We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 85379 State Highway 2, Masterton 5881, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 6-375 8004
Website
Today
09:00 - 16:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 16:30
Description:

Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a...

Home to Manukura, the only white kiwi in captivity, Pukaha Mount Bruce is a 940 hectare unfenced wildlife reserve only 24kms north of Masterton, in Wairarapa, open every day (except 25 December) from 9am – 4.30pm. Pukaha Mount Bruce has six daily talks and feeds starting with takahe at 10.30, tuatara at 11.30, kiwi chick or gecko talk at 12 noon, eel feed at 1.30, kokako talk at 2.15 and kaka feed at 3pm. Visitors can see rare and endangered NZ birds in aviaries but also other NZ birds such as tui, fantail, kereru and rifleman living wild in the forest. Pukaha Mount Bruce has a kiwi house with 2 resident kiwi, an egg and chick nursery, a theatre with three short films and an interactive gallery. There is a two hour loop walk through regenerated native bush and a shorter aviary walk.

If you are in a hurry, book a 1 hour guided tour or if you want to get up close and personal to NZ nature, how about a 2 1/2 hour Behind the Scenes Tour?

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.40*
and up
Pukaha Mount Bruce Entry Ticket
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 335 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 200
    Excellent
  • 99
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Wonderful experience, easy access and very enjoyable

We thought we'd spend about an hour at Pukaha, we ended up staying over 4 hours and only left because it was closing time. $20 entry price was well worth the experience. The walk... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 days ago
dae11
,
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 323: English reviews
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We thought we'd spend about an hour at Pukaha, we ended up staying over 4 hours and only left because it was closing time. $20 entry price was well worth the experience. The walk is easy, on mostly flat and wide gravel pathways through the bush. There's an optional walk up the hill to a scenic lookout. Aviaries are only... More 

Helpful?
Thank dae11
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Pukaha - so pleased that you could stay longer with us as it can take some time to see all the birds in the aviaries. Look forward to seeing you again! More 

Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were disappointed in this stop, but perhaps a combination of high expectations and unpredictable wildlife conspired against us -- perhaps can't blame the venue. The setting is lovely for a walk and the cafe provided decent value for lunch. We found the entry price a bit steep (we have 3 teens with us but they wouldn't give us a... More 

Helpful?
Thank RebeccainGuelph
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review us. While we appreciate your comments about the entry price we do have a childs price which goes up to 15 years old ($6) and after that either a student rate at $17 or adult price for non students. Our 7 daily talks are spaced from 10.30 until 4pm. Our kiwi will... More 

Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great place to stop on the way down from Napier. Only 20 NZ$ each. A nice walk and the highlight was a talk on the geckos AND seeing not only a white Kiwi but a baby being fed. Really special. The bird siteings were not easy but a really nice place.

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review of Pukaha and your kind words More 

Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For Bird and Nature enthusiast, this is a place for you!!!!! Well managed, this Bird and Nature conservatory is well worth your time to visit. You can also feed the Eel's if you like.

Helpful?
Thank Albert S
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and your recommendations More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks to the white kiwi being easily seen and her mate putting on a screaming show we had a great viewing. Unfortunately the rest was not so great as most birds were hard to spot. We even had one of the lovely workers come back up to the walk-through avery to help us spot the birds but they were a... More 

Helpful?
Thank shazjtx
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Pukaha and it's great to hear that you not only had an excellent kiwi viewing experience but also that one of the team took the time to try and point out the birds to you. If you are on limited time, it can sometimes be tricky to see the birds. More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Was here quite a few years back, and seeing as I had the time to visit again decided to book a behind the scenes tour. Got there and they didn't know anything about it, turns out that someone had forgotten to put it in the diary, so I missed out on this, which I was quite disappointed about. Decided to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Draco_Malfoy
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Yes, we certainly acknowledge that your booked Behind the Scenes Tour was unfortunately not recorded correctly and we apologise again that we were unable to fulfil this. However, thank you for taking up our offer of a refund and a one hour guided tour instead. Pleased that you enjoyed what we... More 

Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
317 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stopped for three reasons - we haven't been there for quite a few years so wanted to see any changes; wanted to have a pit stop for lunch; and especially wanted to visit a Kaka we had tended at Cape Sanctuary before his move to Mt Bruce. Wandering around listening to the birds and seeing them in their natural... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grant N
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review and also for visiting Nikau. Both he and Hautete seem to be getting on just fine which is great. Thanks for your recommendation and also for taking such great care of Nikau before he came to live at Pukaha. More 

Wairarapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

A wonderful place that all the family can enjoy A must to see a small trip by vehicle to this great place

Helpful?
Thank 1kiwichic
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Pukaha - lovely to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Hope to see you again! More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

They were feed a two week old kiwi chick and explains about their conservation efforts and releasing birds into the wild ready to defend themselves and increase the survival rate. A good afternoon well spent.

Helpful?
Thank AlanBurrill
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review Pukaha and it is great to hear that you felt you had a great afternoon out. More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

Took the family here over the x-mas break. Had torrential rain but there was enough to do inside including great cafe, talk on tuatara and kiwi, interactive stuff for the kids. The staff lady in charge of the kiwi was a bit too military for us (shouting at people to be quiet?! while we cued to watch the kiwi) and... More 

Helpful?
Thank STUMAN24
Helen T, General Manager at Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we certainly have had a poor summer for weather but luckily our birds don't seem to mind the wet as much as we do. Sorry about the shouting - sometimes it's very hard to get through that in order for the kiwi to remain calm at the feeding, minimal noise is important. We'll certainly... More 

Travellers who viewed Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre also viewed

Masterton, Wairarapa
Masterton, Wairarapa
 

Been to Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pukaha Mount Bruce National Wildlife Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?