We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Earth and Sky

Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6960
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing view of the nights sky

The day of our trip we weren't sure we were going to go up to Mt. John observatory. We were told... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Zben89
Beautiful place to see the stars and milky way but not really worth the price

My friends and I joined the Mt John Observatory tour on 10 Sep 17. I initially joined the 8pm tour... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
ChyeYing
Read all 714 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Earth & Sky Stargazing and Observatory tours operate in beautiful Lake Tekapo situated in the South Island. Visitors find enjoyment, entertainment and inspiration through a ‘hands-on’ experience as knowledgeable astronomy guides share the wonders of space, promote a scientific understanding of the southern night sky, and help reconnect people with a special part of nature using powerful telescopes. Tours operate at two big sky locations including the University of Canterbury Mt John Research Observatory. Lake Tekapo sits at the heart of the gold ranked ’Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve‘ (est 2012) - Earth & Sky - the best attraction in New Zealand to show you the universe.
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“hot chocolate” (73 reviews)
“night sky” (92 reviews)
“milky way” (57 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 00:00
LOCATION
Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
CONTACT
+64 3-680 6960
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 613 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

The day of our trip we weren't sure we were going to go up to Mt. John observatory. We were told that the weather for the night was looking a little iffy but to come in anyway and a choice can be made then. We're...More

Thank Zben89
Reviewed 2 days ago

My friends and I joined the Mt John Observatory tour on 10 Sep 17. I initially joined the 8pm tour but the weather was very bad, almost 100% cloudy.So I changed to 11pm tour instead. I was lucky to have 80% clear sky just 30mins...More

Thank ChyeYing
A TripAdvisor Member
Hobart
2
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

My partner and I did the night time tour after reading raving reviews. It is extremely expensive for what you get ($150 to look through 3 telescopes) and at the sky with a very knowledgeable guide. It would have been great to see more, not...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They provide guided tours to Mount John University Observatory, not in the observatory, but outside...at night. See my review on Mount John University ObservatoryMore

Thank CookieBaby2010
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you felt our tours are worth the visit! Comments such as yours truly delight our team and we are thrilled that you have taken the time to share your experience on our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are excited to do the tour because we couldn't do the tour when we were here 3 years ago because of the weather. We were not disappointed. The star gazing was just unreal and the tour guides were very knowledgable and provided information in...More

Thank Jess S
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your excellent review and for taking the time to share your thoughts with our team. The weather in Lake Tekapo is extremely changeable and can sometimes be unpredictable. We are delighted that you chose to revisit us with hopes for...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time we booked it was cancelled because of the weather and this time it wasn't looking good due to heavy cloud but amazingly it cleared and we were able to do the tour which was well worth doing and informative. Even the snow capped...More

Thank Andyroogolf
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your visitor experience with our team, your time and effort is greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you chose to revisit our facilities after unforeseen weather circumstances during your first attempt - the weather here...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

been on this tour in the summer and in the winter (although my winter one was canceled due to strong wind). The staff was very knowledgable and friendly to explain anything you want to know about stars, in here you get to see lots stars...More

Thank FWils68z
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you joined an Earth & Sky Tour last summer! With perfect conditions the view of the Milky Way is truly breathtaking, it is great to hear that...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a clear moonless night in August to see all the stars in their glory. Southern Cross, Milky Way, Jupiter and Saturn's rings. Very knowledgable guides. Nice warm jackets. Recommended.More

Thank 324alan
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, We are thrilled to hear of your recent visit to the University of Canterbury Mt. John Observatory! It sounds as though your experience with our team here at Earth & Sky was out of this world! We are always thrilled to hear from...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It sounds like a great idea but we all thought that we would be able to go into the large Observatory... no, that was never part of the deal... little baby one instead. Pretty cool to see Saturn but really not enough to the evening....More

2  Thank Chenille12961
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, We wish to thank you for sharing your personal experience. We are disappointed that you felt that our Mt. John Observatory Tour was not reaching for the stars! Here at Earth & Sky we have a multitude of tour options and would recommend...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having been to Tekapo on a number of occasions but never on a clear night, I was fortunate enough to find myself with plans to be nearby during a three-day run of fine weather and booked myself in. They will only confirm that your excursion...More

Thank James G
Margaret M, General Manager at Earth and Sky, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our team. From reading your review, it is clear that visiting us here in Lake Tekapo, was a dream come true. Your comments regarding our team are most welcomed, from our lovely...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
941 reviews
19.94 km away
Poppies Cafe
662 reviews
22.57 km away
Astro Cafe
695 reviews
21.18 km away
Shawty's Cafe
520 reviews
22.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
1,855 reviews
20.21 km away
Mt. Cook Alpine Salmon Shop
149 reviews
16.33 km away
Mount John University Observatory
475 reviews
21.18 km away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,379 reviews
20.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pei Ee C
18 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 324alan | Reviewed this property |
Pei Ee C, we had our 7 year old kids, so we went on the earlier Twilight Tour. That started at 6.30pm in August. it was dark pretty much the whole time. They have to be 8yo to go on the later tour.
1
Vote
wipasirik2015
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Adila B | Reviewed this property |
We did the night tour but I believe they also offer day tours. Night is probably best especially if the sky is clear.
0
Votes
Evi Y
23 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sandy H | Reviewed this property |
We did notice a disabled parking bay and some smoother concrete paths to some of the areas. They provide great coats but as others said take your own warm hat and gloves and a rug for the wheelchair. We did the twilight tour... More
0
Votes