Ōpuke Thermal Pools And Spa

Ōpuke Thermal Pools And Spa

Ōpuke Thermal Pools And Spa
4.5
10:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 7:30 PM
About
Ōpuke Thermal Pools and Spa is the latest wellness destination in Methven Canterbury, just an hour out of Christchurch City. Arrive and be transported to your own oasis in our beautiful facility, experience something new with our incredible solar powered pools. Our Tranquility Pools offer an adult-exclusive experience, soak and unwind surrounded by superior views across the foothills of the Southern Alps. Indulge at the swim up bar, the Tranquility Bar & Eatery offers you an exclusive pool side canape and beverage service. For those wanting to connect with a more family friendly bathing experience, you can explore our Discover Pools. Find your inner child with our crazy river and leap of faith plunge pool, or slow down the pace and take refuge in our iconic star lit caves and relaxation pools. Ōpuke Thermal Pools and Spa Sourced from the Mountains, Powered by the Sun.
Duration: More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • Cris O
    Concord, California16 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Opuke Pools relaxation
    The three of us went to Opuke pools to end a 10 day road trip. We recommend making a reservation for massage in advance for they did not have extra time slots for all three of us. BUT we managed to get the birthday lady in for a massage. The staff was kind and helpful. They were available when when needed. I think I had more fun Lydia, was a generous and very kind staff member. She was great to have around and converse with! I highly recommend making this pit stop.
    Hi Cristofer, thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you had a lovely time visiting our facility! Thank you so much for the feedback and comments I will pass these on to the team.
    Written 19 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited February 2023
    Written 12 March 2023
  • Maria Lee
    6 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Enjoyed very much
    Loved the Opuke pools but felt the price for the private pools a little bit expensive for what you got. Staff helpful and friendly. Disappointed that was wasn't a cool water pool to relax in after the hot tub. Enjoyed my glass of bubbles in the barside pool. Great they supplied robes and towels. My husband was a little peeved by the cashless stance. But overall enjoyed it and would like to come back in the future, maybe for a girls weekend.
    Hi Maria, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. I appreciate the feedback and I will pass your feedback/suggestions on to the team.
    Written 19 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Written 17 March 2023
  • KDUB7
    Washington209 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Relax……
    I’m relaxing just thinking about it! We booked a private hot tub, and enjoyed that plus the other pools. It was a gorgeous autumn day, so couldn’t be better, with Mt Hutt in the background and sunshine all around. We enjoyed the personal service at the hot tub, and having the freedom to experience all the other pools also. Two hours was just about enough time for it all LOL. I think if we’d booked the four-hour block, I wouldn’t have been able to move! We thought it would be interesting to be there during horse racing - I don’t know if they’re open during those times, but what elegance, to sit in the hot tub and watch the races! Opuke is exceedingly clean, relaxed, and friendly. We really enjoyed our experience!
    Kia ora! Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. I am so glad to hear your enjoyed exploring everything we have to offer. Also, you are right - it certainly is exciting to visit during the horse racing! We would love to have you visit us again :)
    Written 16 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 10 April 2023
  • rose j
    Wellington, New Zealand16 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Relaxing way to spend a couple of hours on a rainy day!
    Lovely set out hot pools using solar power. Great facilities that are well set out, with lockers, spin-dry for swimming outfits, and hair dryers. It was nice to have adults only section that incl a bar. We paid for the solar tub which was actually great on a rainy slightly cold day - and a robe and towel were incl in price.
    Hi Rose, thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us - we hope to see you back again sometime!
    Written 16 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 15 April 2023
  • Janet Hinman
    Rangiora, New Zealand3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Autumn evening soak, just perfect!
    Evening visit, just perfect with young children. Lazy river and cave with glow-worm styled lighting. Noodles to float littlies without them being out of the water getting cold. Pools are large enough for adults to sit and relax while children can swim. Facilities are stunning, clean and modern. Entry is well organised with separate portals for checking in - remember to book! 2hr sessions are very adequate (we lasted 1.5hrs). We enjoyed the Discovery Pools with family - again just perfect.
    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are so glad to hear you had a lovely time visiting our Discovery Pools and exploring all the different features of the experience :)
    Written 31 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Written 14 May 2023
  • Kb
    Christchurch, New Zealand5 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great couple of hours
    Great activity on a rainy Canterbury day. We did 2 hours in the discovery pools with the kids and at times were just about the only ones in there. Water was lovely and warm. Signage was really clear about water depths and lifeguards were happy to have a chat
    Thank you for your review Kate, it certainly is a nice activity to keep everyone entertained on a rainy day. We hope to have you visit again soon :)
    Written 31 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 20 May 2023
  • Josheta
    90 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    OPUKE THERMAL AND SPA
    We took the spa side, the other side is family friendly. Our experience was fantastic. Swim up bar and order drinks and food. They bring out to a floating tray and you can take it to your secluded corner and feast. There are a maze of tunnels grottos with sparl;ing lights seats in the water and the temperature was perfect. We went evening so the steam made it even more beautiful as you could sit in the grotto and not be seen but enjoy the twinkling lights. The changing rooms were beautifully clean and a spin dry for wet clothing. m Also a very nice cafe on site too.
    Good morning Josheta, thank you for taking the time to share a review! It sounds like you had a lovely time experiencing everything the Tranquility Pools has to offer. We really appreciate your positive feedback!
    Written 31 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Written 29 May 2023
  • Josh
    8 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fantastic facilities and experience!
    This was such a great way to end our holiday! Easily the most impressive thermal spa that I have been to. Highly recommend the private solar tub where you can have a waiter deliver your food and drinks, and then you also have access to the remainder of the facilities. The facilities were extremely well kept and tidy! Our waitress (Bex) was so lovely!
    Thank you for your review Josh! We really appreciate the positive comments and are so pleased that you were impressed by what we have on offer. We would love to have you visit again!
    Written 31 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 1 June 2023
  • J D
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Simply Beautiful experience
    What a wonderful, relaxing experience. Simply stunning surroundings and what a view!! Facilities were so lovely, clean and had all the little touches like hair-dryers and bathing suit wringers. The addition of robes and towels was very welcomed. We had the Adults only experience and enjoyed the swim up bar. The food and staff were fantastic too !! The manager invested the time to chat with us and even gave us a little tour of the spa area. We are from Australia and will be back here often!!
    Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we have to agree, the view is unreal! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience visiting us, especially noticing all the little touches. We look forward to having you visit again when you are next in NZ!
    Written 31 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 15 June 2023
  • Tour16335044336
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A piece of heaven - tranquility pervades at Ōpuke Thermal Pools & Spa
    An actual must visit attraction! We had the private solar pool followed by a couples room hot stone massage. From the easy booking to the warm welcome greeting and explanation we loved this. Fountains on in the tranquility pool within the adults only section. Twinkly cave hot pool and all with a back drop of the snowy mountains. We had food and drink ordered which came to us in our pool on a floating wicker tray all with cutlery plates and serviettes. Then you can swim in the adults only tranquility pool with a swim up bar. It was heaven. We then finished our visit with a couples room hot stone massage executed to perfection with the lovely Bec’s and Catherine. After an hour long pampering and feeling so relaxed it was time for a chill in the relaxing room with complimentary tea and water whilst staring at the mountains. The changing rooms are immaculate with hairdryers, body wash in showers and your own robes and towels provided .Great job Ōpuke - been searching for something of this caliber for a while. Yes may be more money than Hamner but this isn’t about the masses this is about an experience, a destress and a present to yourself. Will be back and will make this an end of each term visit as lots of treatments to experience. ( As it was school hols we avoided the discovery pools) but really well managed and calm pervaded the entire complex. Fantastic experience highly recommend thanks Ōpuke we will be back. Please extend to have your own accomodation I really would have liked to stay after my massage and not driven home then I too could have had champagne in the solar pool! Maybe even add a few cocktails to the menu please! ( I know there is accomodation in the village but on site would be the crème de la crème!) Congratulations Ōpuke a hidden piece of paradise that we really selfishly don’t want to share! Liz & Becs
    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your experience as a review. We really appreciate the positive feedback and comments you have shared. I am so glad to hear you had such a lovely time both in the pools and in our day spa, and are excited to know that you are planning to make this a once a term trip! We look forward to having you visit again :)
    Written 31 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 13 July 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles51 reviews
Excellent
38
Very good
4
Average
3
Poor
3
Terrible
3

leigh lee
Perth, Australia285 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Friends
What a beautiful complex.. four of us ladies had an amazing time, weather was perfect, pools were so inviting even the cold plunge pool and the staff were spot on.. big shout out to the wonderful Lydia (pretty sure that was her name), for being such a breath of fresh air and engaging to all (she even took some snaps of us all).. will be back..
Written 25 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

kerska
Napier, New Zealand2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Couples
Great pools and amazing view - we were there for an evening session and watched the sunset. The staff were very attentive and helpful, couldn’t rate their work higher. Will be back!
Written 24 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

mogman5139
Christchurch, New Zealand78 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2023 • Couples
This is a 5 star experience. Fantastic facilities, really good reasonably priced food. The staff are first class. I will be returning to here again and again and again.
Written 9 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your amazing review, we're delighted to hear you had a 5 star experience and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Written 11 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SERGE G
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 • Family
I usually skip writing reviews, but this time i just have to.. IF you want to be upset overpriced pools, and a littlr pool wich you not allowed to leave, dealling with rude staff and manager and have your kids birthday present flush down the toilet then go and visit this place.. THIS IS THE WORST BUSINESS EVER.. HATE IT
Written 14 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia ora, We are sorry that you felt disappointed by our product. We appreciate all feedback and ensure we use it to improve the customer experience going forward. At Ōpuke we seek to host our customers to the highest quality of service, but we do not tolerate any form of verbal abuse (such as swearing) towards our staff, which unfortunately occurred in this instance. Regardless, we will learn from this experience by ensuring all messaging to manage customer expectations of our product offerings is extremely clear. Ngā mihi nui
Written 14 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Venture309513
Auckland, New Zealand8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 • Couples
This pool complex is outstanding with its variety of different pools. The lazy river was fun. We would highly recommend a visit. The pools and staff are fabulous. Fantastic for relaxation in beautiful surroundings. The cafe is also worth a visit. We went for the 10am session during the week and found only a few people in the pools which made it even more relaxing. We liked the swimwear spinner to mostly dry them afterwards.
Written 11 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia ora! Thank you for your amazing review. We're so happy to hear you had a great time at Ōpuke and hope to welcome you back again soon. Ngā mihi nui
Written 12 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SP03
Andover, UK45 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Couples
We had a solar tub at the pools as a present. When we got there we did think that 2 hours would be more than enough however we asked if we could add on another session which we then did as very reasonably priced.
We have been to Hanmer Springs and were expecting a similar set up but it was nothing like Hanmer. It’s quite small and of course not natural springs but solar heated. However it was so clean everywhere and we were given 2 robes and towels each. The changing rooms were really clean. The food and drink was excellent and a good price.
We went on a sunny day and the views of the snowy mountains were amazing.
But what made it for us was lovely Tokyo. She could not do enough for us and was rushing everywhere. A lovely lady, thank you for making our afternoon even better.
Written 25 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're pleased to hear you had a 5-star experience and hope to welcome you back again soon. Ngā mihi nui
Written 12 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sam
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Couples
I was really looking forward to enjoying the Opuke hot pools and their poolside food service. The day was quiet with few visitors, and the pools were fantastic. However, the customer service could definitely use some improvement.

While we were at the pools, we ordered drinks at the poolside bar. They let us know that if we wanted food, we had to place our order 30 minutes before our allocated time slot ended.
We joined the queue 5 minutes prior to this cutoff, but the person attending the bar was briefly absent. By the time she finished serving the person ahead of us, we were just a minute past the deadline and were informed we couldn't place a food order.

This was pretty disappointing and upsetting for us because we were really excited about the poolside dining experience. We had to leave the pool and talk to the lady at the front desk. She offered to place the food order for us, but it wasn't exactly the experience we had in mind. We decided that we didn't want to spend any more money there.
Written 23 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia ora Sam, It's great to hear you thought the pools were fantastic but we are very sorry to hear that your expectations weren't met with regards to our customer service. At Ōpuke, we strive to deliver the highest quality experience possible, so it's disappointing to hear this feedback. We had tried to remedy the situation as you've mentioned and will ensure we learn from your experience going forward. Ngā mihi nui
Written 12 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Radichs
Wellington, New Zealand182 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Couples
Third visit to this amazing pool complex. Everything is pristine & clean and a really enjoys relaxing experience. We did the tranquility soak and enjoyed the swim up bar which has food options too.
Written 12 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the 5 stars, we're so pleased to hear that you've now had 3 wonderful experiences. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Written 10 September 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tour16335044336
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Friends
An actual must visit attraction! We had the private solar pool followed by a couples room hot stone massage. From the easy booking to the warm welcome greeting and explanation we loved this. Fountains on in the tranquility pool within the adults only section. Twinkly cave hot pool and all with a back drop of the snowy mountains. We had food and drink ordered which came to us in our pool on a floating wicker tray all with cutlery plates and serviettes. Then you can swim in the adults only tranquility pool with a swim up bar. It was heaven. We then finished our visit with a couples room hot stone massage executed to perfection with the lovely Bec’s and Catherine. After an hour long pampering and feeling so relaxed it was time for a chill in the relaxing room with complimentary tea and water whilst staring at the mountains. The changing rooms are immaculate with hairdryers, body wash in showers and your own robes and towels provided .Great job Ōpuke - been searching for something of this caliber for a while. Yes may be more money than Hamner but this isn’t about the masses this is about an experience, a destress and a present to yourself. Will be back and will make this an end of each term visit as lots of treatments to experience. ( As it was school hols we avoided the discovery pools) but really well managed and calm pervaded the entire complex. Fantastic experience highly recommend thanks Ōpuke we will be back. Please extend to have your own accomodation I really would have liked to stay after my massage and not driven home then I too could have had champagne in the solar pool! Maybe even add a few cocktails to the menu please! ( I know there is accomodation in the village but on site would be the crème de la crème!) Congratulations Ōpuke a hidden piece of paradise that we really selfishly don’t want to share! Liz & Becs
Written 13 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to share your experience as a review. We really appreciate the positive feedback and comments you have shared. I am so glad to hear you had such a lovely time both in the pools and in our day spa, and are excited to know that you are planning to make this a once a term trip! We look forward to having you visit again :)
Written 31 July 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

AlfonsoDelgardeo
Moana, New Zealand68 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Couples
Very well done hot pools experience. Lovely building and setting. The tranquility pool is great being 18+ and the limit on numbers means no crowding. Novel to be able to order food/drinks while you’re being slowly cooked in 39.5oC water.
Written 26 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia ora Alfonso, thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and hope to have you visit again soon!
Written 31 July 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 51
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

ŌPUKE THERMAL POOLS AND SPA: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ōpuke Thermal Pools And Spa

Ōpuke Thermal Pools And Spa is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 AM - 7:30 PM


Restaurants near Ōpuke Thermal Pools And Spa: View all restaurants near Ōpuke Thermal Pools And Spa on Tripadvisor