We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Air Safaris

State Highway 8 | Tekapo Aerodrome, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6880
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Stunning scenery!

Really enjoyed our Grand Traverse. The views were spectacular and the pilot did an awesome job of... read more

Reviewed 10 April 2017
Sarshy
,
Akaroa
via mobile
Absolutely stunning

Was recommended either a heli or plane tour of Mt Cook and the glaciers. Unfortunately, being over... read more

Reviewed 9 April 2017
padprod
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 235 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
This premier Aoraki / Mount Cook flightseeing experience, 'The Grand Traverse' encompasses two World Heritage National Parks in a tour of 200kms amongst New Zealand's highest mountains and largest glaciers. From the golden tussock lands, turquoise glacier lakes and huge glacial valleys of the Mackenzie Basin around Aoraki Mt Cook, Mt Tasman and the Tasman Glacier to the coastal plains of Westland and the dramatic icefalls of the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. Every passenger has a window seat and all aircraft have wings-above to ensure optimum viewing below. Pilots provide a full and informative commentary with multi language commentary brochures supplied. We also offer exciting helicopter flights from Tekapo with alpine landing and an incredible Combo Flightseeing Experience featuring the MacKenzie Explorer heli-flight plus Grand Traverse fixed wing. The best of both worlds!
  • Excellent93%
  • Very good4%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“both sides” (13 reviews)
“mt cook” (48 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 17:30
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
State Highway 8 | Tekapo Aerodrome, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-680 6880
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 20 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our Grand Traverse. The views were spectacular and the pilot did an awesome job of banking turns so both sides got a great view. He was also very knowledgable and told us all about the lakes, mountains, rivers, glaciers, high country stations, etc....More

Thank Sarshy
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Was recommended either a heli or plane tour of Mt Cook and the glaciers. Unfortunately, being over on the east coast I couldn't arrange one from Franz Joseph. Had heard that Air Safaris ran one from Tekapo, booked one and crossed my fingers for good...More

Thank padprod
Air_Safaris, Pilot at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hi padprod, Thanks for your wonderful review of your flight with us here in Lake Tekapo. Sounds like you had an absolute bluebird day! We really appreciate your comments re. limiting the photo count, and repeat the same ourselves. The sights along the way are...More

Reviewed 1 April 2017

Booked flight with the lovely staff at Franz Josef office for Air Safaris. Were very helpful about changing the flight times for the plane trip as the low cloud cover over the village was stopping anyone from flying a lot of vthe day. Fortunately after...More

Thank butterflyjulie
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I decided to take the Grand Traverse trip which lasted one hour. I was a little reluctant at first as at $340 for 2 it seemed expensive. However afterwards I felt it was well worth the money. I was lucky enough to...More

3  Thank PeterLeggett
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Disappointed because my helicopter tour had been cancelled, I dejectedly headed toward Wanaka.. But, I happened to notice a small office for Air Safaris near Lake Pukaki.. Vacant.. However, there was a number to call.. I figured I had nothing to lose, so I called.....More

Thank bas0921
Air_Safaris, Pilot at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hi, Thanks for taking your time to review the Grand Traverse flight with us here in Lake Tekapo! Richard, myself and the rest of the team certainly appreciate your lovely comments about your experience with us here, I'm really pleased we could make the flight...More

Reviewed 10 March 2017

The Air Safari over Lake Tekapo was absolutely amazing. We were lucky to have crystal clear weather that day and photos just don't do it any justice. You have to see it yourself to enjoy the experience. Highly recommended for everyone.

Thank chris_sharry
Reviewed 27 February 2017

I understand that clouds happen, but it was not on this day. This is a must do if the weather is clear. I have heard that multiple times, but I wholeheartedly agree.

Thank bsum73
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Air Safaris' Grand Traverse (a one hour flight) is a superb experience! The booking, 'check in', and flight arrangements were all dead easy, friendly and efficient, and the aeroplanes ideal - high wings, large windows, single seat rows meant everyone got a good view, and...More

Thank Susan_C_SN5109
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

This sounds like a great trip but it rarely works. We did not get to fly and understand less than 10% of flights take place due to weather conditions. You need to make sure you have an alternative plan to see what you want to...More

Thank Andy H
Air_Safaris, Owner at Air Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Hi Andy H, We are very sorry you didn’t get to experience our “Grand Traverse” flight; it is a real highlight for people visiting N.Z. I can understand your disappointment with the weather around Mount Cook. I am very concerned that you have somehow misinterpreted...More

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Do yourselves a favour and book this flight. Our pilot Matt was great with running commentary. Day was perfect

1  Thank Jill H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
919 reviews
2.96 km away
Astro Cafe
679 reviews
2.46 km away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
928 reviews
2.91 km away
Run 76 Cafe
499 reviews
2.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
1,816 reviews
3.21 km away
Mount John University Observatory
456 reviews
2.46 km away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,347 reviews
3.25 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
paulinecarroll7
20 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Air_Safaris | Property representative |
Good morning and thank you for your inquiry. When you book on our website the prices for the new season (October onwards) will be displayed to you when you select your preferred day and flight time. If it is not what you are... More
0
Votes
Jamie W
15 December 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Air_Safaris | Property representative |
Hi Jamie, Booking is advised as especially in the busier months some time slots can fill up. As mentioned in some of the other responses here we do not charge until on the day and any cancellations due weather are free of... More
0
Votes