We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HeliServicesNZ Tekapo ‑ CLOSED

Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
More
About HeliServicesNZ Tekapo
The stunning Mt Cook region is one of New Zealand's top attractions and our HeliServicesNZ Tekapo base specialises in scenic flights over the region's spectacular alpine scenery. One of the most breathtaking ways to make the most of your visit here is by taking a flight in one of our four-seater and six-seater turbine helicopters. Our pilots provide you with an informative commentary about the area while you take in the spectacular views. You can also enjoy a landing which allows you to experience the beauty of the area up close. Walk-ins welcome.
Read more

HeliServicesNZ Tekapo
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
90Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 80
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 5
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Vicky T wrote a review Mar 2019
Hong Kong, China5 contributions
+1
Thank you for giving us an unforgettable flight in this beautiful country. Special thanks for the staff Ada and the pilot Keith. Ada kept me posted of the updated weather condition and the possible flying day, it helped me in planning and adjusting the trip for my family. For the pilot Keith, thanks for the safe flight given to us. Though we did not talk to you a lot, we felt safe flying with you and that’s more than enough. Flying from Tekapo is a lot easier and more convenient than from the west side. Tekapo’s weather is comparatively stable and it avoid us from driving the whole day to reach fox. Thanks for everything.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo
Responded 28 Mar 2019
Thank you VickyT1823 for your wonderful review. I am pleased you had such a wonderful time. We have unfortunately closed down our Lake Tekapo base now and it was a privilege to fly you when we were open in our last days. Should you visit the South Island again we would enjoy showing you the West Coast (Fox and Franz Josef) if you were able to add an extra day to your itinerary to join us at Fox or Franz Josef.
Read more
KMJUK wrote a review Jan 2019
Reading, United Kingdom116 contributions41 helpful votes
My partner and I actually did this trip with the reviewer immediately below, and I wholeheartedly echo his comments. Our experienced differed only in that we’d walked in off the street and booked just half an hour prior to take off. We were incredibly lucky with our weather conditions, and had a completely fabulous experience. Brooke was really friendly, professional and informative, and the trip blew us away. Scenery was sensational and it was a real privilege to gain that perspective on the lakes, mountains, glaciers (all 3 of them!) and land that we’d visited and driven at ground level. Not cheap, and we did have to think twice before committing but are so glad that we did. A very memorable morning of our three weeks in South Island and worth every penny.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo
Responded 18 Jan 2019
Thank you for your review, KMJUK. Yes, it is an awesome flight🚁 that you are able to see the popular scenery of New Zealand ( Lakes, Mountains🏔 and Glaciers) in just 60mins. It is really worth to do once in your life time, may to twice.🤣 Thank you very much again for choosing us. 😁
Read more
Daiseaview wrote a review Dec 2018
Swansea, United Kingdom55 contributions36 helpful votes
We booked the one hour Mt Cook and glaciers tour with a glacier landing and the whole experience was fantastic. The staff and especially Brooke our pilot were very professional and my wife who was very nervous was put at ease straight away by the professional manner the guys approached the whole experience. We would thoroughly recommend the company and their staff for what was a once in a lifetime experience. Go do it!!!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo
Responded 16 Dec 2018
Thank you very much Daiseaview for your review.😊 I will surely pass the message to Brooke and our staffs. Thank you for understanding the weather🌧 as I remember we have forward your booking to the next day due to the weather of the date you original booked. And luckily you got the best weather🌞 for your flight. Hope you will enjoy your Christmas time 🌲🎁with your family in north island. Do let your friends and family know your flying experience.🚁🚁 Thank you very much for choosing us again.
Read more
CCHoll wrote a review Nov 2018
Kent, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
So pleased we chose Heliservices! If you are able to take a Heli Tour over to Mount Cook and the glaciers, do it - it is truly stunning and a lifetime experience. Why Heliservices though? Our pilot, Jeff, have an entertaining and insightful commentary throughout our flight up, took routes to show us extra points of interest and our time on the glacier itself was not without a snowball or two plus glacial ice pops we made ourselves. Oh and lots of photos! Thanks for making this lifetime experience very special for Chris and I 👏🏻👏🏻
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo
Responded 12 Nov 2018
So happy that you two had a snow pops🍧 on the landing site. Yes, Jeff🧔 is always entertaining, he had a lot of experience of flying and of course the knowledge of this environment. 🏔 Make sure you two share this special experience to your families👨‍👩‍👧‍👦 and friends. Thank you for choosing us again CCHoll.
Read more
circlette00 wrote a review Oct 2018
Sydney, Australia64 contributions16 helpful votes
Flying in a Helicopter and landing on Mt. Cook and able to walk around was on my Bucket List. As an adventure, it was beyond anything I have ever experienced. The scenery was awe inspiring surrounded by the snow capped mountains. Standing on Mt. Cook on a beautiful sunny day, sensational. If you are in two minds - go for the thrill of a lifetime and do this trip.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Tekapohelistaff, Manager at HeliServicesNZ Tekapo
Responded 8 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review circlette00, I believe you were landing on our Mt Joseph when you were doing a 20mins flight. Yes. it is stunning that you could enjoy the stunning view and Mackenzie area at a higher elevation. Thank you very much for choosing us again. 🚁🚁
Read more
Previous
123456