We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Tasman Bay Backpackers

Room/Suite (16)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
US$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/07/21
Expedia.com
US$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/07/21
Agoda.com
US$45
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/07/21
PricelineUS$52
Hotels.comUS$53
CheapTicketsUS$53
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
... were kind enough to accommodate me and allowed me to take my room. It made a huge difference to me, given my tired condition...
... works well in the rooms. I was in a 4-bed and had plenty of room when we were full. Each person had their own part of the...
... to refund and told them he was full that night and lost the room, that is not true. Booking.com has now refunded me but I...
Most popular question about the rooms
Hi, there is only a double room available for the dates I'm looking 5/4 - 10/4 for $70/night. I've read that you sometimes can reduce the rate for one person, is that so? Also,...
Answer from TasmanBayBP
Mar 2015 |
Hi there, the Double room has shared facilities. The bathrooms/showers are in the hallway away from the rooms. This time of the...
Read more
Featured room amenities
See all room amenities (10)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Triflyer wrote a review Jan 2020
India292 contributions196 helpful votes
Very warm and friendly and welcoming hosts. They went above and beyond in every way to make my stay memorable. For eg. I had traveled over 30 hours before I reached the hostel, my check in time was supposed to be 12 noon I recall (still much earlier than all others who only allow check in at 2 pm). I reached there by about 9 /9.30 am, and to my utter surprise they were kind enough to accommodate me and allowed me to take my room. It made a huge difference to me, given my tired condition then. The next day for some reason I had a small debacle with one of the tour bookings and that threatened that I would have to stay in the hotel instead of checking out if I couldn't go on the tour. They assured me they would keep the only vacant room then available in the hostel for me until my issue was sorted out. The issue got resolved and I went on the tour, but I cannot thank them enough for this gesture, it allowed me to tackle the issue with a calm mind. They also retained my belongings when I went on a trip to Abel Tasman and held it in their storage room under lock and key until I checked in again. The hostel vibes are very positive, the chocolate pudding idea is fantastic apart from the chocolate being delicious, it allows everyone to mingle. Enough wash rooms and toilets, clean place, good drying area. It is an easy walk from the market, more so the walk is a very pleasant one, as the route is nice too. The hostel is in a very nice residential area, so gives a good feel of Nelson. If I go back to Nelson, I would make sure I stay here again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Bayjb wrote a review Jan 2020
Chicago, Illinois305 contributions158 helpful votes
I really liked my stay at Tasman Bay Backpackers. I had a car and didn't want to deal w/parking in Nelson's CBD (especially over holidays) so that lead me to select this place. And I'm glad I did. There is a small parking lot but also a ton of residential street parking. You're 15 minute walk to the CBD, walkable distance too to a few grocery stores (although car is easier if you're picking up multiple items).

There is laundry on-site but dryers are small so use the lines outside, kitchen gets jammed but is well stocked and there are a ton of fridges for cold stuff. Wifi is also great and works well in the rooms.

I was in a 4-bed and had plenty of room when we were full. Each person had their own part of the room for storage and it was pretty cool with windows open. But, there is no insulation in any room (as is common in NZ) so you can hear EVERYTHING. It can get really loud in the kitchen and common areas below the rooms and in the hallways.

Showers and bathrooms are good and clean. Can be busy in the AM but otherwise fine. Nice seating areas outside in front and behind the hostels.

The nightly "pudding" at 8pm is a cake with ice cream and pudding topping. And you should really go at 8pm because they can run out. It's not the most incredible cake I've had but I love that they do it and am sad I will have less of it in my nightly routine.

No real complaints overall. Would absolutely stay again and recommend it.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
simpleas1992 wrote a review Aug 2019
Wellington, New Zealand13 contributions15 helpful votes
I have been contemplating whether to leave this review or not, but after thinking it through I am still frustrated.

My partner and I booked her for 2 nights. We were traveling down by car on the ferry. My partner was in a crash so we had to cancel. I called and canceled the reservation as well as canceled through Booking.com.

Few days later received an email advising of no show and I had been charged for 1 night? I called the property and was told 2 bookings were made, I advised the manager of our situation and he said to call Booking.com.

Booking.com advised that the booking had glitches and processed 2 times on different dates but as the property had charged they couldn’t refund. They called the property and told them what had happened.

The manager refused to refund and told them he was full that night and lost the room, that is not true. Booking.com has now refunded me but I though this was a pretty clear cut reasoning and the response from the backpackers left a pretty sour taste.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TasmanBayBP, Manager at Tasman Bay Backpackers
Responded 21 Aug 2019
Hi Frances! There seems to be a misunderstanding here. When you called 2 weeks after you noticed that you were charged, you never mentioned that you called the property directly beforehand to make a cancellation. If you would kindly supply a call log from your phone that shows this, we would of course have cancelled the reservation free of charge. As it is, we got 2 reservations from you through booking.com for different dates. One was cancelled online free of charge, but the second booking for a different date was never cancelled by you. If there was a glitch at booking.com, they have certainly never advised us of that glitch. Again could you please provide proof of the statement that booking.com has said there was a software glitch please.Lastly, when you called we tried to explain that because we held your reservation for that night, no one else could have booked this room, which left us with an empty and unsold room for that night and therefore lost income.For this we charged according to our cancellation policy. At no time did we say we were fully booked. Feel free to email us directly if you have further questions.Thanks and kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine C wrote a review May 2019
East Lansing, Michigan546 contributions165 helpful votes
We spent three nights here in a double (actually a triple) en suite. Nice size room and bath, tucked into a back corner. Clean, quiet, and everything functioned. Nice common area and kitchen too. Helpfully got us booked on a trip to the Tasman track, along with directions to stores and the bus station. Easy walking distance to downtown.

The much-mentioned chocolate pudding was excellent, came with vanilla ice cream, and for anyone from the US out there, is more like cake than what we call chocolate pudding. :)
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
neilhassall wrote a review Mar 2019
London, United Kingdom927 contributions214 helpful votes
We loved our recent stay at Tasman Bay backpackers - we stayed in a immaculate double room, and the initial reception welcome was very friendly. The attention to detail is great here, from the 100% Kiwi soundtrack played in the communal areas through to the free (and delicious) chocolate pudding served nightly at 8pm. Easily one of the best hostels we've stayed in, in NZ (and Nelson is magical anyway).
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from TasmanBayBP
Mar 2015 |
Hi there, the Double room has shared facilities. The bathrooms/showers are in the hallway away from the rooms. This time of the year the full price applies. Reduced rates apply only in the Winter season. We hope this info helps. Kind regards, Henk-Jan
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1