We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Air Safaris

State Highway 8 | Tekapo Aerodrome, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6880
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Expensive but spectacular

My wife and I decided to take the Grand Traverse trip which lasted one hour. I was a little... read more

Reviewed 31 March 2017
PeterLeggett
,
Brampton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Perfect!

Disappointed because my helicopter tour had been cancelled, I dejectedly headed toward Wanaka... read more

Reviewed 25 March 2017
bas0921
,
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Read all 243 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
This premier Aoraki / Mount Cook flightseeing experience, 'The Grand Traverse' encompasses two World Heritage National Parks in a tour of 200kms amongst New Zealand's highest mountains and largest glaciers. From the golden tussock lands, turquoise glacier lakes and huge glacial valleys of the Mackenzie Basin around Aoraki Mt Cook, Mt Tasman and the Tasman Glacier to the coastal plains of Westland and the dramatic icefalls of the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Every passenger has a window seat and all aircraft have wings-above to ensure optimum viewing below. Pilots provide a full and informative commentary with multi language commentary brochures supplied. We also offer exciting helicopter flights from Tekapo with alpine landing and an incredible Combo Flightseeing Experience featuring the MacKenzie Explorer heli-flight plus Grand Traverse fixed wing. The best of both worlds!
  • Excellent93%
  • Very good4%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“grand traverse” (57 reviews)
“mt cook” (48 reviews)
“both sides” (13 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
State Highway 8 | Tekapo Aerodrome, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-680 6880
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 30 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I decided to take the Grand Traverse trip which lasted one hour. I was a little reluctant at first as at $340 for 2 it seemed expensive. However afterwards I felt it was well worth the money. I was lucky enough to...More

3  Thank PeterLeggett
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Disappointed because my helicopter tour had been cancelled, I dejectedly headed toward Wanaka.. But, I happened to notice a small office for Air Safaris near Lake Pukaki.. Vacant.. However, there was a number to call.. I figured I had nothing to lose, so I called.....More

Thank bas0921
Air_Safaris, Pilot at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to review the Grand Traverse flight with us here in Lake Tekapo! Richard, myself and the rest of the team certainly appreciate your lovely comments about your experience with us here, I'm really pleased we could make the flight...More

Reviewed 10 March 2017

The Air Safari over Lake Tekapo was absolutely amazing. We were lucky to have crystal clear weather that day and photos just don't do it any justice. You have to see it yourself to enjoy the experience. Highly recommended for everyone.

Thank Chris S
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I understand that clouds happen, but it was not on this day. This is a must do if the weather is clear. I have heard that multiple times, but I wholeheartedly agree.

Thank bsum73
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Air Safaris' Grand Traverse (a one hour flight) is a superb experience! The booking, 'check in', and flight arrangements were all dead easy, friendly and efficient, and the aeroplanes ideal - high wings, large windows, single seat rows meant everyone got a good view, and...More

Thank Susan_C_SN5109
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

This sounds like a great trip but it rarely works. We did not get to fly and understand less than 10% of flights take place due to weather conditions. You need to make sure you have an alternative plan to see what you want to...More

Thank Andy H
Air_Safaris, Owner at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi Andy H, We are very sorry you didn’t get to experience our “Grand Traverse” flight; it is a real highlight for people visiting N.Z. I can understand your disappointment with the weather around Mount Cook. I am very concerned that you have somehow misinterpreted...More

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Do yourselves a favour and book this flight. Our pilot Matt was great with running commentary. Day was perfect

1  Thank Jill H
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Grand traverse: superb views over lakes Tekapo and Pukaki, glaciers, mt cook, mountains, etc. Really magnificent. However choose your seats carefully. The best ones are in the front and back of the plane. Unfortunately for me, i ended up in a seat in the middle...More

Thank frogabroad1
Air_Safaris, Owner at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi Frogabroad1, Thanks very much for your review, we are really happy you enjoyed your “Grand Traverse” flight and got superb views. The seating in our aircraft is allocated by the pilot at loading, we have a strict loading policy to ensure our aircraft stay...More

Reviewed 9 February 2017

Excellent flight, beautiful views, well worth the money. Would gladly do it again. We had the luck of clear weather.

Thank mdaams53
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hi Mdaams53, Thanks a lot for your review! Glad you had a great experience with us and the weather was on your side, it does make it all that more special when we have awesome weather. Hope you have a lovely day :) Air Safaris

Reviewed 30 January 2017

We arranged our Air Safari months in advance as we would be visiting New Zealand from San Francisco. The day we were scheduled to go on our Air Safari, the weather was not cooperating. The fine folks at the Air Safari office suggested we check...More

1  Thank THSF
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Hi THSF, Sorry that the weather wasn't the greatest on your day of arrival! It has been a little challaging this season, especially more so for the pilots wanting to get up in the air to share the experience with people like yourself. We do...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
986 reviews
5.71 km away
Astro Cafe
730 reviews
5.10 km away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
1,007 reviews
5.65 km away
Run 76 Cafe
539 reviews
5.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
1,940 reviews
5.99 km away
Mount John University Observatory
511 reviews
5.10 km away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,459 reviews
6.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
paulinecarroll7
20 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Air_Safaris | Property representative |
Good morning and thank you for your inquiry. When you book on our website the prices for the new season (October onwards) will be displayed to you when you select your preferred day and flight time. If it is not what you are... More
0
Votes
Jamie W
15 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Air_Safaris | Property representative |
Hi Jamie, Booking is advised as especially in the busier months some time slots can fill up. As mentioned in some of the other responses here we do not charge until on the day and any cancellations due weather are free of... More
0
Votes