We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Air Safaris

State Highway 8 | Tekapo Aerodrome, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6880
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Grand traverse

I write now so I don't forget anything. We were booked for yesterday but the weather wasn't good so... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2016
oscarjosefina
,
Girona, Spain
via mobile
Amazing

This was the most fantastic experience I got for our wedding anniversary. My husband was thrilled... read more

Reviewed 2 July 2016
Angiewilliams2001
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 232 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
This premier Aoraki / Mount Cook flightseeing experience, 'The Grand Traverse' encompasses two World Heritage National Parks in a tour of 200kms amongst New Zealand's highest mountains and largest glaciers. From the golden tussock lands, turquoise glacier lakes and huge glacial valleys of the Mackenzie Basin around Aoraki Mt Cook, Mt Tasman and the Tasman Glacier to the coastal plains of Westland and the dramatic icefalls of the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Every passenger has a window seat and all aircraft have wings-above to ensure optimum viewing below. Pilots provide a full and informative commentary with multi language commentary brochures supplied. We also offer exciting helicopter flights from Tekapo with alpine landing and an incredible Combo Flightseeing Experience featuring the MacKenzie Explorer heli-flight plus Grand Traverse fixed wing. The best of both worlds!
  • Excellent93%
  • Very good4%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“both sides” (13 reviews)
“mt cook” (47 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:30
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
State Highway 8 | Tekapo Aerodrome, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-680 6880
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 50 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

I write now so I don't forget anything. We were booked for yesterday but the weather wasn't good so they rebooked us and I can say it was worth the wait. Our pilot was Matt and we flew over the glaciers and next to Mount...More

1  Thank oscarjosefina
Air_Safaris, Front Office Manager at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Hello oscarjosefina, Many thanks for taking the time to share a review of your flight. We're sorry you were unable to fly on your original booking but glad you were able to join us when we had some better conditions. We appreciate your comments about...More

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

This was the most fantastic experience I got for our wedding anniversary. My husband was thrilled. Very professional, excellent service, and personal. Would recommend this to everyone, out of this world, just amazing.

1  Thank Angiewilliams2001
Air_Safaris, Front Office Manager at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Hi Angie, Thank you for taking the time to review your flight, we're pleased you enjoyed your Air Safaris experience. Your comments are greatly appreciated as is that wonderful recommendation! Thanks again, The Air Safaris Team

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

The scenery was,of course, magnificent. The plane was great, wings above the cabin allowing great photos through the large windows. The staff from booking counter in Lake Tekapo to the airport and pilot were brilliant. My wife was a little uneasy and we felt that...More

1  Thank Adrian R
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We had booked this flight as a back up to a helicopter flight from Franz Josef in case the weather wasn't good while we were there. Although we were able to have the helicopter ride, the weather in the Mt Cook area was so good...More

1  Thank WH56
Reviewed 7 June 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our first year Anniversary and what a better way to start the day with a one hour scenic flight over The Grand Traverse. Our Pilot Leon was friendly, knowledgable and provided great commentary, oh yeah, and the flight was...More

Thank Paula S
Air_Safaris, Front Office Manager at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Hi Paula, Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your flight. Firstly congratulations on your first anniversary! We're pleased you chose to celebrate it with us and even more so that you enjoyed the Grand Traverse experience so much. Thank you...More

Reviewed 30 May 2016

Absolutely amazing.......Mr.Tim and Senior Tim..........was simply superb. There front office staff, airbase staff, pilot and all other staffs were so professional... we thoroughly enjoyed the scenic ride..................!! dont ever miss it friends when u r at lake tekapo......... look for Mr. Tim & Senior Tim.............every...More

Thank Thomas J
Reviewed 24 May 2016

If you travel on holiday to New Zealand and tour the country you will want to make the most of it. We took the flight with Air Safaris, over Lake Tekapo and to view the glaciers. The views were tremendous and worth the cost of...More

1  Thank Vince-8619
Reviewed 21 May 2016

This is a top quality experience with genuine people committed to quality and giving the best passenger experience. They judge when flight conditions will be best, and though this meant there were no flights for a few days, the wait was well worth it. Matt's...More

Thank penguin314598
Air_Safaris, Front Office Manager at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Hello penguin314598, Thank you for such a lovely review and great comments! We are sorry you had to wait around for a few days before we were able to get some good flying conditions, a downside to our stunning alpine location unfortunately, however we greatly...More

Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

Prior to my trip I'd been in touch with the guys at air safaris about the weather & the best / most likely day to fly & they'd been very helpful & efficient at getting back to me. While you can never predict the weather,...More

Thank Liz H
Air_Safaris, Front Office Manager at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Hello Liz, Thank you for sharing a review! By the sounds of it you were caught up in our week of terrible weather in mid May, thank you so much for being so patient and understanding, it seems the wait was worth it and you...More

Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

I decided to try the scenic flight with Air Safaris after a friend had recommended and It was a fantastic experience. The view of Mt Cook, the valleys and The Tasman Sea as well as the glacier is absolutely stunning. In addition to this, everyone...More

Thank Dina P
Air_Safaris, Front Office Manager at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Hi deafleopard80, Thank you for sharing your review. We greatly appreciate your comments about the team; we are very proud, and lucky, to have a team who all enjoy sharing the experience with passengers. I have passed your comments on to Rob also. We hope...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
903 reviews
2.96 km away
Astro Cafe
661 reviews
2.46 km away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
903 reviews
2.91 km away
Reflections Restaurant
520 reviews
2.81 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
1,778 reviews
3.21 km away
Mount John University Observatory
444 reviews
2.46 km away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,316 reviews
3.25 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
paulinecarroll7
Price for a couple in October
20 July 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Air_Safaris | Property representative |
Good morning and thank you for your inquiry. When you book on our website the prices for the new season (October onwards) will be displayed to you when you select your preferred day and flight time. If it is not what you are... More
0
Votes
Jamie W
We are headed to Lake Tekapo in January and would like to book a flight. Is it best to book once we arrive in case of weather?
15 December 2015|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from Air_Safaris | Property representative |
Hi Jamie, Booking is advised as especially in the busier months some time slots can fill up. As mentioned in some of the other responses here we do not charge until on the day and any cancellations due weather are free of... More
0
Votes