We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bewl Water

Open Now: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
A lovely place to walk but could be better

A couple of us arrived just before 9am on Saturday for a walk round the lake with my dog. We... read more

Reviewed 3 September 2018
ClareNic77
,
Hadlow, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good Family Outing

Great place for individuals or a family - good for cycling or walking or a picnic. Take a boat trip... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
John T
,
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Read all 463 reviews
158
All photos (158)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“water taxi”(17 reviews)
“bike ride”(11 reviews)
About
Bewl Water is the largest stretch of open water in the South East. The 800 acre site is set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, in the heart of the High Weald. Open all year, a visit to this stunning lake is fantastic family fun and great...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
Bewl Water Bewlbridge Lane, Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 8JH, England
Website
+44 1892 890000
Call
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
211
147
54
30
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
211
147
54
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi bike ride boathouse bistro water sports car park trout country lanes off road waters edge circular walk hired bikes lovely walk great place to visit boat house lovely spot toilet facilities ample parking
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Great place for individuals or a family - good for cycling or walking or a picnic. Take a boat trip across the lake. There is also a playground for the young children. Nice clean toilets. If you cannot take your own bicycles you can hire...More

Thank John T
BewlWater, Public Relations Manager at Bewl Water, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear John T, Firstly, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Bewl Water and many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review. I am so glad that you found there were plenty of activities to participate in,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family had lunch at the Bistro which was great. Lovely food and friendly staff. Then set off with the bikes and our dog on a ride along the reservoir. Perfect day out!More

Thank Sandra B
BewlWater, Public Relations Manager at Bewl Water, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sandra B, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent lunch at The Boat House Bistro and bike ride around the reservoir. I am so pleased that your day was the perfect Sunday afternoon. I will be sure to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's rather like being by a beautiful UK or Irish river estuary,very attractive.Lunch today was fish & chips in the clean cafe overlooking the water & it was fish & chips as good as it gets! Thanks.More

Thank mathtimms
BewlWater, Public Relations Manager at Bewl Water, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear mathtimms, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review regarding your recent visit to Bewl Water. I was pleased to learn that your enjoyed your lunch and found Bewl Water beautiful. I will be sure to share your comments with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went today for the first time. It’s a lovely peaceful place. Plenty of parking. £3 all day for the car. Toilets were clean - though poorly lit. There’s a cafe by the car park we didn’t use as taken a picnic. Unless you pay a...More

Thank SallyAnn M
BewlWater, Public Relations Manager at Bewl Water, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SallyAnn M, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent visit to Bewl Water. I was disappointed to learn that our facilities fell short of your expectations but I was glad that you found Bewl Water relaxing and beautiful....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Bewl Water today with a friend to pick our children up from school trip. We Thought we would have some lunch in the cafe before collecting them. We walked into the restaurant at around 12.10. No food was on show. We asked a...More

Thank Georgina B
BewlWater, Public Relations Manager at Bewl Water, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Georgina B, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent visit to Bewl Water. I was disappointed to learn that on this occasion the food and service you received fell short of your expectations. I will make sure your...More

Reviewed 8 September 2018

Visited some 10 years ago and really enjoyed it so, Being in the area, decided to visit again. Big mistake!. From the car park attendant right through to the restaurant staff not one 'please' or 'thank you'. Staff seemed totally disinterested in being polite. As...More

Thank OldandWizend
BewlWater, Front Office Manager at Bewl Water, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear OldandWizend, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We were disappointed to learn that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations regarding the food and service you received. We will certainly share your experience with our Front...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

A couple of us arrived just before 9am on Saturday for a walk round the lake with my dog. We couldn’t find anyone to pay for parking despite a sign on the way in advising us to pay at the cafe. There was no one...More

1  Thank ClareNic77
BewlWater, Public Relations Manager at Bewl Water, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear ClareNic77, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Bewl Water. Firstly may I say that I am sorry our facilities fell below your expectations on this occasion. However, I am glad that you had a lovely walk and found...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Large resovoir set in lovely countryside of East Sussex. Bikes for hire. Boat trips across the resovoir. Marked route of 13 miles around the resovoir. Great to walk or cycle round with the family. Lovely views across the water. Good parking.More

1  Thank cmreesha
BewlWater, Public Relations Manager at Bewl Water, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear cmreesha, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent visit to Bewl Water. I am so glad that you enjoyed everything about your visit and felt there was lots to do. I will look forward to sharing your comments...More

Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Came here Bank Holiday Monday. A group of 9 (3 were teenagers.) we walked anti clockwise (in hindsight maybe clockwise might have been the better way route.) We thought we were literally walking around the edge of the reservoir, how wrong were we!! We walked...More

Thank 5LittleCherubs
BewlWater, Public Relations Manager at Bewl Water, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear 5LittleCherubs, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Bewl Water. I was so pleased to learn that your party of 9 enjoyed your Bank Holiday walk with us. I will take great pleasure when sharing your feedback with the...More

Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

I'm not sure how long Bewl Water have been allowing camping but I suspect it hasn't been for very long due to its lack of facilities and an understanding of what most people like/expect from a proper campsite. This isn't a proper campsite. It's some...More

Thank Yorksh1re_Pudd1ng
BewlWater, Public Relations Manager at Bewl Water, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Yorksh1re_Pudd1ng, Thank you for your feedback regarding your camping experience with us - we do truly appreciate feedback from our guests. May I first of all say how very sorry I am that you left Bewl Water less than satisfied with the services you...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Lime Tree Inn
27 reviews
2.06 km away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
685 reviews
4.27 km away
T & J Motel
26 reviews
5.33 km away
Star & Eagle Hotel
180 reviews
5.86 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 12 nearby restaurants
The Boat House Bistro
84 reviews
.71 km away
The Vineyard Restaurant
609 reviews
1.42 km away
Scotney Castle Tearoom
166 reviews
1.54 km away
Brown Trout Inn
290 reviews
1.29 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 6 nearby attractions
Scotney Castle Garden
1,390 reviews
1.07 km away
Bluecaps Llamas
30 reviews
1.56 km away
Arena Pursuits
8 reviews
3.08 km away
Go Ape Bedgebury
186 reviews
4.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Hollie T
27 July 2018|
Answer
Response from gavlar778 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure to honest. Just be aware of the possibility of blue algea. A few dogs have died there this year
0
Votes