We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton

Room/Suite (71)
3 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
US$135
View Deal
Free cancellation until 26/09/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Curio.com
US$135
View Deal
Free cancellation until 27/09/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$125
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$135
FindHotelUS$129
Hotels.comUS$137
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
... interior of the hotel and lobby are absolutely stunning. Our room was much smaller than anticipated, though. We booked the...
... homes in St. Louis and Aspen multiple times a year. The room was clean and comfortable, stylish decor and friendly staff....
... of service and most importantly the cleanliness of our room. Valet service is false. When we arrived in front of hotel,...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Phoebemarie wrote a review 2 Sep
2 contributions
The interior of the hotel and lobby are absolutely stunning. Our room was much smaller than anticipated, though. We booked the deluxe king room and it was tiny. There was a large stain in the middle of the carpet and there was no couch like the photo indicated, only a little chair. Even though it's minor, I was a little disappointed they use standard size pillows on a king bed. It was nice and quiet with no noise complaints and the staff was efficient and polite. I'd stay here again but definitely request the larger version of the deluxe king that is shown in the pictures. I do not think a small chair in the corner should qualify as a "sitting area" that is described for this room.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from John Glenn, General Manager at Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate your feedback and will be sharing with my team so we can make things better.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C1496RIchris wrote a review 2 Sep
Saint Louis, Missouri1 contribution
I stayed at Hotel Phillips two weekends in a row as I drive between homes in St. Louis and Aspen multiple times a year. The room was clean and comfortable, stylish decor and friendly staff. Convenient parking on the other side of the block from the hotel main entrance. It’ll be my stomping spot for many years to come. I can’t recommend it more highly
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from John Glenn, General Manager at Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the great review! We cant wait to see you on your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S wrote a review Aug 2020
Topeka, Kansas21 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at Hotel Phillips on Saturday, August 29th and it was a major disappointment from the moment we arrived until we left! We are very disappointed in the staff, the quality of service and most importantly the cleanliness of our room.

Valet service is false. When we arrived in front of hotel, we were unsure what to do. There are no valet attendants and we didn't know where to park. Fortunately, some friendly patrons in front of us informed us where to park (two blocks away in a garage). 

First of all the room: There are so many things to say about this. We had reserved the claw foot tub room but on arrival at 4:00 pm, it had yet to be cleaned. We asked for another room because we had dinner reservations and our Uber was picking us up at 4:15. The front check-in receptionist was very rude about the whole situation. She said she did discount the room, but as I'm looking at the room rates, it is less on the website than what I actually paid.

When we entered our room, on first appearance, it was very pretty, Until I noticed everything that was dirty. This includes the shower doors, the shower floor, the sink, the dusty window seals, and the coffee maker. The curtains were full of dust.

The sink did not drain nor did the shower. We were standing in water the whole time we were taking a shower.

The towels were so thread-barren, I could see thru them. I had a horrible nights sleep because the pillows were awful!!

When I went down for coffee, the front desk receptionist was very rude as well. She told me it's clearly posted that coffee is available at 8:00 and no sooner. So I walked outside of hotel for 30 minutes to find coffee for us.

The front desk receptionist at check out was a different guy and he was also very very rude. I asked to speak to a manager and he very rudely gave me a card. He was very unhelpful and rude when I tried to checkout.

At the PS speakeasy, the waitress was also very rude. The drink I ordered was not to my liking. She had suggested it so I said ok. She charged me $17 for it even though I didn't drink it and got wine instead.

The staff needs training in customer service and housekeeping needs training on proper cleaning techniques. 

We are very friendly people and we never like to write bad reviews. We also try to be friendly to everyone. I emailed the manager and I truly hope he has a discussion with All of the staff on good customer service.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from John Glenn, General Manager at Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Paula, Thank you again for letting me know about your stay. I am sincerely sorry that you had a bad experience all around. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to make it right. I hope to see you the next time you are in Kansas City.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan S wrote a review Aug 2020
5 contributions
Disappointed in our overall stay at this hotel. Not sure if it's a COVID related change or not, but there was literally no one at the hotel when we got there. We pulled up front, went in and got our own luggage cart, unloaded and brought it in to the lobby, and waiting for almost 5 minutes for the front desk agent to get there. Not his fault, he was very friendly and helpful, but seemed to be the only employee working. There was no valet available, we had to self-park. The hotel was very nice, stylish, rooms were comfortable, just disappointed in the lack of some basic amenities. Our room did not have hot water, the front desk agent at check out apologized, but didn't offer any other accommodation.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from John Glenn, General Manager at Hotel Phillips Kansas City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your visit. I am sorry that you did not get to experience the full potential of our hotel. We are running a very thin crew right now, just like the rest of the area due to covid. I am looking into the hot water issue. We hope you give us another try when this all blows over.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelM22222 wrote a review Jul 2020
24 contributions5 helpful votes
The website suggested a quaint hotel with lots of character. Although the lobby is nice the hotel is sorely lacking in many other areas.
The room was dirty, there were sticky stains on the tables
There is no vending, no access to any drinks or breakfast
There is no parking.
The room has no fridge
There is no room service and the restaurant would not answer the phone for an order to be placed

I will never return here
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous