We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre

#1 of 5 Outdoor Activities in Masterton Features Animals
85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
+64 6-375 8004
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.84*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk. If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good30%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“white kiwi” (125 reviews)
“kiwi house” (49 reviews)
“kaka” (83 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 16:30
LOCATION
85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 6-375 8004
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 9.30am on the way to Napier, this was a perfect stop to stretch the legs and keep master 5 from going crazy. The smaller walk through the bush is beautiful, don't get your hopes up for spotting birds in the aviaries... but...More

Thank Kiwifire66
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thanks for writing a review of Pukaha - we are a great pitstop, especially for littlies as we have really safe and wide tracks for them to run around on.

Reviewed 11 April 2017

Lovely bush here but try to time your visit for the talks throughout the day to get the most out of it. In summer the birds are often very quiet.eels are a must see. Cafe food is dreadful.

Thank rodjaneduncan
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. So many of our visitors agree that they love seeing the eels! Can you email me directly regarding the cafe food as I'm really keen to understand how we can rectify this - helen@pukaha.org.nz

Reviewed 11 April 2017

The weather had been lousy and the girls were due to go back to Auckland so we went prepared to get wet. When we got there the weather wasn't bad afterall. We made sure we were there in time for the eel and Kaka feeding....More

Thank Jonathan H
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you for writing a review -lovely to hear that you had an enjoyable time with your grandchildren here at Pukaha.

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely day out at Pukaha, allow yourself plenty of time to look at the Aviaries, there are not hundreds of birds in the aviaries & your might not see the birds at first, so allow the time to look again later! We...More

Thank Clare B
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Pukaha - and for taking plenty of time during your visit! We do agree that in order to get the most out of your visit that you allow plenty of time to go back if...More

Reviewed 1 April 2017

probably my fault as I had heard so many good things about this place and they had built up my expectations. We wandered around the aviaries but several were completely empty. The free flight area was hugely disappointing as we could only spot bellbirds despite...More

Thank filligirl
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of PUkaha - sorry that you left us a bit disappointed. We don't have any empty aviaries at present but our birds can be difficult to see at times. It can be a tricky thing to...More

Reviewed 22 March 2017

We thought we'd spend about an hour at Pukaha, we ended up staying over 4 hours and only left because it was closing time. $20 entry price was well worth the experience. The walk is easy, on mostly flat and wide gravel pathways through the...More

Thank dae11
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Pukaha - so pleased that you could stay longer with us as it can take some time to see all the birds in the aviaries. Look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 20 March 2017

We were disappointed in this stop, but perhaps a combination of high expectations and unpredictable wildlife conspired against us -- perhaps can't blame the venue. The setting is lovely for a walk and the cafe provided decent value for lunch. We found the entry price...More

Thank RebeccainGuelph
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

thank you for taking the time to review us. While we appreciate your comments about the entry price we do have a childs price which goes up to 15 years old ($6) and after that either a student rate at $17 or adult price for...More

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

This is a great place to stop on the way down from Napier. Only 20 NZ$ each. A nice walk and the highlight was a talk on the geckos AND seeing not only a white Kiwi but a baby being fed. Really special. The bird...More

Thank Paul S
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thanks for writing a review of Pukaha and your kind words

Reviewed 27 February 2017

For Bird and Nature enthusiast, this is a place for you!!!!! Well managed, this Bird and Nature conservatory is well worth your time to visit. You can also feed the Eel's if you like.

Thank Albert S
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and your recommendations

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Thanks to the white kiwi being easily seen and her mate putting on a screaming show we had a great viewing. Unfortunately the rest was not so great as most birds were hard to spot. We even had one of the lovely workers come back...More

Thank shazjtx
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you for reviewing Pukaha and it's great to hear that you not only had an excellent kiwi viewing experience but also that one of the team took the time to try and point out the birds to you. If you are on limited time,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lazy Graze
35 reviews
10.03 km away
Ten O'Clock Cookie Bakery Cafe
178 reviews
25.60 km away
Cafe Strada
178 reviews
25.65 km away
Lone Star Cafe Masterton
93 reviews
25.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Middleton Model Railway
14 reviews
10.33 km away
The Alpaca Place
160 reviews
16.38 km away
Levin Adventure Park
99 reviews
31.90 km away
Kohitere Trig
21 reviews
27.84 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
4acadia
Another couple questions: 1. What's a fair amount of time to set aside for the Center? 2. Has anyone done the Behind the Scenes Tour? What did it include? Do you get to see the kiwi closer? Can you choose what you get to do or is it set? Thanks so much!
18 July 2016|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from Clare B | Reviewed this property |
I've been twice, once with a guide and once without. The guide was amazing and told the stories of the birds as we went past the various enclosures and really brought it all to life. She also helped us to find the birds in... More
0
Votes
4acadia
Hi . I feel like this is obvious from pics, but want to verify - you can take photos of the kiwis? In many places you can't, so I just wanted to make sure. Thanks!
9 April 2016|
Answer Show all 15 answers
Response from alan h | Reviewed this property |
As long as you don't use a flash.
0
Votes