We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Samlesbury Hall

Features Animals
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Lunch time visit

Been here many times over the years and we are never disappointed. Just a shared sandwich, chunky... read more

Reviewed yesterday
John T
,
Preston, United Kingdom
A wonderful vist

We visited as a small group whilst visiting the area. Ian brought the history of the hall to life... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
54Ian54
,
Worcester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 713 reviews
331
All photos (331)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“wedding venue”(26 reviews)
“free tour”(9 reviews)
“for sale”(26 reviews)
About
Built in 1325 Samlesbury Hall is steeped in fascinating history, retaining its original typical black and white exterior, the Hall is almost equidistant between Blackburn and Preston, yet retaining a rural feel. Saved from demolition in the 1920’s...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Samlesbury Hall Preston New Road, Samlesbury PR5 0UP, England
Website
+44 1254 812010
Reviews (713)
Filter reviews
713 results
Traveller rating
460
170
52
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
460
170
52
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuefree tourfor saleguided tourtreasure huntshepherds hutsinteresting historysmall animalsfree entrygift shopentrance feechildren's play areabeautiful buildingafternoon teahistoric househeritage centrefire pit
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 713 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Been here many times over the years and we are never disappointed. Just a shared sandwich, chunky chips and drinks but very happy with quality of our meal and service. So much so we are booking for Christmas! This is a beautiful Hall and we...More

Thank John T
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We visited as a small group whilst visiting the area. Ian brought the history of the hall to life with his knowledge and anecdotes. We spent a morning there followed by a delicious lunch. I have to say the quality of the food and service...More

Thank 54Ian54
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited here with my two boys age 4&5 towards the end of the school holidays. They thoroughly enjoyed looking around the house and loved the fact they could play the piano and interact with some of the items on show. The park absolutely made it...More

Thank GillCallaghan83
Sharon J, General Manager at Samlesbury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your lovely review Why not treat them to an overnight stay in our shepherds huts ( they can have the top bunk!) Fire pits ... bbqs .. toasting marshmallows under festoon lit sky Or just come back for a play again .....More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Hall is lovely and talk really interesting, well done king Henry. Shepard huts comfertable and very warm, but could do with fire it and outside seating for each hut as if people want to cook at similar times not enough at moment. Overall a different...More

Thank ddbrross
Sharon J, General Manager at Samlesbury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your constructive comments. Taken on board and we will sort. See you soon hopefully

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We held a close family funeral reception here today and as a heartbroken relative I have to say I was disgusted with the food we received we paid well and was served utter rubbish!! It is shocking to think they would find that level of...More

Thank emmawood1982
Sharon J, General Manager at Samlesbury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello I am sorry that you felt the sandwiches were stale. When you brought it to our restaurant managers attention she immediately took them into kitchen and after the chefs and front of house tested some, they found all to be fresh and moist. They...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Despite passing often I had never visited the hall before going to the dinner. The venue is breathtaking in its architecture, large enough to absorb over a 100 but cozy enough to create superb atmosphere. Attentive staff could not do enough for us. The food...More

1  Thank halesrush
Sharon J, General Manager at Samlesbury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello That is a wonderful review thank you very much. We don’t have the buying power of large hotels for our bar so we pay more before we put our margin on. But please be assured that all of our profits go right back into...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enoyed our first visit to Samlesbury Hall, this place has a lot to offer. Arriving at lunchtime we started off in the restaurant where the food and service were very good indeed. Great menu, piping hot food, not overpriced and a lovely atmospheric dining room....More

1  Thank K5303JCjulied
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to the free witches of Salmsbury tour, didn't have high expectations, how wrong I was, absolutely brilliant tour guide who played the part of a witch giving the tour, totally in role with great wit and humour

Thank djssniper
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A wonderful idea and if properly set up as some were in our party then adequate for a nights stay. However if you encounter problems as we did such as: A bed short. There were only three instead of the required four Heating that had...More

Thank linmacQatar
Sharon J, General Manager at Samlesbury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Linda What a shame .... my team ( please see the other reviews) are known for their helpfulness... and lovely manner. We do remember you very well. We tested the water and the heating ... both were working. Had you called any of the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The children loved the Hall and its interesting history then we had an excellent lunch in the restaurant. They then loved the Mayflower ship in the playground before visiting the animals including honey tasting in The Bee Centre. We then returned for ice cream, etc...More

Thank wood55
Sharon J, General Manager at Samlesbury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so happy that you had a nice day. It’s also great to see that you enjoyed our food, please come back soon. Maybe the children would love a stay in one of our shepherds huts?

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
3jays
2 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Angie K | Reviewed this property |
No you need to take your own
1
Vote
Hudds71
31 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sharon J | Property representative |
Hello So sorry we don’t We are looking at loaning out cool boxes ! But we don’t quite have them just yet
1
Vote
Perky25
25 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Heather A | Reviewed this property |
No it's all included and very comfy it is too :)
0
Votes