We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: State Highway 8 | Tekapo Aerodrome, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-680 6880
Website
Today
08:00 - 17:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 17:30
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

This premier Aoraki / Mount Cook flightseeing experience, 'The Grand...

This premier Aoraki / Mount Cook flightseeing experience, 'The Grand Traverse' encompasses two World Heritage National Parks in a tour of 200kms amongst New Zealand's highest mountains and largest glaciers. From the golden tussock lands, turquoise glacier lakes and huge glacial valleys of the Mackenzie Basin around Aoraki Mt Cook, Mt Tasman and the Tasman Glacier to the coastal plains of Westland and the dramatic icefalls of the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Every passenger has a window seat and all aircraft have wings-above to ensure optimum viewing below. Pilots provide a full and informative commentary with multi language commentary brochures supplied. We also offer exciting helicopter flights from Tekapo with alpine landing and an incredible Combo Flightseeing Experience featuring the MacKenzie Explorer heli-flight plus Grand Traverse fixed wing. The best of both worlds!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 230 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 187
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Perfect!

Disappointed because my helicopter tour had been cancelled, I dejectedly headed toward Wanaka.. But, I happened to notice a small office for Air Safaris near Lake Pukaki... read more

Reviewed 25 March 2017
bas0921
,
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 194: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
251 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Disappointed because my helicopter tour had been cancelled, I dejectedly headed toward Wanaka.. But, I happened to notice a small office for Air Safaris near Lake Pukaki.. Vacant.. However, there was a number to call.. I figured I had nothing to lose, so I called.. I spoke to Richard who set me up with an air safari from Lake Tekapo... More 

Helpful?
Thank bas0921
Air_Safaris, Pilot at Air Safaris, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to review the Grand Traverse flight with us here in Lake Tekapo! Richard, myself and the rest of the team certainly appreciate your lovely comments about your experience with us here, I'm really pleased we could make the flight work out for you. It was certainly a great day for flying in the Mount... More 

Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017

The Air Safari over Lake Tekapo was absolutely amazing. We were lucky to have crystal clear weather that day and photos just don't do it any justice. You have to see it yourself to enjoy the experience. Highly recommended for everyone.

Helpful?
Thank chris_sharry
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
226 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I understand that clouds happen, but it was not on this day. This is a must do if the weather is clear. I have heard that multiple times, but I wholeheartedly agree.

Helpful?
Thank bsum73
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Air Safaris' Grand Traverse (a one hour flight) is a superb experience! The booking, 'check in', and flight arrangements were all dead easy, friendly and efficient, and the aeroplanes ideal - high wings, large windows, single seat rows meant everyone got a good view, and our pilot (Joe) made sure he passed the main sights 'left and right' to ensure... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan_C_SN5109
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

This sounds like a great trip but it rarely works. We did not get to fly and understand less than 10% of flights take place due to weather conditions. You need to make sure you have an alternative plan to see what you want to see . We tried for 3 days and no flights . We were told they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy H
Air_Safaris, Owner at Air Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Andy H, We are very sorry you didn’t get to experience our “Grand Traverse” flight; it is a real highlight for people visiting N.Z. I can understand your disappointment with the weather around Mount Cook. I am very concerned that you have somehow misinterpreted information on the days we operate. In a typical summer we can fly on up... More 

Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Do yourselves a favour and book this flight. Our pilot Matt was great with running commentary. Day was perfect

Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Grand traverse: superb views over lakes Tekapo and Pukaki, glaciers, mt cook, mountains, etc. Really magnificent. However choose your seats carefully. The best ones are in the front and back of the plane. Unfortunately for me, i ended up in a seat in the middle section and the views were obscured by the wing, which was frustrating. Also, if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank frogabroad1
Air_Safaris, Owner at Air Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Frogabroad1, Thanks very much for your review, we are really happy you enjoyed your “Grand Traverse” flight and got superb views. The seating in our aircraft is allocated by the pilot at loading, we have a strict loading policy to ensure our aircraft stay within weight & balance limitations. In saying this, depending on load, we do have some... More 

Valthe, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Excellent flight, beautiful views, well worth the money. Would gladly do it again. We had the luck of clear weather.

Helpful?
Thank mdaams53
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Mdaams53, Thanks a lot for your review! Glad you had a great experience with us and the weather was on your side, it does make it all that more special when we have awesome weather. Hope you have a lovely day :) Air Safaris More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We arranged our Air Safari months in advance as we would be visiting New Zealand from San Francisco. The day we were scheduled to go on our Air Safari, the weather was not cooperating. The fine folks at the Air Safari office suggested we check back later in the day. When we checked back, there were still storms on the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank THSF
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this review

Hi THSF, Sorry that the weather wasn't the greatest on your day of arrival! It has been a little challaging this season, especially more so for the pilots wanting to get up in the air to share the experience with people like yourself. We do try our best to accomodate.. were glad it payed off and you enjoyed the flight!... More 

Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017

The Grand Traverse is a real winner. It's a one-hour flight up Lake Tekapo across the Divide to the West Coast to see Fox, Franz Josef and Tasman glaciers, then around Mt. Cook and other peaks and across the valleys and rivers to home. High winds, clouds and rain had prevented most flights for several months when we arrived. Fortunately,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Silverstreak46
Air_Safaris, Director of Sales at Air Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Silvestreak46, Thanks a lot for your review! We're pleased you enjoyed your flight with us and your overall experience of the Southern Alps was incredible. Have a great day. Kind Regards, Air Safaris More 

Travellers who viewed Air Safaris also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Air Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Air Safaris and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Perth, Australia
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Air Safaris staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?