We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tekapo Bike Hire

Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:30 PM

Tekapo Bike Hire
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
All photos (8)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good25%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible25%
14 Jan 2018
“MTB hire”
3 Jan 2017
“I had a wheelie good time!”
Hire bikes in Lake Tekapo by the hour or by the day. Late model comfortable bikes, mountain bikes and tandem. Go further around Lake Tekapo and enjoy the remoteness of the MacKenzie country.
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 6:30 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
12 Aorangi Cres, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
+64 22 046 8302
Improve This Listing
Reviews (4)
Filter reviews
3 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
See what travellers are saying:
Updating list...
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Hired a hardtail MTB size L in arvo. Was the only one available @ bikehirenz.com / Tailer Madw Backpackers. Good suggestions provided for MTB trails. During the ride I found out it was worn out gear. Crank creeking. Gear (shark teeth), pinion and chain worn...More

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank Luuk d
Lake-Tekapo-NZ, other at Tekapo Bike Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Hi, sorry to hear that you had trouble with the bike. You were charged for the time you had the bike which was just shy of 4 hours. The hire is charged for the time you have the bike, not actual riding time. If there...More

Reviewed 4 January 2017

Me and the Mrs took the tandem out for a lake side ride to the hot pools because the Mrs made me. She was right once again and I really did have an awesome time. I really liked being able to hire the bike by...More

Date of experience: December 2016
6  Thank eyreport
Reviewed 19 October 2016

I enjoyed bike riding in tekapo so much! Easy to bike around with nice trails!! The bikes are very nice and comfortable for cheap price!!! Must do attraction in tekapo! And i want to come back and do it again ;-)

Date of experience: September 2016
3  Thank TomoyoU6
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
The Godley Hotel
570 reviews
.29 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
740 reviews
.34 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
3,945 reviews
.41 km away
The Chalet Boutique Motel
359 reviews
.75 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 nearby restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
1,160 reviews
.33 km away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
1,226 reviews
.28 km away
Reflections Restaurant
742 reviews
.34 km away
Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar
386 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 31 nearby attractions
Lake Tekapo
2,309 reviews
.34 km away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,785 reviews
.76 km away
Mackenzie Sheep Dog Statue
393 reviews
.76 km away
HeliServicesNZ Tekapo
90 reviews
.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tammy D
2 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lake-Tekapo-NZ | Property representative |
Hi, for short term hire (a few of hours) bookings are not required. If you require them for a day or longer, then a booking is recommended.