We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre

Certificate of Excellence
Features Animals
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 6-375 8004
Website
Today
09:00 - 16:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 16:30
Description:

Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a...

Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk.

If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.14*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 344 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 201
    Excellent
  • 106
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Wonderfully informative

We took a one hour tour of Puhaka and had a terrific time. There isn't nearly as much to see as in Zealandia, but the guide was excellent and extremely knowledgable... read more

Reviewed 12 December 2016
Jeffrey J
,
Key West, Florida
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We took a one hour tour of Puhaka and had a terrific time. There isn't nearly as much to see as in Zealandia, but the guide was excellent and extremely knowledgable. Unfortunately, the kiwis were away from there was kiwi egg ready to hatch -- so that was almost as good!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey J
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we agree that it was unfortunate that both our adult kiwi were not in the nocturnal house when you visited. This was the only time that we've had both out at the same time and we certainly hope that it won't happen again! More 

La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Worth heading to Wellington down SH 2 just to visit Mt Bruce. Great displays and wonderful bush experience listening to and watching some of NZ's diverse bird life. Feed the Kaka or eels and enjoy the food and coffee in the cafe.

Helpful?
Thank adeejay
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate the feedback. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed our time with us and we're also really pleased that you chose SH2 as well! There's a whole lot to do down this side of the island! More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2016

The land, what they've done to preserve it, and the efforts to keep indigenous New Zealand species alive is amazing. It's just so beautiful to walk through the wildlife grounds/rain forest ... and then to get to see the birds and all the fun things that they do to let you interact with them is so fun. We got a... More 

Helpful?
Thank WineSellarBrasserie
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

thank you for your lovely review - so pleased that you had a great time with us and we do hope that we will see you again some time. More 

Hartsville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We had high expectations for this wildlife sanctuary and we were a bit disappointed. The cafe was nice and had the Kaka (local parrots) present. The kiwi house was the main attraction and it was nice. The rest was disappointing. Several of the aviaries were empty. The walk-in aviary had very few birds present. The whole place was well maintained... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jack D
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Pukaha. Sorry to hear that you were a bit disappointed with your visit. Only one of our aviaries is empty at present and that is so that it can regenerate after our kaka juveniles tore it up last year! As a breeding centre, in spring our birds can be nesting and may... More 

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

MtBruce is rather a scientific facility than an entertainment farm, so you are not allowed to feed or touch the birds there, like in Staglands or Nga Manu. However, it is the only place where you can see a rare white kiwi very close and with almost 100% guarantee. And the cafeteria was a salvation for a wet cold biker,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Natalia S
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are right in that we don't allow feeding of our birds as they are mostly part of a breeding programmes for rare and endangered birds. Great that you saw our little white kiwi, Manukura, and that you enjoyed your lunch! Hope you have good time during the rest of... More 

Christchurch
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We went really early, pretty much as they opened, and it had been raining, so not surprising at all that the birds and animals were a bit quiet. The Free flight aviary didnt appear to be quite finished but will be great once a bit more established.

Helpful?
Thank Danice H
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha. We have had some wet spring weather recently but there is the idea that NZ has weather which includes 'four seasons in one day'. Although our aviary is finished, it was only opened in May this year and we are all looking forward to this time next year... More 

New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Pukaha is a MUST visit. Absolutely sensational. Incredible walks and amazing scenery. The diversity of birds is remarkable. The love, care and passion that goes into running this reserve is clearly evident. The kiwi house if fantastic. Not many places in the world where you can so easily have an encounter during the day with a kiwi. They have daily... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wateva_44
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of Pukaha. Every person who works and volunteers here feels as you do about our wonderful wildlife. It is our great pleasure to be able to share it with our visitors. Thank you, as your visit helps us as a charitable trust to continue with our work. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stopped for a lunch break on the route from Wellington to Napier. The cafe had good coffee and sandwiches. They happily made gluten free toasted sandwiches. Lovely to see kakas and takahes as from the cafe deck and the kakas come very close! Highlight of the reserve must be the kiwis. The white female kiwi was particularly active!

Helpful?
Thank Jena39
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha and our cafe. The kaka are particularly cheeky during spring and will certainly help themselves to your lunch if they can. So glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. More 

Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Tucked away in the Manawatu is this lovely spot. Feels good from the moment you pull into the parking lot. The information centre has plenty of information to get you started and the staff are friendly and helpful. Walking around the reserve through a lovely bush path, you come across various aviaries and activities. We stopped and enjoyed the Kaka... More 

Helpful?
Thank hmt002
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for writing such a lovely review of Pukaha and we are all so very pleased that you enjoyed your day with us. More 

Whangarei
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2016

What a wonderful place this is to visit and what an amazing job Claire and the team are doing to salvage a special piece of New Zealand. Seeing the Kiwi and especially a white kiwi in their own environment, feeding the eels and hearing the wonderful birdsong of tui, kokako etc., was wonderful. We were there for the feeding of... More 

Helpful?
Thank DelphiWhangarei
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Claire is one of our amazing team members who works so hard to ensure that our visitors have a wonderful experience with us. Thanks again More 

Travellers who viewed Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre also viewed

 
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?