We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre

#1 of 5 Outdoor Activities in Masterton Features Animals
85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
+64 6-375 8004
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.37*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk. If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good31%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“white kiwi” (125 reviews)
“kiwi house” (49 reviews)
“bush walk” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 16:30
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 6-375 8004
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 50 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2016

We took a one hour tour of Puhaka and had a terrific time. There isn't nearly as much to see as in Zealandia, but the guide was excellent and extremely knowledgable. Unfortunately, the kiwis were away from there was kiwi egg ready to hatch --...More

1  Thank Jeffrey J
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we agree that it was unfortunate that both our adult kiwi were not in the nocturnal house when you visited. This was the only time that we've had both out at the same time...More

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Worth heading to Wellington down SH 2 just to visit Mt Bruce. Great displays and wonderful bush experience listening to and watching some of NZ's diverse bird life. Feed the Kaka or eels and enjoy the food and coffee in the cafe.More

Thank adeejay
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate the feedback. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed our time with us and we're also really pleased that you chose SH2 as well! There's a whole lot to do down this...More

Reviewed 29 November 2016

The land, what they've done to preserve it, and the efforts to keep indigenous New Zealand species alive is amazing. It's just so beautiful to walk through the wildlife grounds/rain forest ... and then to get to see the birds and all the fun things...More

Thank WineSellarBrasserie
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

thank you for your lovely review - so pleased that you had a great time with us and we do hope that we will see you again some time.

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We had high expectations for this wildlife sanctuary and we were a bit disappointed. The cafe was nice and had the Kaka (local parrots) present. The kiwi house was the main attraction and it was nice. The rest was disappointing. Several of the aviaries were...More

Thank Jack D
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Pukaha. Sorry to hear that you were a bit disappointed with your visit. Only one of our aviaries is empty at present and that is so that it can regenerate after our kaka juveniles tore it up...More

Reviewed 18 October 2016

MtBruce is rather a scientific facility than an entertainment farm, so you are not allowed to feed or touch the birds there, like in Staglands or Nga Manu. However, it is the only place where you can see a rare white kiwi very close and...More

Thank Natalia S
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are right in that we don't allow feeding of our birds as they are mostly part of a breeding programmes for rare and endangered birds. Great that you saw our little white kiwi, Manukura,...More

Reviewed 16 October 2016

We went really early, pretty much as they opened, and it had been raining, so not surprising at all that the birds and animals were a bit quiet. The Free flight aviary didnt appear to be quite finished but will be great once a bit...More

Thank Danice H
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha. We have had some wet spring weather recently but there is the idea that NZ has weather which includes 'four seasons in one day'. Although our aviary is finished, it was only opened...More

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Pukaha is a MUST visit. Absolutely sensational. Incredible walks and amazing scenery. The diversity of birds is remarkable. The love, care and passion that goes into running this reserve is clearly evident. The kiwi house if fantastic. Not many places in the world where you...More

1  Thank wateva_44
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review of Pukaha. Every person who works and volunteers here feels as you do about our wonderful wildlife. It is our great pleasure to be able to share it with our visitors. Thank you, as your visit helps us as...More

Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stopped for a lunch break on the route from Wellington to Napier. The cafe had good coffee and sandwiches. They happily made gluten free toasted sandwiches. Lovely to see kakas and takahes as from the cafe deck and the kakas come very close! Highlight...More

Thank Jena39
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha and our cafe. The kaka are particularly cheeky during spring and will certainly help themselves to your lunch if they can. So glad that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Tucked away in the Manawatu is this lovely spot. Feels good from the moment you pull into the parking lot. The information centre has plenty of information to get you started and the staff are friendly and helpful. Walking around the reserve through a lovely...More

Thank hmt002
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thanks for writing such a lovely review of Pukaha and we are all so very pleased that you enjoyed your day with us.

Reviewed 14 September 2016

What a wonderful place this is to visit and what an amazing job Claire and the team are doing to salvage a special piece of New Zealand. Seeing the Kiwi and especially a white kiwi in their own environment, feeding the eels and hearing the...More

Thank DelphiWhangarei
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Claire is one of our amazing team members who works so hard to ensure that our visitors have a wonderful experience with us. Thanks again

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lazy Graze
35 reviews
10.03 km away
Ten O'Clock Cookie Bakery Cafe
178 reviews
25.60 km away
Cafe Strada
181 reviews
25.65 km away
Lone Star Cafe Masterton
95 reviews
25.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Middleton Model Railway
14 reviews
10.33 km away
The Alpaca Place
163 reviews
16.38 km away
Levin Adventure Park
104 reviews
31.90 km away
Kohitere Trig
21 reviews
27.84 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
4acadia
18 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Clare B | Reviewed this property |
I've been twice, once with a guide and once without. The guide was amazing and told the stories of the birds as we went past the various enclosures and really brought it all to life. She also helped us to find the birds in... More
0
Votes
4acadia
9 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 15 answers
Response from alan h | Reviewed this property |
As long as you don't use a flash.
0
Votes