We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Air Safaris

Open Now: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Share

Air Safaris
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
301
All photos (301)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent94%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“grand traverse”(63 reviews)
“window seat”(16 reviews)
“mt cook”(50 reviews)
About
This premier Aoraki / Mount Cook flightseeing experience, 'The Grand Traverse' encompasses two World Heritage National Parks in a tour of 200kms amongst New Zealand's highest mountains and largest glaciers. From the golden tussock lands, turquoise...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
State Highway 8 | Tekapo Aerodrome, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-680 6880
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 26 March 2008

We boarded the small 8 passenger plane outside of Lake Tekapo at Air Safaris for The Grand Traverse of Mt. Cook. As we took off we could see the beautiful turquoise waters of Lake Tekapo beneath us. We flew over the high country sheep farms...More

4  Thank gayla
Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We have flown numerous times in a small plane. They have all been excellent experiences and so should have been this one. Unfortunately, we came away disappointed and poorer! The reviews for this flight over Mount Cook and the glaziers were excellent but our experience...More

2  Thank JoKen M
Air_Safaris, Owner at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Hello JoKen M, Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate the lovely comments in regards to our team, facilities, the flight itself and our customer service; however, we are extremely sorry to hear you were unhappy with your overall experience, even though you got...More

Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Air Safaris
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
223
5
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
223
5
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grand traverse window seat mt cook southern alps scenic flight franz josef minute flight great flight smooth flight superb experience great commentary new zealand bucket list south island highlight of our trip stunning scenery pilot
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
221 - 230 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I was very fortunate to take the receptionists advice and booked a flight a day early as she expected the weather to change the following day, and yes it did. My one hour flight took two hours as we flew to a second airport to...More

Thank Dexx
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hours flight was amazing, everyone got a window seat and the pilot flew the Cessna Caravan around each sight so both sides of the plane could see. The company was small but very professional and helped ensure we got a good flight the day...More

Thank IsleofWightPoshbird
Annabelle B, Public Relations Manager at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a fantastic comment! Great things come in small packages :) We all love what we do and want all our customers to get the most out of their experience as they possibly can. It was great that...More

Reviewed 1 February 2012

I read about the Air Safaris on Tripadvisor and I'm so glad we decided to do it! We stayed at Peppers Bluewater Resort and then decided to see the Fox Glacier and Mt Cook via the Air Safari instead of driving there. We had a...More

1  Thank jasreenmayal
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We were lucky with the weather and had a thoroughly enjoyable Grand Traverse flight. There were only 6 of us on board and our pilot, Tom, provided an excellent commentary throughout the 50 minute flight. Not cheap but definitely worth every dollar to get such...More

1  Thank Chris R
Reviewed 13 December 2011

When we at Lake Tekapo in 2011 we looked at doing the Air Safari flight. However, the weather was not good enough and we had to wait until we came back this year, 2011. What attracted me was the flight was 50 minutes and travelled...More

Thank Geertje37
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I was lucky enough to win two scenic flights with Air Safaris, which I was able to take on my recent trip to NZ. While battling with the highly changeable NZ weather caused some delays in being able to fly, once up in the air...More

Thank woolygirl1
Annabelle A, Marketing & Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you very much for your comment. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your flight - it's great to get a perspective on this area from the air!! It was great you could hang around for the weather to clear ... the weather can be very...More

Reviewed 23 November 2010

We went on the Air Safaris scenic flight from Lake Tekapo and had a fantastic flight. The pilot was knowledgable and friendly and his commentary was first class. We flew over Lake Tekapo and up to the Southern Alps, we had fantastic views of the...More

Thank tpodUk
Reviewed 9 May 2010

A definite must. Great flight coupled with the pilots amazing knowledge of the area. Breath taking scenery.

Thank Mfoggy
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We decided to take Air Safaris Grand Traverse from Franz Joseph. We had a superb view of Mt Cook and the Southern Alps from the 8 seater fixed wing plane. There were breathtaking views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We flew really close to...More

1  Thank 2poms
Reviewed 26 March 2008

We boarded the small 8 passenger plane outside of Lake Tekapo at Air Safaris for The Grand Traverse of Mt. Cook. As we took off we could see the beautiful turquoise waters of Lake Tekapo beneath us. We flew over the high country sheep farms...More

4  Thank gayla
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Peppers Bluewater Resort
3,830 reviews
5.30 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
738 reviews
5.61 km away
The Godley Hotel
562 reviews
5.72 km away
The Chalet Boutique Motel
353 reviews
6.20 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 nearby restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
1,125 reviews
5.71 km away
Astro Cafe
857 reviews
5.10 km away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
1,195 reviews
5.65 km away
Reflections Restaurant
714 reviews
5.57 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 29 nearby attractions
Lake Tekapo
2,238 reviews
5.54 km away
Mount John University Observatory
602 reviews
6.13 km away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,733 reviews
6.19 km away
Mount John Summit Circuit Track
45 reviews
4.58 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ikihappy
27 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from traveller2148 | Reviewed this property |
We were advised to take the flight at first opportunity in case weather gets worse later. We did the plane flight over mt cook, fox and Franz Josef glaciers which was excellent. Only booked day before and there was plenty of... More
1
Vote
paulinecarroll7
20 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Air_Safaris | Property representative |
Good morning and thank you for your inquiry. When you book on our website the prices for the new season (October onwards) will be displayed to you when you select your preferred day and flight time. If it is not what you are... More
0
Votes
Jamie W
15 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Air_Safaris | Property representative |
Hi Jamie, Booking is advised as especially in the busier months some time slots can fill up. As mentioned in some of the other responses here we do not charge until on the day and any cancellations due weather are free of... More
0
Votes