We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Forster Court Hotel

Room/Suite (14)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
US$102
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$106
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Room review highlights
We had a lovely room with all the facilities that you would need. Ideally located next to Eyre Square so could not be more...
... Please take one thing from this and stop advertising certain refreshments/toiletries online and not having them in the room.
... very basic, tasteless interior, bit of a musty smell in the room, big bottle of shampoo-shower gel all in one on the wall,...
Most popular question about the rooms
Ca I get a refrigerator in my room for medication?
Answer from Danielle Clifford
Nov 2019 |
The room did not come with a mini fridge but I’m sure you can call the concierge and ask if they have one. I don’t see why not;...
Read more
Featured room amenities
See all room amenities (11)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Rosaleen O wrote a review 22 Sep
Cork, Cork, Ireland34 contributions6 helpful votes
We had a lovely room with all the facilities that you would need. Ideally located next to Eyre Square so could not be more central. The Hyde Gin bar is an experience to be enjoyed. The decor is unique and fun. Staff were very friendly. To be recommended.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Aisling L, Guest Services / Front Office at Forster Court Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Rosaleen, We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. At The Forster Court Hotel we take pride in providing a warm welcome and outstanding service, and it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments regarding your experience with us. I will certainly make sure to share your feedback with the rest of the team. In the meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest Regards Aisling Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollie G wrote a review 15 Sep
Dublin, Ireland4 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel was in a great location, 1 minute walk from Eyre Square.

Hotel doesn't provide parking, you need to park in a public multi-storey nearby which costs €12 per 24hrs, which means you can't take your car out to travel anywhere or it will cost you €12 again. There is a small side-street nearby, Frenchville Street. €2 p/h mon-sunday and works out ALOT cheaper if you find a space!

The hotel reception and bar itself was lovely- really nice decor in the Hyde Bar & Restaurant. The staff at front of house were pleasant also.

As for the breakfast in the Hyde bar, it states online and also whilst booking “Breakfast includes a wide selection freshly baked breads, cereals, crisp pastries and fruit”. Unfortunately this isn’t the case and we were really disappointed. We discovered this when we asked our server what the “continental breakfast” (which was written on the menu given to us) consisted of. He explained that there was none of the above being served because of COVID. I understand that many things have changed since COVID but please, take this down off the website as it is misleading and leaves very little options for breakfast. There were only 5 options on the breakfast menu… full irish fry, vegetarian fry, hot porridge, eggs and American pancakes. We requested apple juice on the first morning which was lovely. The second morning we also got apple juice which honestly tasted like apple flavoured water. Personally I do not think the breakfast is worth the extra money as of now given the current situation with such a limited menu.

The rooms… a step up from basic but that’s about it. As seen online there are Kerrygold Butter biscuits and ballygowan water in the rooms.. neither of these were provided and I don't see how there's any reason why this would be affected by COVID. There was also limescale on the exterior the the kettle. The view was shocking and so disappointing.. online there are rooms with lovely balconies etc and our view was of 4 walls.

The shades on all lamps were stained. Bed linen was nice and crisp but pillows more like bullets. We had an issue on the first night with our bed which led to an uncomfotable sleep but this was resolved the next day. The towels were nice and fluffy and white. As for the bathroom the shower/bath could most definitely do with an upgrade. The wood panel on the bath chipped and the paint peeling off, the same with the wood panel on the toilet. The toiletries are not the same as advertised on the website. There was no Paul Costelloe Linen toiletries or soap, instead it was a large some sort of organic bottle on the wall which was your shower gel and shampoo.

Overall, it's clean and fine if you are just looking for something basic to sleep in. All staff are pleasant. I would not rule out this hotel but it is most defenitely over-priced for what we got. I also agree with what others have said on here regarding price. It is not €6 cheaper as the prices on booking.com were still cheaper.
Please take one thing from this and stop advertising certain refreshments/toiletries online and not having them in the room.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Aisling L, Guest Services / Front Office at Forster Court Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Forster Court Hotel. Whilst I was pleased to see your positive comments about our hotel, from our amazing location to our wonderful team I am sorry to read that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations and only through this form of honest communication can we address any areas where we may not be fulfilling our potential. Your feedback is certainly valued and has been taken on board and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, as I would love the opportunity to showcase the hotel in its true light. Best regards, Aisling Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim84 wrote a review 7 Sep
Brussels, Belgium33 contributions20 helpful votes
The hotel is ok but not worth its rating and definitely not its price. The pictures on their website and the management pictures on TripAdvisor give a false impression. I can't say there are major issues, everything is just ok, but I wouldn't recommend it for that price. Everything is very basic, tasteless interior, bit of a musty smell in the room, big bottle of shampoo-shower gel all in one on the wall, ... Their policy "book with us and get the best price" isn't correct neither as they refused lowering their price to the one advertised on booking.com.
Once again, no major issues but bad value for money.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Aisling L, Guest Services / Front Office at Forster Court Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, I was very surprised to read your feedback on Tripadvisor and to have had no opportunity to have spoken with your during your stay regarding your dissatisfaction, as I would have valued the chance to receive your feedback in person. We are always available to speak with our Guests during their visit to rectify any service breakdowns and to ensure that they enjoy their visit or to speak with our Guests on departure regarding their feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit with us, your experience would certainly not be the usual of our Guests and we will certainly make every effort to offer a more consistent service to all our visitors. Kindest regards, Aisling Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel A wrote a review 7 Sep
1 contribution
We, 4 friends, stayed at the Forster Court for a long weekend in September. After talking to a member of the reservations team we were delighted to get a room with 2 double beds, however when we got there we were disappointed. The room was too small for 2 double beds, either one double or even a double and a single would have been a much better fit. With the 2 double beds in the room there was not much room for anything else.

Also there was a gap under the door to our room of about 4 inches that looked like the door was not fitted properly. The gap meant that were heard any movement in the hallway of our floor and the bright lights shone into our room, for this reason none of us slept very well. There was very little ventilation in our room, the window only opened a few inches and there seemed to be no ventilation fan in the bathroom which had no windows at all. For 4 people in one room it was not sufficient.

As part of our stay we had breakfast included in the Hyde restaurant which was very lack lustre and I would have begrudged paying for it. The food seemed as if it wasn’t freshly prepared or good quality and the service was extremely inconsistent. One morning we had toast brought out so early that it was stone cold before we got the rest of our breakfast. Another morning the waitress got some of our order wrong and then tried to play it off as “that’s just how we do it here” when we questioned it.

We ate in the Hyde Restaurant one evening during our stay to find again very inconsistent service. One waiter rolled his eyes at us when we tried to order and was quite rude in general. When we tried to get his attention to order some drinks he ignored us not just once but a number of times. We were left Sitting at our table trying to order for 40 minutes due to not wanting to get up from our table because of COVID 19. However when we finally got the attention of another waitress she was so accommodating and friendly and apologised for her colleague. I couldn’t praise her enough!

The hotel is in a great location and we all thought that with a few minor changes this hotel could be outstanding. If things stay as they are I would not stay again or recommend to a friend.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Aisling L, Guest Services / Front Office at Forster Court Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Rachel, Thank you for your review and I am very sorry to read that you were, so dissatisfied with your stay for the reasons you have addressed in your comments. We always value of Guests feedback and their feedback is always so much more effective when it is brought to our attention while the Guests is staying with us or on your departure. I appreciate that no Guest, wishing to encounter problems, while they are away trying to relax, but it is unfortunate that sometimes service breakdowns do happen. We are always very happy to assist our Guests and sort out any issues they may have during their visit. I feel confident that had you spoken with our Management team, we could have helped to make your stay more enjoyable. Your experience would certainly not be the usual experience of our Guests, as you will see for the vast majority of other Guest reviews. We are a 3 Star property but we always try to ensure we give our Guests the best possible service in all areas of the Hotel. I am sorry that we failed to meet your particular needs, during your recent stay with us. Thank you for staying with us, Warmest Regards, Aisling Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee P wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Fantastic service, lovely room and above all felt very safe in the current climate! Hyde Bar is a favourite spot of ours, so it helps it is connected to the hotel! We will most definitely be back soon!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Aisling L, Guest Services / Front Office at Forster Court Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, I wish to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments following your recent stay with us. I am so delighted to read that you were happy with the service and facilities of our Hotel during your visit. It was particularly nice to read that you enjoyed your time in our wildly popular HYDE bar & restaurant. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after you again on your next trip to Galway. Kindest regards, Aisling Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from Danielle Clifford
Nov 2019 |
The room did not come with a mini fridge but I’m sure you can call the concierge and ask if they have one. I don’t see why not; the service was excellent!
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1