We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park

Room/Suite (228)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$64
View deal
Priceline
Hotels.comUS$67
CheapTicketsUS$67
Agoda.comUS$64
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
... first review I have made. We have tented, stayed in many room options as well as the self contained stand alone cottages...
... not worth the cost with the lack of service (there is no room servicing—we had to take out our own trash and ask for...
... rough around the edges however it had everything we needed. Room for 5 of us and a kitchenette with shared facilities. It has...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Tasha U wrote a review Oct 2020
Waitakere City, New Zealand6 contributions3 helpful votes
We have stayed many times over the years and this is the first review I have made.

We have tented, stayed in many room options as well as the self contained stand alone cottages and this visit we were in a motorhome, and yet again thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

For us it is the close vicinity to the city (without traffic noise), access to the lake a couple of mins through private accessway, thermal pools, kai steamer, clean facilities and grounds and lovely staff that keeps us coming back.

Thank you again to Cosy Cottage staff, we will be back!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Cosy Cottage, Guest Services / Front Office at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 14 Oct 2020
We appreciate your valuable feedback. We are happy to know that most of our guest like to return to our camp again. We have natural hot mineral pools, Steam oven to make our guest experience more memorable. Hope to see you in the near future again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William A wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
When I stayed here, I had been traveling in New Zealand for six months and stayed in dozens of hotels in this same price range and found every single one to be helpful, reasonable and friendly and this was the one unfortunate exception. I had chosen to book at the Cosy Cottage instead of my usual go to hotel in Rotorua despite the lower level of service because of the great price and amenities, but when I showed up, excited for our trip there I was instead greeted by a front desk impatiently demanding that I pay an additional NZD$220 for extra guests on my stay due to a mistake when booking on Expedia. They were unwilling to let me leave to get to my scheduled activities or even to let me on the WiFi to figure out what happened, without paying. She assured me if the charge turned out to be in error I would get a refund of the appropriate amount if I contacted management via email. However, when I collected the receipts and found that I was indeed charged NZD$50 more than I should have been for extra guests as detailed in the booking agreement, I was unable to get any sort of response from hotel management to correct the error.

That being said, the cabin was full of great amenities, it was just not worth the cost with the lack of service (there is no room servicing—we had to take out our own trash and ask for things we needed), the limited WiFi, and staff we did not get along with. For the whole stay they always looked irritated when we asked for things, to the point that we made do when we were short on linen, towels, pillows and WiFi vouchers for our extra guests who we were now paying top dollar for--all to avoid having to talk to them again. Granted the extra charge did get us off on the wrong foot, so others may not have that problem.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from C C, General Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 29 Aug 2020
Fully understand it will be frustrating when you check in then was told you booked only for 2 people, not 5 people for a two-bedroom flat. Not sure why this mistake happened as you travelled a lot, should aware that accommodation charge based on how many guests stay in a unit and familiar with online agent website which you used. We always make sure the beddings are ready before check-in upon how many guests booked in. Sorry for the bedding delay for extra guests as in the evening we don't have housekeeper standby and the receptionist is busy for check-ins. Anyway, we apologize for the inconvenience that happened. We have asked our receptionists to give more clear explanations, handle the surprise more smoothly next time. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaeshae1982 wrote a review Feb 2020
Gisborne, New Zealand22 contributions
+1
On our travel back to the east coast of NZ (from Fiji) we stumbled upon this hidden gem. And may I add, we are happy we did. It's a little rough around the edges however it had everything we needed. Room for 5 of us and a kitchenette with shared facilities. It has three hot pools and a cold pool (which needs a bit of tlc) but did the job. Has a playground for the children and it even has it's own hangi pit to cook food in using the natural thermal steam. One of our highlights was hiring the shovels (you just put a refundable deposit down) to dig holes in the sand on the lake front (literally a hop, skip and a jump away) when you dig down and hit water it's hot 👀😮 this blew my mind. I stood with one foot in the cold lake and the other was in hot water in the hole I had just dug, amazing!! The staff are friendly here and the only downfall is the room we were in had no aircon and it must've been the hottest weekend in NZ when we stayed. The room did have a huge industrial fan though, but with that on full bull it sounds like your sleeping on the tarmac at a very busy airport.lol. but did we die?...No! would we go back? Yes we would.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from CosyCottage67, Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 10 Feb 2020
It was a pleasure to have you stay at the cosy cottage thermal holiday park and we appreciate your time to share feedback of your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were impressed by our on-site free facilities. As we 2-star holiday park so we don't have aircon in the rooms but we do provide extra fans upon guest request. Thank you once again for so highly recommending The team and I look forward to your continued visits and we assure you of our best service at all times. Thank you,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergsnz wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions
We booked the studio room which is downplayed on the website description. We were thrilled with it and pleased to find something when we booked last minute for the New Year period. We enjoyed a tender lamb roast we made in the steam oven. Facilities are well maintained . If we wanted to find a niggle, our shower did not have hot water and apparently a plumber was difficult to source over the holidays. We were happy with a cold shower or used very good main campground showers. It just would have been nice to have been told this on check in.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from CosyCottage67, Front Office Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Hi Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time our guests take to write these reviews. We are so sorry about the cold shower, luckily it was hot days so we all needed them, yes tradesmen are hard to find over these holidays because they are off holidaying too! :) Kirsty
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal555436 wrote a review Mar 2019
Wellington, New Zealand1 contribution
Really nice 2 bedroom room, clean and comfortable. Enjoyed the swimming pool and the hot pools and really liked the lake access. Would like to stay longer next time so that we could try the steam oven.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from CosyCottage67, Guest Relations Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 5 Mar 2019
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so pleased to hear you were satisfied with your stay. Our steam oven is extremely popular with our guests and we hope you come visit us again so you are able to try it!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous