We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Captain Digby Bar

Whiteness Road, Kingsgate CT10 3QH, England
+44 1843 867764
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Disappointed and wont return

The Digby have got a vegan menu and today we went to check it out. I was quite disappointed and I... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Louise S
,
Langkawi, Malaysia
via mobile
Bad service. Too long waiting!!

Just went for a late lunch with my wife. Went last week and it was brilliant. This week wasn’t such... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Matthew P
via mobile
Read all 28 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good28%
  • Average21%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible17%
13 Jun 2018
“Good food”
3 days ago
“Disappointed and wont return”
LOCATION
Whiteness Road, Kingsgate CT10 3QH, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1843 867764
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The Digby have got a vegan menu and today we went to check it out. I was quite disappointed and I almost want someone from there to see this so they can make some changes as the venue and staff are lovely just a shame...More

Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just went for a late lunch with my wife. Went last week and it was brilliant. This week wasn’t such a present trip. Waited for 20 minuets behind two women who seem to spend ages ordering there food. When finally got to the front of...More

1  Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry to hear you had a long time waiting to order food. Although it may not seem busy sometimes to customers the quantity of food orders that go into the kitchen at any one time can cause delays which is why the food...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Visited a couple of weeks ago, after a day on a nearby beach (parked on road so no car park charges). We didn't have a booking but got seated straight away just before 5pm. Service was friendly and efficient. Food was really tasty and portions...More

Thank Thomisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Fantastic review thank you for your feedback. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Such a nice relaxing place to sit out side and have a great meal Friendly staff great food A place I’d defiantly go again

Thank trevorflint1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

👍🏻 Thank you. Hope to see you again soon Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Run is not there job as serve customers. Good food but awful service. Too young waiters and sleepy manager. Yes nice place, amazing view but, don’t go there if you want to eat in a short time. Good luck

Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Please contact us about your review directly. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Visited today with 2 family members and my young son mainly because they had an indoor play area! I wasn’t expecting much but I could not fault the food or service. It was rather busy however they met our needs seating us by the play...More

Thank Sez1266666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your fantastic review 😊

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Attended a family birthday function and had an amazing night. Buffet was amazing, staff couldn’t do enough and made the family reunion even more special. Enjoyed so much came back following afternoon for meal for 16+ and they didn’t disappoint. Food and staff once again...More

Thank nataliecalvert11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you we hope to see you again soon 👍🏻

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

After never receiving our food at the Botany Bay Hotel along the clifftop, we headed to the Digby . What a difference. Excellent food, atmosphere and service. Despite being very busy we received our food within 15 min, all freshly cooked. All the staff are...More

Thank suesjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review 👍🏻

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Wanted to spend the afternoon at the beach and eat at this pub prior to heading home. Parked at the pub but were told we would have to pay £20 even though we were eating there later. I understand that the pub would like to...More

1  Thank laurajj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Please be aware our car park is £10 to park. Thank you for your feedback 👍🏻

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped for an evening meal. Food served quickly and by friendly staff. Very good range of food to choose from. Tasty meal at a reasonable price. Kids play area outside and wonderful views of sea and Kingsgate castle.

Thank bobster234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

👍🏻 Thank you. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Botany Bay Hotel
751 reviews
.44 km away
Walpole Bay Hotel
601 reviews
2.64 km away
Florence Court Private Hotel
15 reviews
2.73 km away
Royal Albion Hotel
758 reviews
2.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Captain Digby
491 reviews
.02 km away
North Foreland Golf Club Restaurant
23 reviews
.87 km away
The Botany Bay Hotel Restaurant
501 reviews
.44 km away
The Nineteenth Hole
27 reviews
1.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Botany Bay
321 reviews
.51 km away
Kingsgate Bay
77 reviews
.10 km away
Joss Bay
231 reviews
.64 km away
North Foreland Golf Club
22 reviews
.86 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Captain Digby Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit