Hollard Gardens

Hollard Gardens, Stratford: Hours, Address, Hollard Gardens Reviews: 4.5/5

Hollard Gardens
4.5
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
About
A horticultural oasis in the very heart of dairying country. A passionate plantsman's garden and Taranaki showcase. Come and learn about the history, the plants and how to grow them for yourself or just wander and appreciate the beauty. Now owned and managed by the Taranaki Regional Council on behalf of the people of the region. For no charge you can park your campervan in the carpark overnight, help yourself to tea and coffee in the Hollard Centre or use the barbeques by the fantastic children's playground. Enjoy it - it's yours.
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
The area
Address
Popular mentions

4.5
81 reviews
Excellent
52
Very good
29
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Chelsea
Hawera, New Zealand26 contributions
Good afternoon walk.
Dec 2020 • Friends
Great place for an afternoon walk, with a playground for children to burn off extra energy. Family corner and barbecue to have a family gathering.
Little signage caused confusion of whereabouts and where to go.
Written 29 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear that you had trouble working out where to go. There are maps available at the entrance and the Hollard Centre, as well as wayfinding signage in the garden. It sounds like you had a fun time anyway.
Written 31 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jevvec
Katikati, New Zealand99 contributions
Many winding paths
Feb 2020
We visited in mid February and the feel of the garden was quite autumny, many of the flowers were past their best but there was still plenty to appreciate. We found the vegetable garden which looked very innovative and we would have liked there to be more information available to go with the interesting lables. We did not visit the whole garden and would be happy to make another visit
Written 22 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks very much for your review, Janet. We have lots of printed information which isn't accessible at the garden right now due to the Covid 19 restrictions. There are usually information leaflets available in the Hollard Centre. Also Bernie's Shed, right next to the vegetable garden, is being developed as a space for workshops and information so that'll be the place to go to learn more about everything you see in that area. We hope it will be open by spring 2020. In the meantime you could send us a message through our website or facebook page if you have any specific questions. It may be that we already have an information sheet we could email to you. We hope to see you back at the garden sometime soon.
Written 4 May 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wayne K
Hamilton, New Zealand1,264 contributions
Best of the 3 gardens
Mar 2020
Great gardens, well laid out and very interesting.
Nice that they had a few signs saying what the plants were.
A good map to follow so you can make the most of the place.
Such a community asset - a real credit to the Regional Council for providing this (and free).
Written 12 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks Wayne, for another great review. Nice to see you're making the most of all the Taranaki Regional Council gardens and appreciating the work that goes into maps and signage as well as looking after and developing the gardens themselves. Thanks again.
Written 16 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Starnz
New Plymouth, New Zealand4 contributions
Great playground at hollard gardens.
Oct 2019 • Family
We pleasantly wandered upon a very fun playground at hollard gardens. Big fort and slide, wooden Teepee and many other things for the kids to play on. Wonderful bbq facilities as well. Free gas bbqs and picnic tables available as well as big spacious lawn to play on.
Written 8 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks very much for your review. Glad to hear how much you enjoyed the fantastic playground.
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sue Dittmer
2 contributions
Amazing gardens.
Sep 2019
Just like a wonderland of amazing plants. What vision the founder had when designing this truely beautiful place. Our Vintage Austin Club visited together and this place is a must see.
Written 30 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review. It's lovely to hear how much you enjoyed Hollard Gardens.
Written 20 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

23tiffanyk
New Plymouth, New Zealand80 contributions
Beautiful walk and great playground
Jul 2019 • Family
Nice on a sunny winter day. Great playground for kids of all ages - mr 2 just needed supervision and help. Would be great place for picnic or bbq (they have free bbqs). Good walk (not hard). Toilets immaculate and clean. Free tea, coffee and water at main building. Will definitely go back again in summer
Written 27 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks very much for your lovely review. It's always nice to hear how much the garden and facilities are appreciated.
Written 25 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Magal W
2 contributions
Peaceful and welcoming place
Jun 2019 • Solo
Beautiful and peaceful garden, very clean and well maintained with clear signs everywhere and two available trails for walking in the garden.
There are places to seat in the garden under a roof, a playground and even a view point of Mount Taranaki.
The central house is very cozy and welcoming and you can find there some sofas and places to sit, a small library, information on the garden and coffee and tea.
Everything is free!
Written 16 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks very much for your in depth review, Magal. It's great to hear that you found the signage clear and appreciated the effort that goes into keeping the Hollard Centre warm and welcoming during the winter.
Written 15 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SFrances C
Bovingdon, UK333 contributions
A tranquil place to visit.
Mar 2019 • Couples
A beautiful place to wander. There are many paths and trails making the gardens seem enormous. Hard to believe it is free! Also there is free tea, coffee and milk in a welcoming meeting room that has chairs and a selection of books. We had the place to ourselves and it was most tranquil.
Written 14 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks very much for your review. Nice to hear how much you enjoyed Hollard Gardens. You're quite right that it's an extremely tranquil place to spend time.
Written 16 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Peonie49
155 contributions
Garden visit
May 2019
This garden is amazing. Imagine a couple having the foresight to plan this over many years and then donate it for the whole country to benefit from.
This time of the year is probably not the best time to visit but we were amazed at the amount of colour that was still around.
We thought the garden beds were lovely even though there were weeds among the flowers. It doesn’t need to be groomed to be interesting.
Please visit if you can. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.
Written 3 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review. Yes, Hollard Gardens is beautiful at any time of the year.
Written 20 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mistaktraveler
Colorado10 contributions
Awesome Garden Created by one Couple- and FREE
Apr 2019 • Couples
To call it a garden is a bit of an understatement. This is a large garden/forest built mainly by one man, who became a renowned horticulturist, over a lifetime and subsequently donated to the community. Clearly horticulture was his labor of love. The garden is nicely done with stories of his efforts and of the plants and trees along the way. We saw it in fall and it was still colorful and interesting. Pretty flowers, huge trees, intimate paths. It's only a slight detour from Mt. Taranaki. We had the place almost to ourselves to get lost in. Although it does not show up in a lot of guides it should. We were fortunate to find it and would come back for a Spring viewing. And did I mention free- I did not even see a donation box.
Written 3 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks very much for your review. We're pleased to hear how much you enjoyed Hollard Gardens. It is a beautiful place isn't it? Definitely deserves to be more well known.
Written 20 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 76
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing