We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at High Blean B&B

Room/Suite (8)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... is first class. Spotless and the extra touches in the room are great to. The view over Semer Water is stunning. The...
... sleep in the comfortable bed, lovely views from the bedroom across to Semer Water and delicious breakfasts to start...
... fire being lit just before we arrived each morning. The room was appointed to a high standard and the view out of the...
Featured room amenities
Housekeeping
Internet
Wifi
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
AllisonMcs wrote a review Jul 2020
7 contributions2 helpful votes
First time we have stayed with David and Suzanne. Lovely welcoming couple. The accommodation is first class. Spotless and the extra touches in the room are great to. The view over Semer Water is stunning. The breakfast is second to none. We will definately book to stay again. Thanks again for a lovely stay.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
keith a wrote a review Jul 2017
Leiston, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
Absolutely brilliant, David and Suzanne are perfect hosts every detail thought of, nothing too much trouble. Lovely tea and scones when we arrived. A good night's sleep in the comfortable bed, lovely views from the bedroom across to Semer Water and delicious breakfasts to start the day. lovely boiled eggs as well
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bleany, Owner at High Blean B&B
Responded 24 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay with us, this is very much appreciated. We are pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to have you as guests in our home. It was satisfying to read your positive comments about your stay and to learn that the "boiled eggs" hit the spot. In our minds, there is nothing finer than a boiled egg and buttered soldiers when the fancy takes you. Regards David & Suzanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rayreviewer wrote a review Apr 2017
Horsham, West Sussex178 contributions127 helpful votes
We have stayed in lots of B&Bs and small hotels over the years but nothing has surpassed our experience at High Blean. Right from the start we were made to feel at home with the excellent tea and scones on arrival. The breakfasts were terrific, beautifully cooked with lots of choice, and the added bonus of the open fire being lit just before we arrived each morning.

The room was appointed to a high standard and the view out of the window towards Semer Water was fantastic. Everything provided was good quality, the tea and coffee in the room was perfect with excellent filter coffee bags and multiple types of tea bags (both standard and decaffeinated). No dodgy cartons of UHT milk here either, a vacuum flask with fresh milk being provided daily. David and Suzanne were excellent hosts with lots of good advice on walks and places to visit. I can't recommend this highly enough.

The only thing to remember is that you need a car, as the location is quite remote with no pub or village in easy walking distance.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only 1 room has the view of the lake.
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Bleany, Owner at High Blean B&B
Responded 24 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay with us, your kind comments are very much appreciated. It is always satisfying to read guests have enjoyed their say with us and learn of the aspects of their stay guests valued. The feedback you provide is really helpful and aids us in our attempt to ensure we are able to provide the facilities guests expect and appreciate. While we are unable to change our location, we do appreciate we are in a secluded setting, but thank you for adding this to your feedback, as this can only help ensure a future guest does not book thinking we are in Askrigg, which is our postal address. Regards David & Suzanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbo80 wrote a review Sep 2016
44 contributions17 helpful votes
We stayed in room 2 and the view from the window was absolutely stunning, you got a fantastic view of the lake and the hill/mountain pass to Hawes.
The location was ideal, it is far enough away from the main roads (about 10 minutes down a single track road) but close enough to a local village for the shops (10 minutes to Bainbridge or 15 minutes to Hawes) so that you can enjoy pitch black nights in the quiet and explore the towns and villages in the day.
David and Suzanne are such warm and welcoming people, they also have fantastic knowledge of the local area and were always happy to help direct you to anything that might interest you, they were also so good with directions and recommended beautifully scenic routes.
The breakfast was the best I have ever eaten, proper breakfast sausages and bacon from the local butchers...I swear I put on a stone in 4 days :), They also accommodated my fussiness on food which was brilliant of them. I recommend you leave the award winning local jam alone at breakfast and go for David's blackberry or raspberry jam, you won't regret it.
The bed was so comfy, if you can't get a good night's sleep at High Blean then get to the doctors hehe. As a grade II listed building you would expect a bit of dust or cob webs about....not in Suzanne's house it was so clean and fresh I couldn't believe it. (well except if you leave the windows open during a storm and let a fly or two in....sorry Suzanne hehe)
All in all they were the perfect hosts, in the perfect b&b in the perfect location. We really cannot wait to book the next trip to High Blean.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 2 had amazing views and so cosy
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Bleany, Owner at High Blean B&B
Responded 27 Apr 2017
I would have sworn I wrote a response to the kind review you posted following your visit last year: apparently not. Mea culpa. It was very pleasing to read of the aspects of your stay you enjoyed and good to catch up with you when you visited again last week. Though we were not able to provide you with the spectacular electrical storm you had enjoyed on your visit last year. Regard David & Suzanne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noots83 wrote a review Sep 2016
Leeds, United Kingdom16 contributions6 helpful votes
We were lucky enough to book one of High Blean's two beautiful rooms for a last minute May bank holiday getaway, and we are so pleased we did. From being greeted on arrival with tea and home made scones on the patio, where we spent a happy hour in the sunshine enjoying the unbroken silence and watching the lambs and rabbits in the field opposite, to our comfortable room with amazing views over Semerwater, to what was quite possibly the best breakfast we have ever eaten in a B&B, this place was incredible, and David and Suzanne were welcoming, friendly and the perfect hosts. We're very much looking forward to visiting again sometime in the not too distant future!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Bleany, Owner at High Blean B&B
Responded 13 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and provide us with feedback. We were pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay at High Blean and it is really helpful to understand the particularly aspects of a stay that guest find important and appreciate. If you do manage to make it back to Raydaleside we look forward to welcoming you back to High Blean. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous