We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre

Certificate of Excellence
Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 6-375 8004
Website
Today
09:00 - 16:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 16:30
Description:

Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a...

Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk.

If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.14*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 344 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 201
    Excellent
  • 106
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Spend a day

Arrived at opening and impressed by the helpful, friendly staff. Needed to spend time at the beginning to read all the information . Well worth listening to the free talks- guide... read more

Reviewed 2 September 2016
Henrietta E
,
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived at opening and impressed by the helpful, friendly staff. Needed to spend time at the beginning to read all the information . Well worth listening to the free talks- guide Adrian was full of facts and stories. Loop walk of 1.5 hrs well worth it(mod strenuous ). White and brown kiwis the highlight

Helpful?
1 Thank Henrietta E
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. All the team here are really keen to share stories and it's great that you found the talks worthwhile. More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I spent there 3 months as trainee in 2006. If you want to have the chance to see the rare kiwi bird, this is the place to be! You also can see the rare Takahe, Kaka or Tui

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! I'm sure things have changed a lot since 2006 although we're still really focussed on working to save rare and endangered NZ native birds as well as sharing this with our visitors. More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We recently stopped off at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre en route from Wellington to Napier. Despite the rainy weather, it was well worth the stop off (umbrellas are provided). The park is absolutely beautiful - many beautiful hiking tracks and aviaries. We absolutely loved the kiwi centre - some very informative films and information on the breeding program,... More 

Helpful?
Thank belsi
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and would recommend it on to others. Thank you. More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Mount Bruce is very well known for its efforts to maintain New Zealand wildlife especially the kiwi. I suggest that all make an effort to visit this establishment. I was there on a wet day but wet weather gear & umbrellas are provided - I only did the shorter walk which encompassed all the aviaries. Excellent - The Kokako came... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of Pukaha. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you had a great experience with our kokako. She is a bit of a showoff and does enjoy entertaining our visitors! More 

Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Really nice park with forest loose flying birds and in cages some hikes to.Nice feeding demonstrations with a good talk about the animals. Also Kiwis.

Helpful?
Thank thayfood
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for writing such a lovely review of Pukaha - we're pleased that you feel we are the best park in New Zealand! More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Kaka feeding was a special experience, along with seeing the eels, Kiwi, and the blue ducks in the new free flight enclosure

Helpful?
Thank jwhite6
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of Pukaha - great to hear that you had such special experiences with us More 

Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

View the Takahe boys and have a personal singalong with a North Island Kokako. Great for the kids and oldies as well. Beautiful bush walks - see large variety of native NZ trees. Cafeteria open here and ample parking. Located 30 odd km north of Masterton on Hwy 2. Gift store.

Helpful?
Thank Bluemtns2777
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your lovely review. Lovely to know that you enjoyed your visit with us More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Food could be better... Nothing amazing. Pie was just microwaved and soggy. Little over priced for what you got. Staff weren't that friendly but was easy to get food if you have kids... The park was pretty cool and worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank Ayla H
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha. Sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience in our cafe. Our pies are meant to be finished in the oven to ensure the pastry isn't soggy and I've had a quiet word with the cafe about this and also their manner with our visitors. Great... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Wonderful visit and the kids had a blast. Birds everywhere, engaging environment, wouldn't recommend the food particularly - but average definitely. Feeding the eels was an experience!

Helpful?
Thank Dwight L
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha, it's really appreciated. Please to hear that you had a great time with us - and yes, we certainly agree that feeding the eels is a great experience and we love to share this opportunity with our visitors. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We had a great time - family friendly day out. Lovely bush clad walk - lots of birds and make sure you visit the eels. Nice patio area for a coffee in the sun

Helpful?
Thank Outriggernz
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review - so pleased to hear that you had a great day with us More 

Travellers who viewed Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre also viewed

 
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?