We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre

#1 of 5 Outdoor Activities in Masterton Features Animals
85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
+64 6-375 8004
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.37*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk. If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good31%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“white kiwi” (125 reviews)
“kiwi house” (49 reviews)
“bush walk” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 16:30
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 6-375 8004
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived at opening and impressed by the helpful, friendly staff. Needed to spend time at the beginning to read all the information . Well worth listening to the free talks- guide Adrian was full of facts and stories. Loop walk of 1.5 hrs well worth...More

1  Thank Henrietta E
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. All the team here are really keen to share stories and it's great that you found the talks worthwhile.

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I spent there 3 months as trainee in 2006. If you want to have the chance to see the rare kiwi bird, this is the place to be! You also can see the rare Takahe, Kaka or Tui

1  Thank Thomas K
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Thanks for your review! I'm sure things have changed a lot since 2006 although we're still really focussed on working to save rare and endangered NZ native birds as well as sharing this with our visitors.

Reviewed 7 August 2016

We recently stopped off at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre en route from Wellington to Napier. Despite the rainy weather, it was well worth the stop off (umbrellas are provided). The park is absolutely beautiful - many beautiful hiking tracks and aviaries. We absolutely...More

Thank belsi
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and would recommend it on to others. Thank you.

Reviewed 5 August 2016

Mount Bruce is very well known for its efforts to maintain New Zealand wildlife especially the kiwi. I suggest that all make an effort to visit this establishment. I was there on a wet day but wet weather gear & umbrellas are provided - I...More

Thank Gerald B
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of Pukaha. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you had a great experience with our kokako. She is a bit of a showoff and does enjoy entertaining our visitors!

Reviewed 29 July 2016

Really nice park with forest loose flying birds and in cages some hikes to.Nice feeding demonstrations with a good talk about the animals. Also Kiwis.

Thank thayfood
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thanks for writing such a lovely review of Pukaha - we're pleased that you feel we are the best park in New Zealand!

Reviewed 26 July 2016

Kaka feeding was a special experience, along with seeing the eels, Kiwi, and the blue ducks in the new free flight enclosure

Thank jwhite6
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Thank you for writing a review of Pukaha - great to hear that you had such special experiences with us

Reviewed 25 July 2016

View the Takahe boys and have a personal singalong with a North Island Kokako. Great for the kids and oldies as well. Beautiful bush walks - see large variety of native NZ trees. Cafeteria open here and ample parking. Located 30 odd km north of...More

Thank Bluemtns2777
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thanks very much for your lovely review. Lovely to know that you enjoyed your visit with us

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Food could be better... Nothing amazing. Pie was just microwaved and soggy. Little over priced for what you got. Staff weren't that friendly but was easy to get food if you have kids... The park was pretty cool and worth the visit.More

Thank Ayla H
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha. Sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience in our cafe. Our pies are meant to be finished in the oven to ensure the pastry isn't soggy and I've had a...More

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Wonderful visit and the kids had a blast. Birds everywhere, engaging environment, wouldn't recommend the food particularly - but average definitely. Feeding the eels was an experience!More

Thank Dwight L
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha, it's really appreciated. Please to hear that you had a great time with us - and yes, we certainly agree that feeding the eels is a great experience and we love to share this...More

Reviewed 14 July 2016

We had a great time - family friendly day out. Lovely bush clad walk - lots of birds and make sure you visit the eels. Nice patio area for a coffee in the sun

Thank Outriggernz
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thanks for your lovely review - so pleased to hear that you had a great day with us

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lazy Graze
35 reviews
10.03 km away
Ten O'Clock Cookie Bakery Cafe
178 reviews
25.60 km away
Cafe Strada
181 reviews
25.65 km away
Lone Star Cafe Masterton
95 reviews
25.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Middleton Model Railway
14 reviews
10.33 km away
The Alpaca Place
163 reviews
16.38 km away
Levin Adventure Park
104 reviews
31.90 km away
Kohitere Trig
21 reviews
27.84 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
4acadia
18 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Clare B | Reviewed this property |
I've been twice, once with a guide and once without. The guide was amazing and told the stories of the birds as we went past the various enclosures and really brought it all to life. She also helped us to find the birds in... More
0
Votes
4acadia
9 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 15 answers
Response from alan h | Reviewed this property |
As long as you don't use a flash.
0
Votes