We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point

Room/Suite (178)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Protea Hotels
US$62
View deal
Expedia.comUS$68
Booking.comUS$68
Hotels.comUS$68
eDreamsUS$68
PricelineUS$68
Agoda.comUS$68
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
... fro Promenade, there is small windows and no view from the room. Balcony is not real..it’s tiny for 2 people to stand on. No...
... about being unable to grant any of our requests for room preference, etc., and did not address the most simple of...
... unfriendly. Had to wait an hour and a half to book into our room as it hadnt been cleaned yet. No offer of a drink or coffee...
Most popular question about the rooms
my husband and I would be staying in a family room with out teenage daughter in July. is there any bathroom privacy? my husband and I are considering this hotel's family room...
Answer from Dean B
May 2017 |
Hello, yes the room I stayed in had a bathroom with a door so total privacy was in order.
Read more

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
island_word_traveler wrote a review Mar 2020
Atlanta, Georgia63 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
I’m convinced that the Marriott hotels in Cape Town are some of the nastiest I’ve ever stayed at. I was so excited to stay here due to the location, gym, and my status. Not only are the rooms insanely small (and I mean even compared to EU hotels), but my supposed upgrade greeted us with a tone of mold in the bathroom! I mean how do you not see this?

What even more sad, is that when the cleaning folks come you can see they are over worked and under paid. I felt horrible complaining. Marriott should be ashamed of themselves. The cleaning folks looks sooo tired and depressed. Even after cleaning the wall they could not get out all the mold.

this on top of a curtain (see pic) with a huge hole. I honestly prayed and went to bed looking forward to checking out in the am. Also, though its one block fro Promenade, there is small windows and no view from the room. Balcony is not real..it’s tiny for 2 people to stand on. No chairs.

Do not stay here... it’s truly horrible.

I also had a similar experience with the Victoria Junction hotel where I found a recycled half wet washcloth folded in the bathroom. Again, 1 lady who looks depressed and tired cleaning the whole floor. It’s like modern day slavery.

Never again. I am staying clear of Marriott in S. Africa. Just nasty and depressing environment.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear island_word_traveler Thank you for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay at Protea Hotel Sea Point. We appreciate your valuable and honest feedback. Meeting and exceeding our Guests expectations is our number one priority so we are disappointed to see that we did not meet with yours on this occasion. As a Titanium Elite Bonvoy Member, we do our very best to upgrade members but due to availability this is sometimes not possible. Your comments regarding the room and the state of the curtains have been noted and the necessary action taken. I assure you our Housekeeping Team are well looked after and definitely not overworked nor underpaid. Once again we sincerely apologise for the poor experience and we assure you of our best attention in the future. Yours sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knothomeeither wrote a review Feb 2020
Atlanta, Georgia69 contributions53 helpful votes
The location is very good for exploring Sea Point, and the pool is beautiful. Sadly the staff (front desk, in particular, Genevieve) was not up to Marriott standards. She was unfriendly, unappreciative of our brand loyalty and status within Marriott, unapologetic about being unable to grant any of our requests for room preference, etc., and did not address the most simple of requests. The first room we were given was next to an extremely noisy customer blaring music mid-day. We were thankfully moved to a different room. But, the second room had wet carpeting in isolated places (odd in itself) and was lacking the hotel information (pamphlets explaining amenities such as the restaurant and the pool hours, note pad, basic room amenities which we had seen in the first room and its absence in the second room was notable) so we promptly called down to reception to request the hotel information which was missing and over the course of our three night stay we never received it. The lobby was often disheveled with newspapers strewn across the table in the front hall, with all sorts of employees just chatting among themselves. We would not choose to stay here again and would not recommend it to friends traveling to Cape Town because of the staff with whom we interacted. Having recently hosted family gatherings (group events) at Marriott Bonvoy properties in the US, we held the brand in high regard, but our experience at this location has damaged our impression of the brand.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear knothomeeither Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay at Protea Hotel Sea Point. Meeting and exceeding our Guests expectations is our number one priority so we are extremely disappointed to see that we did not meet with yours. Your comments regarding the unfriendly Staff is most definitely not what we pride ourselves in and Genevieve will receive further training regarding guest interaction and acknowledging our most valued Elite members. We sincerely apologise that your request for hotel information was not granted and that it was not in the room as it should have been as well as for the messy foyer area. These inconsistencies have been brought to the attention of the housekeeping department in order to rectify their shortcomings I assure you that what you experienced is most definitely not what we are usually proud to offer and is not a reflection on the rest of the brand. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LorenM wrote a review Feb 2020
Mid Illovo, South Africa4 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is in a great location. Easy access to coffee shops, lions head and beaches.
The lobby is dirty with stained sofas. The front desk staff were very unfriendly. Had to wait an hour and a half to book into our room as it hadnt been cleaned yet. No offer of a drink or coffee and no one updating us on the progress. Late for our function as a result of the delay. Check out was equally as bad as check in. Our suite was lovely, it was large and comfortable. I do think the mini bar in a suite should be stocked.
Not sure if I'll return. We were told the delays were due to VIP guests in the room before us. All guests should be treated equally.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear lollyM88 Thank you for your honest feedback following your recent stay at Protea Hotel Sea Point, we do appreciate it. Meeting and exceeding our Guests expectations is our number one priority so we are disappointed to see that we did not meet with yours on this occasion. Our sincere apologies for your room not being ready when you arrived and that no one updated you on the progress of this. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy the suite and your comments regarding stocking the mini bar have been noted. Our sincere apologies that you found our staff unfriendly. This is most definitely not the normal high level of service we are proud to offer and will be addressed in a very serious light. We thank you for your valuable feedback and do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and show you true hospitality as what you experienced is not our norm. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madubo wrote a review Feb 2020
Atlanta,GA29 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel is very well-situated in the heart of Sea Point. The room was a corner one, and the size was adequate - very clean and fairly well-maintained. The staff are extremely friendly and make one feel welcome. I would definitely recommend the hotel, but must mention a couple of things. There is only one elevator, which is not enough when the hotel is full. Also, in my bedroom (and apparently they are not all the same) there was no bedside light, nor a switch to put off the light. I had to get out of bed to switch the light off and feel my way back to the bed. I would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Katherine_L3, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Sea Point
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear madubo We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our great location as well as the room that you had reserved at Protea Hotel Sea Point. It is always nice to hear that you found the hotel clean and no maintenance issues experienced. Regretfully we do have only one lift which does become a challenge during peak hours like breakfast time when the hotel is full. Your comments regarding the bedside light switch has also been noted and we will see what solution can be implemented resolve this. We are so pleased to hear you would stay with us again and do hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne R wrote a review Feb 2020
Atlanta, Georgia60 contributions56 helpful votes
I stayed for 8 nights while visiting family who live in the Sea Point area. It’s a great location and I was able to walk almost everywhere I needed to go if it was within Sea Point. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast is very expensive and in my opinion not worth it. There are plenty of walkable stores and places where you can eat for much cheaper. The rooms are decent size even though I found the bathroom quite small. The beds are incredibly comfortable! Stay on a higher floor so that you don’t have all the noise from the street and the restaurant that is attached. (From my room I could hear each time they sang the Happy Birthday song to a customer!)
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from Tshego M
Feb 2016 |
Yep, if you are sharing a room with someone then there will be no privacy, the shower is completely see through. But i think its romantic, especially if you are with your loved one.
0 votes
PreviousNext
1