We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Asian Ruby Select Hotel

Room/Suite (29)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
eDreams
Snaptravel
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
... airport and there was someone waiting to help with luggage. Room was a good size with comfortable and clean beds. Breakfast...
... on the side for a carry on bag.. A/C didn't cool off the room and the bathroom window had been left open upon arrival...
... the reception staff were not as refreshing as the tea. Room Our room was clean, had a good size bathroom and...
Most popular question about the rooms
Do all rooms at the Asian Ruby Select have a bar fridge in the room? (I'm needing to chill some medication)
Answer from MekongRustic
Apr 2018 |
Yes. They have

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Lewis N wrote a review Mar 2020
Potton, United Kingdom16 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We arrived late from the airport and there was someone waiting to help with luggage. Room was a good size with comfortable and clean beds. Breakfast had a good selection with good views as it was on the rooftop! Air con worked well too to cope with the hot weather! Room faced away from the road so was nice and quiet too!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
bas0921 wrote a review Jan 2020
Charlotte, North Carolina730 contributions143 helpful votes
Positive first impressions based on the lobby because it offers a very cool vibe.. too bad once you get to the rooms the positive goes to negative..

Rooms are so small that you can't get around the bed if the suitcase is at the foot of it.. And not much space on the side for a carry on bag.. A/C didn't cool off the room and the bathroom window had been left open upon arrival (thanks to whomever for letting some bugs in), so it was extra hot in the room for my short stay.

Breakfast offered very limited options and food that should have been warm was not.

Bathroom was tight too..

Of my 3 week stay in SE Asia, this was the worst hotel of the 10 or so I stayed in..
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from AsianRubySelect122, Quản lý bộ phận lễ tân at Asian Ruby Select Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Dear bas0921, Thank you for giving your feedback on Tripadvisor We feel sorry about room area. Because the cosy room is the smallest room type in our hotel. That why your room is small. We have better option for you which the comfy room and executive room. Thank you once again for your stay at Asian Ruby Select Hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon. Sincerely, Phuong Nguyen Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MistryMistry wrote a review Dec 2019
Leicester, United Kingdom77 contributions22 helpful votes
Ho Chi Minh City (HCMC) was the final stop after 3 weeks of travelling through Vietnam. One of the things we loved about our trip were the many friendly, attentive people we met at hotels, restaurants and street stalls who provided an incredible level of service. So coming to HCMC, probably the most developed and modern of cities in Vietnam, we were expecting pretty much the same or better level of service..unfortunately our stay at the Asian Ruby was disappointing, mainly down to poor customer service levels.

Location
It's a pretty good location, not far from some of the main things to see and near to many bars, restaurants and cafes. We walked everywhere, just be extra careful when crossing the roads.

Reception
First impressions do count, and the reception area looks great, welcomed with a fresh cup of camomile tea. Just a shame the reception staff were not as refreshing as the tea.

Room
Our room was clean, had a good size bathroom and comfortable beds. We asked for a luggage stand to put one of the suitcases on but they did not have any. We requested a luggage stand immediately after checking in. So the room was a bit cramped with 2 large suitcases in it.

The hotel was not very busy, so they could have moved us to a slightly larger room where we noticed there was a luggage stand.

Breakfast
At breakfast there was a pretty good selection of food, an egg station and fresh pho every morning. You are issued with tickets for breakfast, not really sure why - but a minor point did not affect our breakfast experience.

Staff
Unfortunately, this is where the Asian Ruby let itself down. As I said first impressions count - upon asking, we were given a local map and told everything we need to know is in there. It would have been great service if the male receptionist showed us the location of the hotel on the map, recommended some sightseeing places, places to eat and what tours the hotel could arrange for us. Instead, the male receptionist asked for payment of the airport transfer. He didn't even ask if we've had a pleasant journey to the hotel, if our vacation was going well - no attempt at building a rapport with us at all.

On a couple of occasions we sat in reception waiting for our pick ups - not once did any of the receptionists acknowledge us by greeting us - they just walked by, ignored us and sat at their desk playing on their cell phones. Even the male receptionist who checked us in, did not acknowledge us.

And on our final day, when the taxi came to take us to the airport - the female receptionist did not tell us he had arrived - she just told the driver where we were sitting and he approached us. Considering we booked the transfer with the hotel, at the very least she could have come and told us our taxi had arrived and wish us well on our journey home - but she said nothing.

In all the other hotels we stayed in, the staff took the time to explain their services, the local area and provide recommendations. The Asian Ruby staff never once took an interest in their guests. Even the checking out process was cold, clinical and unfriendly - she didn't even ask if we enjoyed our stay at the hotel - we stayed there 4 nights and I cannot remember if any of the staff ever smiled.

In all other hotel reviews in Vietnam I have mentioned at least 1 member of staff who demonstrated great service, but no one here.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2019
Room Tip: the hotel is on a busy road, so the traffic noise is fairly loud and doesn't reduce until 2...
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from AsianRubySelect122, Người quản lý at Asian Ruby Select Hotel
Responded 3 Jan 2020
Dear MistryMistry, Thank you so much for your stay at Asian Ruby Select Hotel. We are sincerely apologized for the problems you mentioned in your feedback. We have noted your feedback and we are trying to improve quality of hotel's service. I am sure that this thing will never happen again. We would love to invite you back with us for next trip. Best regards, Ms.Jeannie Nguyen Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolSeasiders wrote a review Nov 2019
Mayobridge, United Kingdom336 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for 2 nights on an Intrepid trip. The foyer was very inviting and the bedroom was quite nice with a walk in shower. There was a kettle and drinks to use and a free bottle of water each. The beds were comfortable.

Breakfast in the morning was adequate with breads, juices, tea and coffee. There was also a station that would make omelettes or fried egg if you wanted it.

There was a bar upstairs which was half in the open but was very disappointed that they didn’t serve spirits which were clearly displayed on the drinks menu. Another slight problem was the toilets in the basement which was a little inconvenient if you were up in the bar. That said it was adequate for our needs and was very central. It was a 15 minute taxi ride to Ben Thanh Market or you could risk your life on the roads if you care to do so.

Would I recommend, I’m not sure.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from AsianRubySelect122, Người quản lý at Asian Ruby Select Hotel
Responded 28 Nov 2019
Dear Customer, Thank you for your kind words about our hotel . We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us.We have noted your feedback and we are trying to improve quality of hotel's service. We look forward to welcome you to our hotel once again in the near future. Sincerely yours , Ms.Jeannie Nguyen Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KANG LAM wrote a review Oct 2019
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam122 contributions23 helpful votes
The location is good as it closes to the center and food area however the service is very poor. Staff is not friendly and helpful. You can see the staff sleeps at the lobby after 11pm everyday. The room is so noisy especially in the morning when the staff cleans the room in the corridor.
The breakfast is very poor too with very little choices and it is not good at all. And the staff just stand in the counter and asking you to give them the voucher. There is no service provided at all.
It cannot be 3 star and never
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from AsianRubySelect122, Quản lý bộ phận lễ tân at Asian Ruby Select Hotel
Responded 31 Oct 2019
Dear customer, Thank you for your stay at Asian Ruby Select. We are sincerely apologized for the problems you mentioned in your feedback. We are continually trying to improve the variety and quality of hotel's service items what we offer. We look forward to welcome you to our hotel once again in the near future. Best regards, Ms Jeannie Nguyen Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from MekongRustic
Apr 2018 |
Yes. They have
1 vote
Show all answers
Answer from SENTHAO
Jul 2017 |
I stayed in this hotel and I had a good experience, the quality of bed, shower and room was good and value for what you pay, you may have to pay 4 or times more back in Europe to get similar quality room and service, breakfast should be imoroved, location is superb and going around by walking or by taxi is easy, pham ngu lao or bui vien streets are walking distance
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1