We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekapo Springs

6 Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6550
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Enjoyable0 but could've been anywhere

We visited towards the tail-end of the day, and it wasn't so busy with children running around... read more

Reviewed today
Dr_Rebecca_P
,
London, United Kingdom
Overall a pretty good experience

We took advantage of Tekapo Springs over two days. The first day was a relatively nice experience... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Anjelica J
via mobile
Read all 977 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Located in beautiful Lake Tekapo, Tekapo Springs is a must-do for everyone, with a fun mix of relaxing and exciting activities. Soak in the stunning views from one of our 3 hot pools (36 - 39 degrees Celsius), all beautifully landscaped with native plants. Relax in our Steam & Sauna rooms and try the cold plunge pool. Children (and the young at heart!) love our Aqua Play Area with exciting interactive water features and shallow pool for playing in. There's a deep pool for swimming a few laps or jumping off the side. In summer, dare to ride the TRIPPO, an 11 metre high waterslide with three chutes providing hours of fun! In winter, get fit and have fun on our outdoor ice skating rink or try the thrilling 150-metre Snow Tube! Soak up some “me time” with a revitalising facial or massage at the Day Spa then sample the scrumptious menu at our fully licensed cafe. By night, Soak in the Stars with Tekapo Star Gazing, the only guided hot pools and star gazing tour in New Zealand.
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good38%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“ice skating” (97 reviews)
“hot pools” (247 reviews)
“hot springs” (88 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
LOCATION
6 Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-680 6550
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ice skating"
in 97 reviews
"hot pools"
in 247 reviews
"hot springs"
in 88 reviews
"changing rooms"
in 35 reviews
"snow tubing"
in 50 reviews
"day pass"
in 15 reviews
"plunge pool"
in 12 reviews
"steam room"
in 11 reviews
"water slides"
in 18 reviews
"tube park"
in 12 reviews
"pools of varying temperatures"
in 11 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 9 reviews
"warm water"
in 9 reviews
"after a long day"
in 11 reviews
"relaxing experience"
in 9 reviews
"long drive"
in 14 reviews
"school holidays"
in 9 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 895 reviews

Reviewed today

We visited towards the tail-end of the day, and it wasn't so busy with children running around. Instead, lots of people just taking selfies! I agree with someone else's comment that it seemed more like a swimming pool then hot springs. It also did not...More

Thank Dr_Rebecca_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We took advantage of Tekapo Springs over two days. The first day was a relatively nice experience. We attempted the Ice Skating and soaked in the Hot Pools. The receptionist wasn't very welcoming however the rest of the staff very polite and helpful. Our second...More

Thank Anjelica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and 9 other family members including 4 young children attended the springs. Half of us did the soak and tube whilst the rest did just the soak. The pools were beautifully warm and comfortable and great for all ages. The tubing was amazing fun...More

Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Ben, Thank you for your review of Tekapo Springs. I'm delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed our hot pools! Yes, they are lovely and warm, especially on these cold winter days and definitely fun for all ages. I hope you had a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Tekapo Springs at dusk and it wasn’t overly busy but still there were people around. We felt it resembled a swimming pool and could have perhaps a few more ‘hot spring’ features even if they are man made. The music playing could have...More

Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Kate, Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. I'm sorry to hear that you felt our hot pools resembled a swimming pool. The three hot pools and two cooler pools are named in honour of the lakes, rivers or tarns of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First visit to the pools on a getaway weekend from Christchurch. What a great facility for Lake Tekapo!! Idyllic setting and good facilities. Weather was beautiful being a sunny winters day so perfect for enjoy the mountain scape. Only reason I didn't rate it 5...More

Thank JoW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi JoW1961, Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed our hot pools and your weekend getaway in Tekapo - sounds perfect! Yes, we do have stunning views of the lake and snowy mountains in winter. It...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overpriced. Overcrowded. Dirty. Organized chaos at best. Did a 180 and got the heck out of Dodge. The photos are misleading. Tourist trapMore

1  Thank Drew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Drew, I have contacted TripAdvisor several times to have this review removed as I think it's very unfair to leave a 1-star review when you didn't actually experience Tekapo Springs. Unfortunately TripAdvisor decided that the review should remain published. I'm sorry that your brief...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Kids enjoyed the snow slide but pretty expensive for a few slides down a snowy slope. Pools were being cleaned when we were in the pools, but the overall atmosphere was a bit grubby, especially in changing rooms. Cafe Ok if you like deep fried...More

Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sara, Thank you for placing feedback about your experience at Tekapo Springs. I'm very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit and don't plan to return. Regarding our pricing, I hope you purchased the "soak and tube" combo which is $41 per...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We drove in from Christchurch with overseas guests and arrived at the hot pools around 630pm. After a relaxing time we all decided to eat at the cafe near the entrance before getting the kids home in bed. It was the quickest and easiest option....More

1  Thank KaterinaLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Katerina, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback. Firstly, please accept my sincere apologies for your less-than-optimal experience at our cafe. I'm very sorry to hear that you couldn't eat with your friends and had to go back to the town centre...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hot pools were expensive and we weren't informed that the childrens area was not open. There are then only two pools for kids and as it was a windy and chilly day the middle pool was the only one we could go in. Alot...More

Thank juliamutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Julia, Thank you for your feedback about Tekapo Springs. I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. In winter it can be very cold and and there isn't as much interest in our Aqua Play Area. Therefore, we open it...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family took to ice skating really quickly and the hot pools are lovely even in the middle of winter.

Thank Nudine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTekapoSprings, Sales & Marketing Executive at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Nudine, Thank you for reviewing Tekapo Springs. I'm happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the ice skating - it's great to try new things together. And yes, our hot pools are particularly delightful in winter! Warm Regards, Amy Menard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
Peppers Bluewater Resort
3,680 reviews
1.41 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
733 reviews
1.67 km away
The Godley Hotel
556 reviews
1.86 km away
The Chalet Boutique Motel
352 reviews
2.19 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
1,092 reviews
1.80 km away
Astro Cafe
827 reviews
1.03 km away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
1,158 reviews
1.76 km away
Reflections Restaurant
697 reviews
1.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
2,187 reviews
1.60 km away
Mount John Summit Circuit Track
38 reviews
.13 km away
Earth and Sky
824 reviews
1.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Silvia_aurelia
17 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Breath1070 | Reviewed this property |
I would think so, in answer to both questions; but you mat want to contact them direct to confirm.
1
Vote
poiuyty
10 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Maree_martin | Reviewed this property |
If you go onto Tekapo Hot Springs website they have a variety of combo deals or specials available for certain days and certain times of the year. On the "specials" days they also show how many of these tickets they still... More
1
Vote
Maryam A
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from AmyTekapoSprings | Property representative |
Hi there, We don't have private couple's pools but we do have an adults only pool. We also have a full Day Spa offering a wide range of massages, facials and hand/feet care. Google our website - Tekapo Springs - for more... More
0
Votes