Hell's Gate Geothermal Reserve & Mud Spa

Hell's Gate Geothermal Reserve & Mud Spa, Tikitere: Hours, Address, Hell's Gate Geothermal Reserve & Mud Spa Reviews: 4/5

Hell's Gate Geothermal Reserve & Mud Spa

Hell's Gate Geothermal Reserve & Mud Spa
4
Nature & Wildlife Areas • Hot Springs & Geysers • Spas
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
New Zealand's only geothermal mud bath complex where visitors can immerse themselves in the silky smooth warm geothermal mud and sulphurous waters of the Hell's Gate Geothermal Reserve that have been used by the Maori for more than 700 years for healing and wellbeing. A unique iconic New Zealand visitor experience.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Admission tickets
from NZ$25.00
All you need to step foot in the door.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The area
Address
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Restaurants
1 within 5 kms
Attractions
3 within 10 kms
Popular mentions

4.0
1,908 reviews
Excellent
870
Very good
600
Average
265
Poor
102
Terrible
72

Jan-Marie W
Matamata, New Zealand3 contributions
We had a pleasant walk around the geothermal area, tried our hand at a bit of carving and then had covered ourselves in mud. The combination of mud and then sulphur pools was great. It was such a good time. Staff were helpful and friendly.
Written 24 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

greentiki23
3 contributions
Jan 2022
Very disappointed with what we got for the expensive entry fee, we have been to many hot pools and other mud spa's in NZ and this is no better. The whole complex of pools is pretty small area which surprised us. There is nothing special about Hell's gate but we were originally meant to have a twilight visit which would have been nicer but that was cancelled due to lockdown in August in Auckland. Don't be fooled there are other mud pools in NZ, Hell's Gate isn't unique.
Written 23 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

heather11252022
1 contribution
Jan 2022 • Family
We went to Hell's Gate last Saturday, the whole experience is great especially the mud pool brought lots of fun for my young girl!

My daughter locked my car key in the trunk after we finish, which made me feel extremely helpless. Fortunately, there was a lovely lady whose name is Tira Te Kiri , she called AA rescue for me using her membership because I was not sure if my membership getting expired or not. I really appreciate for Tira's help who helped me out and saved my day! Thanks for her kindness and generous heart which is far more beyond, she is the best!

Thanks again for Hell's Gate and their lovely staffs!
Written 19 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora heather11252022, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are so pleased you had a great experience at Hell's Gate! The mud bath definitely provides the perfect opportunity to have some muddy fun. We are happy to hear that Tira was able to help you with your car struggles, and we will make sure she gets the recognition she deserves. We would love to have you back again sometime soon! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 21 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

roowke2022
1 contribution
Jan 2022
Team was super friendly, we did both the baths and the tour on seperate days, mud baths was amazing would highly recommend taking a dip. Our tour guide was great gave us the full run down and put up with my dumb questions. was really cool hearing about the local history of the site and how it has evolved over time. Definitely worth a visit.
Written 18 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora roowke2022, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, it made our day! The guided tour is definitely worthwhile in finding out more about our geothermal landscape and history before bathing in the same healing muds and waters that were just observed. We will let the team know to keep up the good work, and hope to see you again soon! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 21 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

954catherine354
Hamilton, New Zealand1 contribution
Jan 2022
Average walk. Geothermal ok. Staff were nice and friendly. Toilets were clean although one was covered in a black bag to show out of order. Good idea!!
Written 17 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora 954catherine354, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we are pleased you had a nice walk at Hell's Gate. We would really hard to provide the best possible customer service, and are happy to see you received this during your visit. We hope to see you again soon! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 21 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lisamarie1818
1 contribution
Jan 2022
It was nice to have the experience but at the price it is we wouldn't go again. It was also way to busy which I understand in summer, but when you book 2 months in advance and then other groups get to go before you just bc they're bigger groups, well... that's a bit stink - literally 🙃 other than that the staff were super lovely and helpful
Written 16 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora Lisamarie1818, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we are so pleased to hear you had a nice experience at Hell's Gate and received the exceptional customer service that we are known for. We are sorry to hear however that you didn't feel as if your experience was value for money. During Summer we can have a waiting list for the mud baths, however these are based on first come first served basis and therefore we apologise if it appeared that larger groups were getting in before you. We will be investigating this further. We would love to have you back again sometime soon when we are no longer in peak period. Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 21 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Smrithi
Albany, New Zealand1 contribution
This was our first time at Hells Gate. The place was clean and the staff very friendly and accommodative. It took us some time to convince our son to leave the spa! Kudos to the team! Will definitely visit again.
Written 14 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora Escape39940575605, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are so pleased you had an one of a kind experience at Hell's Gate! We work really hard to provide the best possible customer experience and are happy to see you received this through our clean facilities and friendly staff. We will let the team know to keep up the good work, and look forward to seeing you at Hell's Gate again soon! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 21 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

karanrk
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
Jan 2022
A great experience had by all of us. Definitely recommended for once in a lifetime experience or visit again to double the experience.
Written 13 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora karanrk, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are so pleased you had a great experience at Hell's Gate! We would love to have you back again sometime soon. Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 21 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Fred R
5 contributions
Jan 2022
We all really enjoyed the mud baths and sulphur pools. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will be back again.
Written 7 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora fredroberts175, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are so pleased the whole family had a great experience at Hell's Gate! We work really hard to provide the best possible customer service and are happy to see you received this during your visit. We would love to have you back again when you're next in Rotorua! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 10 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

anaherarose
1 contribution
Jan 2022
We loved our visit. It wasn't super busy and the staff were lovely. I only wished we'd also taken the walk.
Written 7 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora anaherarose, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are so pleased you loved your experience at Hell's Gate! We would love to have you back again sometime soon to experience our geothermal walk, where you can witness and erupting waters and muds in their natural environment. We will let the team know to keep up the good work! Ngā mihi, The Hell's Gate Team
Written 10 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,802
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing