We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Okarito Kiwi Tours

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 53 The Strand, Okarito, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-753 4330
Website
Description:

Muliple Award Winners Okarito Kiwi Tours takes you deep into kiwi habitat...

Muliple Award Winners Okarito Kiwi Tours takes you deep into kiwi habitat looking for one of the rarest birds in the world.We are the only licenced operators on the South Island of New Zealand.We give you an impressive 98% chance of seeing a kiwi in the wild.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 88 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 75
    Excellent
  • 6
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Kiwis! !

Its not easy or expected to see kiwi in the wild. However our evening with Toby showed the whole group 1 bird from 2 metres and another from about 10. The second walked at us... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 days ago
markD6441XC
,
Kenmore
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Kenmore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Its not easy or expected to see kiwi in the wild. However our evening with Toby showed the whole group 1 bird from 2 metres and another from about 10. The second walked at us , sniffed the aur, stood up, & strolled away. Exceptional tracking skills and knowledge of the birds and area make Okarito Kiwi Tours exceptional at... More 

Helpful?
Thank markD6441XC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a really great evening with our group led by Toby in the bush at Okarito. He was really informative and we learnt lots of things about kiwis that we didn't know before. Just being out in the forest paying attention to every little movement and sound was great (especially the kea). It was a real privilege to see... More 

Helpful?
Thank NflashG
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ian and Toby have concession to take people into closed conservation area for rare Okarito Kiwi So after training us how to move quietly as group in the dark, ( no rustling clothes allowed) we stalk these shy nocturnal birds, using tracking device. Concentrated focused experience, rewarded by glimpses of bird and being about a metre from its very noisy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Devaflam
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This experience was one of a life-time.Ian was brilliant.It became apparent immediately this experience was to be the real deal What are the chances of a group of people being positioned on the track for a time and place kiwi encounter.With Ian's expertise,this happened not once but three times during the evening.A great experience for those with patience and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank hitchies
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this at quite late notice and Ian was very helpful when booking. I had a really great evening. This tour was one of the best parts of my trip on the South Island. Ian and Toby were very friendly and knowledgeable. Seeing a kiwi up close was an amazing experience. I have tried to look for a kiwi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maya918
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great tour and guides came within only a few feet of a Kiwi didn't quite see one. Oh and if your FILLING your CAR up go to Wateroa just above Okarito much cheaper than fox and Franz. Spread the world

Helpful?
Thank Dean M
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in a tour group and only heard about this a few days before I booked it. I was so glad that I did it. Our guide was very informative about Kiwis and the local wildlife. Because it was raining HE was happy to refund the money if we didn't see any kiwi. He made every effort to find... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeorgeFoord123
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had an exceptional experience on our Kiwi Tour with Ian..... The main purpose of the trip is obviously to find Kiwis but for me what really added to the trip was to experience the call of owls in the bush and just spending time looking at the stars..!! We did see 2 Kiwis which was really a highlight!!! Definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liezel D
OkaritoIan, Owner at Okarito Kiwi Tours, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It was a nice Valentines night trip. It was great to get the calls before we saw Joeline then Fancy hot on her heels ! More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

We were only in Okarito because of re-routing due to the earthquake We were out for about 3 hours with our guide. After our briefing and 'stealth, training we set off into the bush. What a great experience. After a couple of hours we started hearing Kiwi calls and then out of the blue 2 Kiwi appeared. we were told... More 

Helpful?
Thank jerrycr2017
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017

Knowledgable tour leader, interesting, and fortunately a kiwi up very close - but no guarantees and come prepared for long night. (based on feedback from my girls when they returned buzzing around midnight)

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
OkaritoIan, Owner at Okarito Kiwi Tours, responded to this review

Hi, I was pretty disappointed to receive a review from such a stunning night and only receive 4/5 stars ! This review was also from somebody who didn't come on the tour ! Ian Okarito Kiwi Tours More 

Travellers who viewed Okarito Kiwi Tours also viewed

Okarito, West Coast Region
Okarito, West Coast Region
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Okarito Kiwi Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Okarito Kiwi Tours and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Okarito Kiwi Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?