We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Catgill Farm - Camping and Glamping

Room/Suite (17)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
... in I was handed the keys, having paid the full price for the room and the security deposit the night before. Everything was...
... lovely time with amazing views from our tent! There's ample room to park your car. We even had a visit from a duck which is...
... and such a well thought-out queuing system for the wash-up room and showers. Plenty of firebaskets for hire and endless logs...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
victorialovesfood wrote a review 14 Sep
Leeds, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
Absolutely wonderful stay. The lodge was perfection and the location!
This was meant to be a romantic stay for me and my fiancé, to investigate the sites suitability for our wedding guests next year.
Upon check in I was handed the keys, having paid the full price for the room and the security deposit the night before. Everything was checked and cleared, we had an amazing night!
It was only after 10 days of chasing the return of the deposit and MULTIPLE calls to and from the site, that progress was made. The attitude of Oliver, (management) was absolutely appalling, as he scrutinised every transaction in my personal bank statement, telling me over and over again that I had to PROVE my security deposit was paid to them and repeatedly telling me I was wrong and he was right. I was a liar effectively. He also took no responsibility for his staff members and their many promises to call back and investigate.
Upon his investigation to their private payment company, he decided that actually I was correct and they owed me my security deposit back. Maybe if it was a smaller amount of money I wouldn’t have been so persistent, but it was £150 (the same amount as a stay at Catgill) He made a big point that this external company were going to send me a ‘big apology‘ when really I think the apology should have come directly from him! There was no mention of any sort of compensation, no offers for a discounted stay to change my now jaded opinion of them. It was more like ‘oh actually you’re right we do owe you money and have a great day!’
I’ve been left feeling very disappointed, disheartened and untrusting of Catgill farm. I’d suggest now to any previous customers to throughly check their bank statements as Catgill might well have taken money without your consent also.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Oliver Barker, Owner at Catgill Farm - Camping and Glamping
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Glamper, We are disappointed to read this review because we believed we had solved the security deposit issue by phone yesterday and sincerely hoped that our apologies would be accepted by you. A glitch in our booking software system, which is outsourced to a specialist company, was responsible in part for the confusion and the delay in returning your deposit. The delay was prolonged by incorrect and misleading information that you supplied to us. We apologised throughout the process for this confusion even though it was created by circumstances beyond our control and you also received a genuine apology from the booking software company. Unfortunately rare errors do occur, despite our best efforts, and we can only apologise when these happen.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schofield82 wrote a review 7 Sep
Oldham, United Kingdom8 contributions
We stayed over the weekend & had a lovely time with amazing views from our tent! There's ample room to park your car. We even had a visit from a duck which is very friendly & plays football too! Would definitely recommend Catgill.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Whippetsnoses wrote a review Aug 2020
Darlington, United Kingdom15 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Hadn't been camping for quite a few years now and was nervous about Covid, but this campsite was just fabulous. Lovely pitches, lovely views, super-friendly staff, plenty of clean toilets and such a well thought-out queuing system for the wash-up room and showers. Plenty of firebaskets for hire and endless logs for sale. Not sure if the highlight of our stay was the coffee shop with to-die-for pains au chocolat and croissants served warm out of the oven every morning or the resident lone camp duck, whose 'ferocious' quack could be heard coming out of the darkness at night time. My only regret was that I didn't have young children with me as this campsite was an absolute joy for young children who could roam freely and safely.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Katie wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I've heard a lot of good things about this campsite, so perhaps I came with too high expectations and was unfortunately left disappointed.

The campsite itself was very crowded. If this is what it's like with social distancing I wouldn't recommend going in "normal times." There were mixed messages about the need for face masks (you needed them for one shower/ toilet block but not the other...) and I was concerned about the lack of cleaning. The shared facilities only seemed to be done once a day - I stayed at another site in the Lakes where they were wiping down "touch points" at least once an hour...

There was only ever one person on check-in duty/ general enquiries/ hiring out fire pits. Hence we got a rushed check in which led to confusion and I think this is why people weren't aware of the Campsites covid-rules.

We were unfortunate with the weather and everywhere was extremely muddy. I've been on some campsites where they've put straw down to help with walk ways etc but nothing was done on this site which left the main pathways fairly slippy and dangerous.

As other people have noted, the car park area is a disaster. It's quite hilly, and so with added wet weather getting to the higher grass to park is near on impossible. There also isn't enough room for all the pitches, and I saw some campervans having to camp on the tarmac area as the grass was too muddy to enter and exit.

Fire pit hire is a nice touch, and definitely helped keeping warm. And it's a good location for Bolton Abbey etc but I can't say I'm eager to go back.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Oliver Barker, Owner at Catgill Farm - Camping and Glamping
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Camper, I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your visit, but I would like to respond to the points you have made. I can only apologise that your check in felt rushed, this is not our intention. In the current situation check in inevitably takes longer as we have additional procedures and safety measures in place. In order to speed up the process and ensure that all guests are completely aware of our Covid-19 strategy, we have produced a safety advice sheet, which is given to each party on check in so that everyone can read and refer to it during their stay. The rules are clearly set out on this sheet so no one on the site should be confused or unaware of how to behave safely and with consideration for others. Our Covid-19 safety measures are also stated on our website. The reason that we ask for masks in the main shower block is that there are up to 5 guests entering a shared space at any one time, whereas the Zooloos are completely enclosed units for one person only. We close all facilities twice a day for thorough cleaning, but our staff are always in and out wiping down and doing extra cleaning as necessary. We try to have 2 staff members in reception at busy times, one to check people in and the other to fetch logs and fire pits, transport luggage and answer queries, inevitably that staff member may be out of the office whilst performing these tasks. We have introduced a number of safety measures during the recent wet weather conditions. We have found alternative spaces for people to park safely and have prevented cars from entering the field to load and unload equipment to try and minimise the mud, instead we have transported guest’s luggage for them using our golf buggy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryony Louise wrote a review Aug 2020
12 contributions
+1
A lovely drive through the countryside to get to catgill Camping and glamping timber pods only twenty minutes from Ilkley for the nearest supermarket tesco and petrol station Texacon that is down the road. The camping field is on your right as you get in and the glamping pods where i stayed with five friends is passed reception. I had to carry my bags up the hill which was slightly steep but the pods were lovely there was two bunk beds a double bed and a double sofa bed and toilets inside as well as outside with showers are all covid 19 secure and guidline permitted .It has a hot tub that you had to heat with wood and fire which takes a few hours to heat when you first start but absolutely glorious sat in the hot tub with the view of the hills in the background it was very quiet. Even though it rained it didn't stop us staying in the hot tub whilst it rained as the temperature was lovely and hot it never put us off. Inside wae lovely and cosy with a TV and table to eat and play games . It has plus sockets that came in handy when we are all girls. There is a tree swing for kids to play on in the field. We had a lovely walk around bolton abbey that has been covid 19 secured and cornered off for peoples safety and allows correct 2metre distances 1metre if necessary . The glamping reception allows you to purchase fire wood for £30 or kinling wood for £12 and fire lighters for £2. There is a coffee shop on the complex and in the town the tea room very good for price and lovely food and a twenty minute walk to the devonshire arms brasserie and bar which served amazing food (beetroot starter, duck leg main and chocolate mousse for desserts (picture attached).
I am looking to book again .2020 already booked up as it's so relaxing .
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Previous
1234568