We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekapo Springs

6 Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6550
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful place but very pricey

It is a beautiful setting in the hot pools looking out over the scenery. It is a shame it is... read more

Reviewed 9 August 2017
Maree_martin
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Facilities not keeping up with demand

Went early evening, very busy with all the skiers coming off the slopes. Lots of kids, thankfully... read more

Reviewed 6 August 2017
Jay R
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Read all 854 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Located in beautiful Lake Tekapo, Tekapo Springs is a must-do for everyone, with a fun mix of relaxing and exciting activities. Soak in the stunning views from one of our 3 hot pools (36 - 39 degrees Celsius), all beautifully landscaped with native plants. Relax in our Steam & Sauna rooms and try the cold plunge pool. Children (and the young at heart!) love our Aqua Play Area with exciting interactive water features and shallow pool for playing in. There's a deep pool for swimming a few laps or jumping off the side. In summer, dare to ride the TRIPPO, an 11 metre high waterslide with three chutes providing hours of fun! In winter, get fit and have fun on our outdoor ice skating rink or try the thrilling 150-metre Snow Tube! Soak up some “me time” with a revitalising facial or massage at the Day Spa then sample the scrumptious menu at our fully licensed cafe. By night, Soak in the Stars with Tekapo Star Gazing, the only guided hot pools and star gazing tour in New Zealand.
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good38%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“ice skating” (92 reviews)
“hot pools” (238 reviews)
“snow tubing” (48 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
LOCATION
6 Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-680 6550

Similar Things to Do in Lake Tekapo

Write a Review
Reviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 50 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

It is a beautiful setting in the hot pools looking out over the scenery. It is a shame it is pricey especially when you have children who are required to pay adult prices at thirteen. There should be a family price. Kids are not adults...More

Thank Maree_martin
Management response:Responded 10 August 2017

Hi Maree_martin, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful scenery and relaxing hot pools! We do in fact have a family rate which covers entry for two adults and three children (between 3-15...More

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Went early evening, very busy with all the skiers coming off the slopes. Lots of kids, thankfully there is an adult only pool. The parking was a nightmare, changing rooms chocker with lots of people leaving clothing in changing room, could be because lockers are...More

Thank Jay R
Management response:Responded 7 August 2017

Hi Jay R, thank you for taking the time to review us and share your thoughts! We are a very popular attraction and this can on occasion make the Springs feel a bit crowded - however, watch this space! We have upgrades and renovations planned...More

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Good little place for families. There is a few things to do there. Hot pools, cafe, ice rink, massage, star gazing. We did hot pools but was unable to do massage or star gazing that we wanted. Due to full bookings and weather conditions showing...More

Thank Prince B
Management response:Responded 7 August 2017

Hi Prince B, thank you for taking the time to leave a review! It's great to hear that you got to enjoy our daytime activities :) We do advise on our website that bookings are required for our Day Spa and it does often fill...More

Reviewed 6 August 2017

As a local of the Mackenzie I must say how extremely disappointed I was at the state of the ice skating rink yesterday, and the fact that there were NO signs up, or advise given upon paying that the rink was in "unskatable" condition. If...More

Thank 2828Jo
Management response:Responded 9 August 2017

Hi 2828Jo, thanks for taking the time to leave a review about your recent visit to our ice rink. Yes our ice groomer was out of action for a short duration last week whilst we waited for a new part to be sourced. The groomer...More

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Had an amazing time on a chilly afternoon. The ice rink was well maintained and quiet, we almost had it completely to ourselves. Great to plunge into the hot springs afterwards, working our way up to the hottest and then a hot chocolate in the...More

Thank sharonqueenstown
Management response:Responded 6 August 2017

Hi sharonqueenstown, thank you for the lovely review! It certainly sounds like you made the most of your visit, and I hope you got to enjoy some stunning mountain views in front of the open fire with your hot chocolate! I hope you get a...More

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

After driving from Queenstown to Tekapo springs we were surprised to find that the hot springs were just heated swimming pools. The tube park was overcrowded. The ice skating ringing was decent however not worth the drive. The photos on the social media accounts show...More

2  Thank jadeschokman
Management response:Responded 3 August 2017

Hi jadeschokman, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent trip to Tekapo Springs. Obviously we are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We certainly don’t perceive ourselves as just heated swimming pools and pride ourselves in...More

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Sitting in hot springs with snow falling down is amazing, the kids and parents had a fantastic time and it will be memories for ages with he experience we had. Over 20cms of snow in a few hours and the springs and pass was a...More

1  Thank Adam H
Management response:Responded 30 July 2017

Hi Adam H, thank you for the lovely review! Tekapo is the most beautiful place, and even more magical when the snow comes down! I'm so glad you get to take home this amazing memory from Tekapo Springs - and it looks like you managed...More

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Ok, Tekapo Springs is actually an excellent facility. It is good value for money, well appointed and the pools and views did not disappoint. So why the "poor" rating. KIDS! Lots and lots of annoying kids! What stops this facility from being rated as Excellent...More

1  Thank NeilUK71
Management response:Responded 6 August 2017

Hi NeilUK71, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the views, facilities and value offered by Tekapo Springs! That said I am disappointed to see that you have given us such a low rating for...More

Reviewed 23 July 2017

Was not the best weather due to rain but only two pools were open, aquaplay out due to weather which was included in the price. The pool was quite nice but not really hot enough maybe due to weather? Facilities were ok but women commented...More

Thank macroberts
Management response:Responded 2 August 2017

Hi macroberts, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate any opportunity to address issues on our site and improve the Tekapo Springs experience. Pool closures do happen from time to time, this is usually due to weather conditions and more...More

Reviewed 22 July 2017

Good family fun. The tubing offers a bit of excitement for all ages, can get busy so need to pick your time or you'll get less runs in in the hour. The ice-skating is on the shaded side of the premises so dress up warm!...More

Thank 606Jotraveller606
Management response:Responded 26 July 2017

Hi 606Jotraveller606, thank you for the lovely review! So great to hear you and your family enjoyed your time at Tekapo Springs, getting out on the snow and ice as well as warming up in the hot pools. The ice rink definitely has a chill...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
974 reviews
1.77 km away
Astro Cafe
723 reviews
1.09 km away
Reflections Restaurant
574 reviews
1.60 km away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
996 reviews
1.73 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
1,912 reviews
1.92 km away
Mount John University Observatory
505 reviews
1.09 km away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,432 reviews
1.95 km away
Air Safaris
240 reviews
4.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Maryam A
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Dunnersfireman64 | Reviewed this property |
There are no private pools, but they do have massage services etc
0
Votes
JohnyQuek
14 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Maree_martin | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is free parking and a lot of it.
1
Vote
ButtonsBitmead
12 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Joshua T | Reviewed this property |
Yes year round
0
Votes