We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames

Room/Suite (18)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
GrandStay
US$129
View deal
Booking.com
Expedia.com
US$113
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
We have red marks on every door in our room. It was clearly not cleaned thoroughly between stays. There was food in the pull out...
On a college visit to ISU and spent one night here in a one bedroom suite. Really enjoyed our stay. Very clean hotel, staff...
We got a 2 bedroom suite with queen beds for an amazing rate at this hotel. Very clean, friendly staff, great outdoor area...
Featured room amenities
Suites
Hot Tub
Housekeeping
Safe
Laundry Service
Internet
Wheelchair Access
Baggage Storage
Wifi
Newspaper
See all room amenities (13)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Robert wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
We have red marks on every door in our room. It was clearly not cleaned thoroughly between stays. There was food in the pull out couch and a dirty spoon. They let us get lysol wipes but they only do so much.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandStayAmes, Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Responded 12 May 2020
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to respond to a guest review. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the cleanliness of your room and the service you received from our staff at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Our team is working hard to ensure that our guests are comfortable and are receiving our best service. Your feedback is appreciated. We would like to extend a 40% discount on your next stay. We hope you will consider staying with us again, so that we may have the opportunity to offer you an experience that is nothing less than excellent. Warm regards, Nicole Gibbs Assistant General Manager GrandStay Hotel and Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dlhoon wrote a review Jun 2019
Elgin, Illinois88 contributions13 helpful votes
On a college visit to ISU and spent one night here in a one bedroom suite. Really enjoyed our stay. Very clean hotel, staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. Breakfast had some healthy options including Chobani yogurt. Pool was small but hot tub was nice. Back patio with fire pit was a special treat! Would stay here again!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Carol R wrote a review Jun 2019
Austin, Texas201 contributions80 helpful votes
We got a 2 bedroom suite with queen beds for an amazing rate at this hotel. Very clean, friendly staff, great outdoor area for visiting. Clean rooms and Old Chicago has a door shared with the hotel for easy access. Have stayed at many hotels in Ames, and this one was great. Very pet-friendly with good walking areas.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandStayAmes, Front Office Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Responded 5 Jun 2019
Dear Valued Guest~ Thank you so much for your 4 star review and taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our great staff and our clean, quite rooms. We look forward to your next stay with us and delivering our very best "Every Guest, Every Time”! Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials. Thanks Again, Nicole G. Front Desk Supervisor GrandStay Hotel & Suites
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M wrote a review Nov 2018
Annapolis, Maryland23 contributions46 helpful votes
We had to find a place big enough for our family of six for Thanksgiving week when my mother-in-law died. They had a two bedroom suite that was available. It was so nice to have a couple of separate bedrooms so that we could be together part of the time in the hotel yet go into a bedroom if we just needed to rest. The kids enjoyed the pool. I was able to get some laundry done while they swam. Nice to have a kitchenette to heat up food since teens can be hungry all hours of the day. The breakfasts varied a bit each morning but plenty to eat and plenty to chose from. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate are available 24 hours a day. Staff was helpful and accommodating.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Denise S wrote a review Nov 2018
48 contributions8 helpful votes
I just stayed here for a conference and training with three co-workers. Although we know each other, we don't necessarily want to share a bed. The double suite not only gave us our own beds, but....our own rooms. Having that private space was really appreciated because we could stick with our normal routines of either a late sleeper or an early riser, a TV watcher, a book reader or a lights out person. Call our families in privacy from our own room, etc. I can see this being a great option as well for families with older children. One room, but everyone has their own space. Great concept.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous