We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tekapo Springs

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 6 Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Springs)
Phone Number:
+64 3-680 6550
Website
Today
10:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 21:00
Description:

Enjoy outdoor hot pools, ice skating & snow tubing in winter & dare...

Enjoy outdoor hot pools, ice skating & snow tubing in winter & dare to ride the new 11 metre high - 53 metre long TRIPPO water slide in summer. There is also an artificial summer tube. Enjoy a treatment at the Day Spa or relax in our fully licensed cafe onsite.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 744 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 290
    Excellent
  • 261
    Very good
  • 95
    Average
  • 25
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Great way to relax after long drive !

We enjoyed the hot spring. Children would love to try other stuffs (skating etc.). A bit pricey for tourists, but it was worth it. After 4-5 hours drive from QT, on the way to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
wisepine
,
North Sydney, Australia

Similar Things to Do in Lake Tekapo

Add Photo Write a Review

744 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 683: English reviews
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Good clean pool area with good range of temperatures available. Pity it was let down by dirty changing room. Needs regular mopping and cleaning when busy.

Helpful?
Thank caddle2
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed the hot spring. Children would love to try other stuffs (skating etc.). A bit pricey for tourists, but it was worth it. After 4-5 hours drive from QT, on the way to Christchurch, this place offered relaxation. We were not prepared, but they let us rent for $5 a piece (swim suit /towel). The locker worked well too.... More 

Helpful?
Thank wisepine
JenTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review wisepine, it is most appreciated. We agree, the pools are an enjoyable place to relax especially after a long drive! I will pass on your constructive feedback to our operations team regarding amenities such as soap and shampoo in the changing rooms. If you are ever passing though Tekapo again we... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here on a cold and rainy day and it was perfect! Good variety of pools with different temperatures. It wasn't too busy either. It's worth adding the sauna for a little extra :) Staff were super friendly! Don't understand they allow people with phones and gopro's/action cams into the pools though.. Seems a bit odd when it's a place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Esmay_G
JenTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review Esmay_G It is a super amazing place to relax especially in the rain while you are relaxing in the hot pools. I will pass on your feedback regarding Go-Pros etc to our operations team and advise the team of your lovely comments regarding our friendly staff. If you are ever back in Tekapo you can... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Reception staff were friendly and helpful when I bought a 2 days pass. Lifeguards nice and watchful. Enjoyed a wonderful Moana Revival massage and facial by highly experienced Tess (highly recommend her if booking into the Day Spa). However during my 5 visits over the 2 days (rainy weather) only ONCE I got to use the top pool which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vivian C
JenTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review Vivian C! We are super glad you enjoyed your 2 day pass and massage during your stay in Tekapo. During your visits you must of caught us cleaning the pool filters which we have to close the pools during those times (for safety reasons) so the pool can reach it optimum temperature. I will... More 

Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Tekapo Hot Springs were a fifteen min. walk from lakefront lodge and have several pools getting hotter as you go up most have a very good view of the lake.

Helpful?
Thank skippy55_13
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location overlooking the lake. Ideal to unwind and relax after a long drive. Lockers are provided but majority of people put stuff in cubby holes instead of paying for a locker.

Helpful?
Thank casualtraveller1
JenTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review casualtraveller1 We too think the hot pools are a super way to relax and unwind after a long drive. We look forward welcoming you back to Tekapo Springs in the future. Jen More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a great spot to spend a couple of hours. The facilities were spotless and the pools were well maintained. There's weren't many kids there which probably made our time even more relaxing and enjoyable. There are fairly big lockers for your stuff and the rental towels were a good size. The view from the largest pool is incredible... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jwigg2
JenTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Jwigg2! We too think Tekapo Springs are an amazing place to visit and relax! We pride ourselves on delivering a quality experience and glad you enjoyed yours. We also offer star gazing tours at night from the hot pools, so if you are coming through Tekapo in the future you should come join us again. We... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped at Tekapo Springs on our way to Queenstown and weren't disappointed. The springs are well maintained and spotlessly clean. It was very quiet when we visited so we had a choice of pools practically to ourselves. The pools range in temperature with the adults only pool being the hottest. Other activities include ice skating and in winter tubing,... More 

Helpful?
Thank HLBAM
JenTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thank you for you great review HLBAM Our 5 lovely pools are a real treat especially when you have had a long day of driving! We are super glad you enjoyed your experience! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Jen More 

Elstree
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The weather was rather grey while we were in Lake Tekapo so we decided to visit the Tekapo Springs . So pleased we did as it's a great way to while away a few hours. We were very lucky as it was quiet and only a few children. The top pool is for adults only as it is very hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andyko
JenTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Thanks you for your wonderful review Andyko! We are super happy that you made the decision to come and visit us at Tekapo Springs! We pride ourselves in having a great facility with fantastic views. You are correct you are able to hire towels and swimwear from our lovely reception staff at the front counter. We look forward to welcoming... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited in late March and made use of the hot pools. We booked through a voucher website so recieved a hefty discount, paid what the pools were worth rather than the expensive 25$ fee. Pools were nice and clean. However, for that price tag changing rooms could do with an upgrade - proper hairdryers for starters! Nice way to spend... More 

Helpful?
Thank LouP456
JenTekapoSprings, Public Relations Manager at Tekapo Springs, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review LouP456 We are glad you made use of our special deal on the one of the websites we offer discounts on. We do supply hairdryers from our reception, so next time you come to visit please see the staff and we are more than happy to oblige. Thank you for taking the time to write... More 

Travellers who viewed Tekapo Springs also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Tekapo Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tekapo Springs and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Tekapo Springs staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?