We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterworks

471 The 309 Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
+64 7-866 7191
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
run down and dangerous

I had been to the Waterworks in the past and thought it was a great place for kids so I went there... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Lora M
Closed despite saying open everywhere

We drove all the way here to find it closed. Signs on the road say it‘s open, the website says... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jenny P
via mobile
Read all 496 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Release the child within and experience New Zealand's quirkiest theme park. Voted by AA Tourism as a must-do Kiwi experience The Waterworks is a theme park with a difference. Set in 5 acres of native Coromandel Bush and just 10 minutes from Coromandel Town is an array of water powered inventions, quirky contraptions and fun to discover at every turn. Inspired by the ability to create something new out of something old our attractions are made largely from recycled materials and are powered by water. Water is used to keep time on the wooden water clock; watch out though it often works on Coromandel time. We've got water cannons to blast away on and bikes that pump H2O. Our human sized hamster wheel is an absolute hoot and our mad inventions leave people wondering "what the".As well as the 70+ attractions to look at, play on, or interact with, The Waterworks has a generous adventure playground area perfect for picnics, an onsite café, free use of BBQs and a natural swimming hole to cool off in during the hot summer months.
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“flying fox” (41 reviews)
“all ages” (62 reviews)
“swimming hole” (28 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
471 The 309 Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 7-866 7191
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"flying fox"
in 41 reviews
"all ages"
in 62 reviews
"swimming hole"
in 28 reviews
"great fun"
in 31 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 15 reviews
"water works"
in 12 reviews
"water based"
in 5 reviews
"hamster wheel"
in 7 reviews
"water activities"
in 6 reviews
"getting wet"
in 10 reviews
"fun place to visit"
in 6 reviews
"recycled materials"
in 8 reviews
"change of clothes"
in 8 reviews
"lots of water"
in 6 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 16 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 10 reviews
"whole family"
in 8 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had been to the Waterworks in the past and thought it was a great place for kids so I went there last weekend with my grandson. I was disappointed that the main attractions seems unkempt.. pools clogged with leaves, the water powered clock telling...More

Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We drove all the way here to find it closed. Signs on the road say it‘s open, the website says „Open everyday“. No sign on the door or anything else, it was just locked. We are more than disappointed, especially our 3yo who was really...More

Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeedho, Owner at The Waterworks, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I'm Sorry that you did not see the notice I had left. You are correct we would normally open 10am - 4pm during the winter months. I had to go to the Doctors I left it as late as possible before leaving. I did Leave...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Myself and my wife + mother and father in law visited this venue over the Easter weekend and were astonished by the whole place. The man who owns it not only runs the park himself but created the whole place with his own hands. He...More

Thank Redhillroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Then we could have stayed even longer! While we thought this was expensive when we arrived, it was worth it. Take a picnic, towels and change of clothes and plan to spend most of the day. They have a play area and BBQ's available for...More

Thank Mel-Kiwi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Went on a family outing and this park is great every corner you go around there is something exciting to see, all well crafted and the owner I think, plenty to do, BBQ free to use for picnic So you can spen the day

Thank tracyhK9309DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Our family really enjoyed our time here. Lots of hands on fun and some quirky humour made this an unexpected and throughly enjoyable visit.

Thank Nicci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

This is a place full of fun facts and imaginative water sculptures made from old things, all sorts of things. It is initiative, ingenious, and very very interactive. The setting is stunning with a beautiful river and a swimming hole on site. The cafe also...More

Thank shazzzalongley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeedho, Owner at The Waterworks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

HI and thanks for taking the time to review the park and make the positive comments. I apologise that some of the exhibits were out of action, The flying bicycles are waiting for a part to arrive from Hamilton, our location doesn't make it easy...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Notwithstanding one of the most difficult roads from Whitianga to the location, the end result was well worth the minor stress of the 20 or so km to get there! We travelled with two grandchildren - one still in a pram, the other 3 years...More

Thank DADD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We visited on a very hot day earlier this week & were grateful for the shade. It was surprisingly entertaining for 2 retired folk & definitely released the inner kid in us! We thought the exhibits were ingenious & fun & can see how they...More

Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Stopped here as all the promos said it was great. Was disappointed. Expensive to get in and definitely not worth the money. Displays were run down and grubby. A couple of the displays were mildly interesting; some were broken; some were just poorly designed.More

Thank ringthebells2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeedho, Owner at The Waterworks, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to respond in writing to your experience at Waterworks, it's a pity you didn't speak to me personally whilst you were there and highlighted your concerns and told me exactly which installations needed attention. I would imagine that you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Coromandel
Castle Rock Winery
12 reviews
6.75 km away
The Olive Motel
111 reviews
7.00 km away
Central Motel
1 review
7.27 km away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
362 reviews
7.44 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Wharf Road
73 reviews
7.28 km away
Coromandel Mussell Kitchen
362 reviews
3.75 km away
Pepper Tree Restaurant & Bar
783 reviews
7.29 km away
Umu
622 reviews
7.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
The 309 Road
300 reviews
1.95 km away
Kiwi Dundee Adventures
49 reviews
4.49 km away
Mercury Bay
57 reviews
7.55 km away
Kauri Block Track
17 reviews
7.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Misswg
14 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Xavier_Radic |
Hello, A friend of mine and their family built and invented these gardens some years ago (but new owners these days). Anytime even just 2 hours is worth the visit... it is humorous, educating and fun. Afterwards (depending... More
2
Votes
;