We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekapo Springs

6 Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6550
Website
Save
Review Highlights
To Expensive

Not what we expected. Hot pools - they give the impression that they are real hot pools but they... read more

Reviewed 17 September 2017
Joshtherock
,
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Lovely pools with growing pains?

This is a brilliant idea - terraced and beautifully landscaped pools overlooking Lake Tekapo and... read more

Reviewed 16 September 2017
RosemarieNorth
,
Geneva, Switzerland
Read all 856 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Located in beautiful Lake Tekapo, Tekapo Springs is a must-do for everyone, with a fun mix of relaxing and exciting activities. Soak in the stunning views from one of our 3 hot pools (36 - 39 degrees Celsius), all beautifully landscaped with native plants. Relax in our Steam & Sauna rooms and try the cold plunge pool. Children (and the young at heart!) love our Aqua Play Area with exciting interactive water features and shallow pool for playing in. There's a deep pool for swimming a few laps or jumping off the side. In summer, dare to ride the TRIPPO, an 11 metre high waterslide with three chutes providing hours of fun! In winter, get fit and have fun on our outdoor ice skating rink or try the thrilling 150-metre Snow Tube! Soak up some “me time” with a revitalising facial or massage at the Day Spa then sample the scrumptious menu at our fully licensed cafe. By night, Soak in the Stars with Tekapo Star Gazing, the only guided hot pools and star gazing tour in New Zealand.
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good38%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“ice skating” (97 reviews)
“hot pools” (237 reviews)
“snow tubing” (48 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
LOCATION
6 Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-680 6550

Similar Things to Do in Lake Tekapo

Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 30 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Not what we expected. Hot pools - they give the impression that they are real hot pools but they are just swimming pools with hot water in them. The ice rink - the ice was covered in water and the tubing needed far more snow...More

3  Thank Joshtherock
Management response:Responded 27 September 2017

Hi Joshtherock, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm not quite sure what you mean by 'real hot pools' - I promise we are not imaginary! I think you might mean thermal pools, naturally heated? We are not thermal and do...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017

This is a brilliant idea - terraced and beautifully landscaped pools overlooking Lake Tekapo and the mountains. If you stay at the camping ground next door, even better. I visited with my mum (84) and we loved soaking in the pools. The middle pool has...More

Thank RosemarieNorth
Management response:Responded 27 September 2017

Hi RosemarieNorth, thank you for the review! Next time you visit us, you are more than welcome to park right in the area where you dropped your mum off - this is our disability parking right next to the building! I'm sure you'll be pleased...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Very disappointed in your guides lack of local knowledge of the sky's considering they were all experts in their field. Why would I want to hear about Aboriginal navigating history when Māori have a very long, rich and extensive navigating history that is well known....More

Thank tbennett2007
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Hi tbennett2007, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. While I am disappointed to hear about your experience, I am concerned that you did not come and see us about it at the time. Our tours are ever-changing and developing with our...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Visited a quiet sunday evening. Arrived at 8pm to beautifully lit pools. Freezing temps outside so hot pools were amazing. it wasn't the clearest night so not as many stars as usual in Tekapo but it did snow a little which was magical. Will be...More

Thank Belén T
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Hi Belén T, thank you for the lovely review! Sounds like you came on a beautiful night to experience the snowy skies of Tekapo, and all the better to see them from the relaxing hot pools! Kind regards, Melanie

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

LOUD Music destroyed the natural relaxation of soaking under starry skies! My reward for braving messy changing rooms & disgusting toilets. 'Lifeguards' seemed more intent on swinging hammers around than looking after the patrons. Very disappointing. I recommend heading to Hanmer Springs where nature is...More

1  Thank Angela M
Management response:Responded 24 September 2017

Hi Angela M, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was less than relaxing, I do hope you mentioned that the volume of the music was too loud during your visit as we are always...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

After a busy day this is a great place to visit and soak away those aches and pains. Try your hand at skating or luge too and you'll have had a full day of fun and bruises (if you're an amateur like me).

Thank Due_South_Films
Management response:Responded 10 September 2017

Hi Due_South_Films, thank you for the review! Great to hear you had a wonderful day at the Springs, and the hot pools are just the ticket to soak away any aches especially after a day of skiing or snow tubing! Kind regards, Melanie

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Was lots of fun, we went with our 8 yr old and infant. Dad and child went tubing heaps of fun worth doing. Went swimming was relaxing nice warm. However family room had not been cleaned as bin was half full dirty nappies we arrived...More

Thank KylieBruce
Management response:Responded 10 September 2017

Hi KylieBruce, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that the family change room was not in a good state during your visit, I hope you mentioned it to our Reception staff so that we could rectify it!...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Time slows down soaking in one of the hot pools here. Very calm and stunning location to soak up the view. A great experience.

Thank ActionAdventurer
Management response:Responded 10 September 2017

Hi ActionAdventurer, thank you so much for your review! It's so beautiful here in Tekapo, especially from the relaxing hot pools! We hope to see you back sometime soon :) Kind regards, Melanie

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful experience at tekapo hot springs. Lovely place, so relaxing. Enjoyed after snowboarding at round hill. Almost left something valuable in a locker. Remembered in time. I was fortunate enough that Sonia (the best employee at tepals hot springs..! :) ) was kindly...More

Thank Kurt W
Management response:Responded 3 September 2017

Hi Kurt W, thank you for the lovely review! I have passed on your kind words regarding Sonia and she was delighted to hear that she made your day! We're so glad that you loved the experience and look forward to having you back on...More

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We were happy to just do the hot pools - nice and hot, adult pool aswell, great views. Tube riding and ice skating was also very popular.More

Thank 324alan
Management response:Responded 31 August 2017

Hi 324alan, thank you for taking the time to review us and for the kind words. The hot pools are beautiful and relaxing at any time of the year, but our winter and summer activities are lots of fun too! Maybe you'll get to come...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
978 reviews
1.77 km away
Astro Cafe
723 reviews
1.09 km away
Reflections Restaurant
575 reviews
1.60 km away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
998 reviews
1.73 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
1,916 reviews
1.92 km away
Mount John University Observatory
505 reviews
1.09 km away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,434 reviews
1.95 km away
Air Safaris
240 reviews
4.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Maryam A
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Dunnersfireman64 | Reviewed this property |
There are no private pools, but they do have massage services etc
0
Votes
JohnyQuek
14 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Maree_martin | Reviewed this property |
Yes there is free parking and a lot of it.
1
Vote
ButtonsBitmead
12 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Joshua T | Reviewed this property |
Yes year round
0
Votes