coachhousesean, Owner at The Coach House
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Dear Linda C, Thanks for leaving us a 4 star review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and loved the surroundings. We love this village. Ben is indeed a superstar and will be very happy to read your compliments. We are sorry that you didnt get a chance to eat with us as that is really our main focus. Hopefully next time! All the very best, Sean & the Coach House team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue j wrote a review Aug 2019
Rugeley, United Kingdom532 contributions267 helpful votes
We stayed here recently due to the proximity as we were attending a wedding locally . We were housed in an annexe room which was accessed from outside via a few steps I booked this accommodation months ago and was asked when I
phoned which room I’d like I had a choice I did not choose to sleep outside in the annexe of that I’m sure . The room was comfortable well equipped main problem was tepid shower which we reported on first morning not only that on the next morning shower temp still tepid apparently it had been reported but obviously not fixed . Most unsatisfactory and unfortunately it has tarnished our experience at the Coach House
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from coachhousesean, Owner at The Coach House
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Dear Sue J, We are always sorry to see a guest express disappointment, especially if there was something we could have done to avoid it. We have since replaced the shower in question, thank you for bringing that to our attention. We are very sorry if this impacted your weekend. In the name of balance it should be noted that we did give you a discount as a gesture of goodwill and by way of an apology. If we could have got it fixed on the Saturday we would have, it just wasn't possible and we are sorry for that. The booking error leaves us confused as each customer chooses their preferred room from those available. We had 7 rooms reserved for your wedding group for many months only to have 5 rooms cancelled at the last minute. So you could have had any room that you had wanted when you booked. The rooms in the annexe are every bit as nice as those in the main house and any differences are reflected in the room rates. We are sorry that your experience of the Coach House has been tarnished. We would like to go further to try and redress that. Please email me sean@coachhousenorbury.com so that we can have a conversation. Best Regards, Sean
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sloppy123 wrote a review Jul 2019
london7 contributions8 helpful votes
Our second visit to the Coach House. This time we took our dog.
First time was with 10 friends over New Year. This time we took a room in the annex.

Ben was again extremely attentive, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is genuinely dog friendly from the welcome basket provided to a discrete area to sit in the restaurant.
Room was very good. The food was excellent as usual. The breakfast is the best around and the evening food was superb.
Ben and his team are excellent and the service is fantastic.
We will be back again soon.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from coachhousesean, Owner at The Coach House
Responded 2 Jul 2019
Dear Sloppy 123, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We love seeing guests return, it's the ultimate compliment. We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us once again and that you were able to bring your dog with you this time. Its such an amazing part of the country to walk your dog in. We hope he enjoyed our homemade liver cake in the doggy hamper. The whole team are over the moon at your comments and we hope to see you again. All the very best, Sean
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous