We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fiddler's Green Vineyard & Bistro

Waipara, New Zealand
More
About Fiddler's Green Vineyard & Bistro
A boutique vineyard and Mediterranean style wine tasting cellar and bistro. The Tasting room showcases Fiddlers' Green Vineyard's wine & several local vineyards that don't have their own tasting room. You can't get them anywhere else. Founded in 1994m the Bistro specializes in fresh, seasonal dishes paired with Waipara's Finest wines, Local craft beers & premium liquors.
Read more
Travellers talk about

Fiddler's Green Vineyard & Bistro
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
50Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 3
  • 7
  • 6
  • 4
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ben M wrote a review 8 May
Auckland Central, New Zealand6 contributions1 helpful vote
Very disappointing, ripped off for poorly prepared and misrepresented food, charged $12 for a jug of water. No atmosphere. I would rather support a business that pays its taxes too
Read more
Date of experience: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Janeen W wrote a review Apr 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand46 contributions49 helpful votes
We came for lunch over the Easter break. We ordered the wine tasting which consisted of approximately 7 wines. As with all tastings the glasses were small but unfortunately so was the amount of wine in each glass, hardly enough to taste. 15ml at the most and it was very inconsistent as we saw other tastings coming out that had a lot more wine in them. We ordered lunch which came to the table in drips and drabs. I had ordered the duck a l’orange. It arrived at the table and was very cool, not hot at all. The duck was over cooked and hard to eat with all the bones, the sauce was over reduced and one slice of unappealing orange plopped on top. I won’t talk about the vegetables as these very very unappealing. My friends did say they enjoyed there food although there was complete lack of presentation with all meals. I could carry on but I would not like to write more bad comments, except for the fact that the food was overly expensive for the quality.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin R, Owner at Fiddler's Green Vineyard & Bistro
Responded 4 weeks ago
the wine tasting you must have had way 8 wines that were presented in wine tasting glasses with ample amounts for tasting. It is not presented to be a substitution for ordering a glass. it's to taste the wine and learn about the vineyard and region. The duck is a half duck on the bones as most ducks are, i have yet to see duck in Canterbury otherwise. so the bones gripe , begs to question? the sauce is a orange sauce and the orange rind and slice is decoration. I am sorry that you were not happy with your experience. Please in the future let the business know so that they may resolve the issue and make your meal more enjoyable. Thank you for your patronage.,
Read more
ranga50 wrote a review Mar 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
You charged us $40 to stay in our Campervan on your property. At 8.00 am next morning your gates were locked and we couldn’t get out and no one around to make contact with.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin R, Owner at Fiddler's Green Vineyard & Bistro
Responded 4 weeks ago
You were told when you paid for the Freedom Camping that the gates are shut at night and would be open at 8:00 am the next day. Also, that if you needed anything that you could call the owner and were given his cell number. The gates are closed after the bistro closes for the night around 11pm and opened in the morning to stop anyone not staying on the premises access for your safety and keep the vineyard secure.. Thank you
Read more
Inspire90907 wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Such ashame that food and service has deteriorated since our last visit. Like chalk and cheese. Food in our opinion along with another couple was not fresh and tasteless Unfortunately today's experience would have me not recommending this winery. The business needs to look at reviewing their business. 😥
Read more
Date of experience: January 2022
Helpful
Share
midinah wrote a review Jan 2022
Tauranga, New Zealand2 contributions
Overpriced and food basically not fresh and at $46 a main disgraceful. Could not recommend to anyone. $17 desserts were very poor and again not freshly made on site
Read more
Date of experience: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Colin R, Owner at Fiddler's Green Vineyard & Bistro
Responded 3 Jan 2022
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. all the ingredients are fresh and locally sourced and each dish is prepared individually with the freshest fruit & stock daily. I am sure that you know food prices & labor costs have increased drastically this year with all the shortages and supplies issues. we try to keep the costs down and the quality up, but some of the increases have to be marked into our prices. This is industry wide. Thank you for your comments. Please in the future contact us directly when we ask you how your meal was? So that we can correct and issue right away . That way you can enjoy your meal and we can resolve any potential issue on the spot. This is the main reason we always ask our customer after they started eating if they enjoyed the meal? we call it a meal check. Because mistakes do happen and a quick resolution works out better for all concerned. Thank you
Read more
Previous
123456