We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Earth and Sky

Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Refound Problems

I booked the trip thought their website and when I got there they said they couldn't find the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Leticia T
most beautiful sky ever

The experience overcame the expectation and we were so impressed by the level of organization and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
diegolmelo
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Read all 817 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Earth & Sky Stargazing and Observatory tours operate in beautiful Lake Tekapo situated in the South Island. Visitors find enjoyment, entertainment and inspiration through a ‘hands-on’ experience as knowledgeable astronomy guides share the wonders of space, promote a scientific understanding of the southern night sky, and help reconnect people with a special part of nature using powerful telescopes. Tours operate at two big sky locations including the University of Canterbury Mt John Research Observatory. Lake Tekapo sits at the heart of the gold ranked ’Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve‘ (est 2012) - Earth & Sky - the best attraction in New Zealand to show you the universe.
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“hot chocolate” (83 reviews)
“milky way” (68 reviews)
“mt john” (76 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
LOCATION
Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 83 reviews
"milky way"
in 68 reviews
"mt john"
in 76 reviews
"clear night"
in 60 reviews
"cloud cover"
in 44 reviews
"group photo"
in 25 reviews
"red light"
in 20 reviews
"night tour"
in 44 reviews
"twilight tour"
in 25 reviews
"naked eye"
in 28 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 14 reviews
"full refund"
in 20 reviews
"southern cross"
in 25 reviews
"full moon"
in 20 reviews
"dslr camera"
in 17 reviews
"knowledgeable guides"
in 11 reviews
"laser pointer"
in 8 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the trip thought their website and when I got there they said they couldn't find the payment, and that I should pay again and the you recharge me. It was taking i while for me to get my refound so i called them,...More

Thank Leticia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigJ952, Business Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologise that the process for your refund has taken this long. As you can appreciate as a business we do have to take many precaution's due to fraudulent activity. I have been updated on your situation...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The experience overcame the expectation and we were so impressed by the level of organization and caution with the environment. The sky was so clear that almost we could touch the stars and satelites. They guide was fun and showed a lot of knowledge. We...More

Thank diegolmelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigJ952, Business Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your review and recent visit to EarthandSky Lake Tekapo. It is great to read that the sky was perfectly clear for the duration of your tour and you found our Astronomy guides to be fun and hold great knowledge on...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
9411
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

FANTASTIC! Clearly all guides loved their job and the universe. Informative and very well organised. Wear all warm items of clothing you own and accept their jackets when offered. As soon as it’s windy it’s freezing on the mountain! Highly recommend this tour.More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Business Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and your recent experience on the Mt John Night Observatory Tour. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our tour with the ‘stars’ of the show our passionate guides. It is our hope...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Great tour guides and bus driver. Everything well explained. Good coats provided. Gloves and beanies a must. Very cold on mountain. The stars are amazing here. Black sky Reserve. I’ve never experienced anything like it. Must do.More

Thank Adriandcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Business Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your review and recent experience on the Mt John night Observatory Tour. We are glad that the tour for filled your expectations and you took the great advice on grabbing the Antarctic coats provided, these...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

This area in the south island is the largest Gold star rated dark sky reserve. This company run private tours of the nearby Mt. John observatory, about 10-15 minutes drive via their tour shuttle bus (included in price) from their tour office in Lake Tekapo...More

1  Thank Dom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

We had already walked up Mount Cook during the daytime, however we decided to spend the $150 dollars each to get closer look at the observatory observatory. We were a little disappointed as we thought we would be spending more time inside the domes. Be...More

Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Business Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on the Mt John Night Observatory Tour. The hike to Mt John during the day is always a popular route attracting people from all around the world. With Mt John being our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

The tour was at a very basic level, the complementary astrophotographer's photographys on my camera were rubbish (ISO way too high) and the group size was too big for the number of telescopes which resulted in quite alot of standing about. Unfortunately would not recommend...More

Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Business Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your visitor experience with our team. We are disappointed to read that you felt your tour experience did not meet nor exceed your expectation. We seldom receive comments such as this regarding our tour quality or Astrophotography...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We had been waiting for this tour having heard of the dark sky reserve. We were quite worried that it would get cancelled as just the pervious day storm had hit the North island and we also had snowfall when driving to lake tekapo. To...More

1  Thank PadminiGopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Kia ora, Thank you for your TripAdvisor review for your recent visit to Lake Tekapo. It is great to read that you were able to enjoy your tour, despite pending adverse weather conditions. Our team are trained to deal with any unpredictable weather. We are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

We found this tour very informative and fascinating - loved the stunning night sky without any light pollution, enjoyed the guides sharing their stories and knowledge, and appreciated the opportunity to look through telescopes. Also appreciated having astro-photographer there take photos on our camera for...More

Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share a review regarding your recent visit to the University of Canterbury Mt. John Observatory. We appreciate you taking the time to add our Earth & Sky tours to your travel itinerary, here in New Zealand....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

This is one of the most memorable nights I’ve had in New Zealand ever in 25 years. Don’t miss out and go! We had a new moon so it was super dark and my kids loved it- 9 and 12. The guides were just amazing...More

Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Kia ora, Thank you for your ‘out of this world’ review regarding your recent visitor experience with our team here in Lake Tekapo. We are thrilled to read that you were able to add our tour to your trip itinerary, and to read such high...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
729 reviews
.14 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
3,537 reviews
.24 km away
The Godley Hotel
549 reviews
.33 km away
The Chalet Boutique Motel
350 reviews
.69 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
1,073 reviews
.26 km away
Run 76 Cafe
581 reviews
.15 km away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
1,134 reviews
.24 km away
Reflections Restaurant
680 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
2,155 reviews
.45 km away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,652 reviews
.67 km away
Tekapo Springs
948 reviews
1.54 km away
Mackenzie Sheep Dog Statue
352 reviews
.67 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pei Ee C
18 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from James G | Reviewed this property |
Not that I know about. But it's quite late, so it may not be suited for young children.
1
Vote
wipasirik2015
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Adila B | Reviewed this property |
We did the night tour but I believe they also offer day tours. Night is probably best especially if the sky is clear.
0
Votes
Evi Y
23 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sandy H | Reviewed this property |
We did notice a disabled parking bay and some smoother concrete paths to some of the areas. They provide great coats but as others said take your own warm hat and gloves and a rug for the wheelchair. We did the twilight tour... More
0
Votes
;