We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre

#1 of 5 Outdoor Activities in Masterton Features Animals
85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
+64 6-375 8004
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.79*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk. If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good30%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“white kiwi” (125 reviews)
“kiwi house” (49 reviews)
“kaka” (83 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 16:30
LOCATION
85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 6-375 8004
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017

Was here quite a few years back, and seeing as I had the time to visit again decided to book a behind the scenes tour. Got there and they didn't know anything about it, turns out that someone had forgotten to put it in the...More

Thank Draco_Malfoy
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Yes, we certainly acknowledge that your booked Behind the Scenes Tour was unfortunately not recorded correctly and we apologise again that we were unable to fulfil this. However, thank you for taking up our offer of...More

Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stopped for three reasons - we haven't been there for quite a few years so wanted to see any changes; wanted to have a pit stop for lunch; and especially wanted to visit a Kaka we had tended at Cape Sanctuary before his move...More

Thank Grant N
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thanks for writing a review and also for visiting Nikau. Both he and Hautete seem to be getting on just fine which is great. Thanks for your recommendation and also for taking such great care of Nikau before he came to live at Pukaha.

Reviewed 14 February 2017

A wonderful place that all the family can enjoy A must to see a small trip by vehicle to this great place

Thank 1kiwichic
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you for reviewing Pukaha - lovely to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

They were feed a two week old kiwi chick and explains about their conservation efforts and releasing birds into the wild ready to defend themselves and increase the survival rate. A good afternoon well spent.

Thank AlanBurrill
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

thank you for taking the time to review Pukaha and it is great to hear that you felt you had a great afternoon out.

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Took the family here over the x-mas break. Had torrential rain but there was enough to do inside including great cafe, talk on tuatara and kiwi, interactive stuff for the kids. The staff lady in charge of the kiwi was a bit too military for...More

Thank STUMAN24
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Thank you for your review - we certainly have had a poor summer for weather but luckily our birds don't seem to mind the wet as much as we do. Sorry about the shouting - sometimes it's very hard to get through that in order...More

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Of couse we had to go see the famous albino kiwi (manukura) and it was the best 'first time seeing a kiwi' experience ever! The lovely lady at the reception offered to charge us $40 instead of the usual $28 per adult and although it...More

Thank KitanaRW
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thanks for writing a review of PUkaha, much appreciated. The team here are very passionate about their work and the animals in their care and it's great that you had such a lovely time with us.

Reviewed 12 January 2017

We visted Pukaka Mt Bruce, Wairarapa sanctuary for the third time last week and every time we are amazed at the wonderful cheeky Kaka and our beautiful white Kiwi Manukura. Plan a visit soon... it is a beautiful place. Quiet walks through native bush, education...More

Thank BrendaBr
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Wonderful that on your third visit you are still getting as much enjoyment. Our kaka certainly are cheeky and so much fun to watch. thank you for your lovely comments

Reviewed 12 January 2017

My husband and I visited on our way to Wellington and even though we got there late on a dreary day, it was worth the time we spent there. Staff and volunteers were extremely helpful and the unique wildlife was truly spectacular. The beautiful kokako...More

Thank Nicholas W
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha and for your recommendation. We really appreciate your comments and its lovely to hear that you enjoyed meeting Kahurangi, our resident kokako. She is a delight

Reviewed 8 January 2017

Family pass was great value ($50) for four kids and two adults. Manukura, the white kiwi was definitely a highlight. We managed to fit in three talks from staff that were informative, although it was hard to hear the Tuatara talk. A better sound system...More

Thank Ex-kiwigirl
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we're all really pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Reviewed 7 January 2017

An awesome experience, very suitable for kids (especially things like the eel-feeding session, seeing kiwi and the kaka feeding). Some activities are at specific times, but make your trip your own. Definitely allow some time. Be dressed for the outdoor conditions (sun-hat or raincoat!) Cafe...More

Thank TheZenOfThings
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Thanks for writing a review of Pukaha. So pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and could recommend it to others.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lazy Graze
35 reviews
10.03 km away
Ten O'Clock Cookie Bakery Cafe
177 reviews
25.60 km away
Cafe Strada
178 reviews
25.65 km away
Lone Star Cafe Masterton
93 reviews
25.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Middleton Model Railway
14 reviews
10.33 km away
The Alpaca Place
160 reviews
16.38 km away
Levin Adventure Park
99 reviews
31.90 km away
Kohitere Trig
21 reviews
27.84 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
4acadia
Another couple questions: 1. What's a fair amount of time to set aside for the Center? 2. Has anyone done the Behind the Scenes Tour? What did it include? Do you get to see the kiwi closer? Can you choose what you get to do or is it set? Thanks so much!
18 July 2016|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from Clare B | Reviewed this property |
I've been twice, once with a guide and once without. The guide was amazing and told the stories of the birds as we went past the various enclosures and really brought it all to life. She also helped us to find the birds in... More
0
Votes
4acadia
Hi . I feel like this is obvious from pics, but want to verify - you can take photos of the kiwis? In many places you can't, so I just wanted to make sure. Thanks!
9 April 2016|
Answer Show all 15 answers
Response from alan h | Reviewed this property |
As long as you don't use a flash.
0
Votes