We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre

#1 of 5 Outdoor Activities in Masterton Features Animals
85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
+64 6-375 8004
Website
Save
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$14.79*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk. If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good30%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“white kiwi” (125 reviews)
“kiwi house” (49 reviews)
“kaka” (83 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 16:30
LOCATION
85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 6-375 8004
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2016

Really nice park with forest loose flying birds and in cages some hikes to.Nice feeding demonstrations with a good talk about the animals. Also Kiwis.

Thank thayfood
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thanks for writing such a lovely review of Pukaha - we're pleased that you feel we are the best park in New Zealand!

Reviewed 26 July 2016

Kaka feeding was a special experience, along with seeing the eels, Kiwi, and the blue ducks in the new free flight enclosure

Thank jwhite6
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Thank you for writing a review of Pukaha - great to hear that you had such special experiences with us

Reviewed 25 July 2016

View the Takahe boys and have a personal singalong with a North Island Kokako. Great for the kids and oldies as well. Beautiful bush walks - see large variety of native NZ trees. Cafeteria open here and ample parking. Located 30 odd km north of...More

Thank Bluemtns2777
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thanks very much for your lovely review. Lovely to know that you enjoyed your visit with us

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Food could be better... Nothing amazing. Pie was just microwaved and soggy. Little over priced for what you got. Staff weren't that friendly but was easy to get food if you have kids... The park was pretty cool and worth the visit.More

Thank Ayla H
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha. Sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience in our cafe. Our pies are meant to be finished in the oven to ensure the pastry isn't soggy and I've had a...More

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Wonderful visit and the kids had a blast. Birds everywhere, engaging environment, wouldn't recommend the food particularly - but average definitely. Feeding the eels was an experience!More

Thank Dwight L
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha, it's really appreciated. Please to hear that you had a great time with us - and yes, we certainly agree that feeding the eels is a great experience and we love to share this...More

Reviewed 14 July 2016

We had a great time - family friendly day out. Lovely bush clad walk - lots of birds and make sure you visit the eels. Nice patio area for a coffee in the sun

Thank Outriggernz
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thanks for your lovely review - so pleased to hear that you had a great day with us

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Fantastic, family friendly day out. We saw so many birds, easy trails to walk, pram friendly. Will be coming back often.More

Thank Catherine N
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon! Make sure you talk with the team when you next come about an annual membership - if you do intend to become a regular...More

Reviewed 2 July 2016

Stopped here for about two hours and had a great time. The staff was very friendly and informative and the walk was gorgeous. It is a bit out of the way, but so worth the visit, especially to sit on the terrace after your walk...More

Thank Kim H
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Pukaha. We do encourage all our visitors to check out at least one of our daily talks and our rangers certainly know their birds! And they love to share this knowledge with our visitors too. Yes, we...More

Reviewed 23 June 2016

Truly amazing place, great people, great food, reasonable prices. You need to take time out and visit this place as there is so much to see. Watch the 80 year old eels being fed and you can volunteer to feed them yourself. Excellent information from...More

Thank B N
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Pukaha - what lovely comments. So nice to hear that you really enjoyed visiting with us and we do hope that you can come back again soon.

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

Great coffee and muffins. Nice to stop and look out at wild life. Great to walk around park especially afternoon feeding times- walk off the lunch. Good easy family friendly place to visit.

Thank tasterv
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thank you very much for your lovely review - it's great to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ten O'Clock Cookie Bakery Cafe
177 reviews
25.60 km away
Addiction
12 reviews
10.03 km away
Cafe Strada
178 reviews
25.65 km away
Lone Star Cafe Masterton
93 reviews
25.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Middleton Model Railway
14 reviews
10.33 km away
The Alpaca Place
160 reviews
16.38 km away
Levin Adventure Park
99 reviews
31.90 km away
Kohitere Trig
21 reviews
27.84 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
4acadia
Another couple questions: 1. What's a fair amount of time to set aside for the Center? 2. Has anyone done the Behind the Scenes Tour? What did it include? Do you get to see the kiwi closer? Can you choose what you get to do or is it set? Thanks so much!
18 July 2016|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from Clare B | Reviewed this property |
I've been twice, once with a guide and once without. The guide was amazing and told the stories of the birds as we went past the various enclosures and really brought it all to life. She also helped us to find the birds in... More
0
Votes
4acadia
Hi . I feel like this is obvious from pics, but want to verify - you can take photos of the kiwis? In many places you can't, so I just wanted to make sure. Thanks!
9 April 2016|
Answer Show all 15 answers
Response from alan h | Reviewed this property |
As long as you don't use a flash.
0
Votes