We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Good food

Visited a couple of weeks ago, after a day on a nearby beach (parked on road so no car park... read more

Reviewed 14 June 2018
Thomisa
,
London, United Kingdom
Lovely midweek lunch

Visited on a Tuesday lunchtime with my Dad. No complaints. We avoided the weekend as we didnt want... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
chimpy29
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 29 reviews
1
All photos (1)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good27%
  • Average20%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible17%
13 Jun 2018
“Good food”
2 weeks ago
“Lovely midweek lunch”
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Dec
Jan
Feb
Contact
Whiteness Road, Kingsgate CT10 3QH, England
Website
+44 1843 867764
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
9
7
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
9
7
6
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a Tuesday lunchtime with my Dad. No complaints. We avoided the weekend as we didnt want to be over run with kids....accepting that this is a family orientated establishment. Several tables booked. Young staff who were attentive, friendly and willing to engage in...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank chimpy29
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

The Digby have got a vegan menu and today we went to check it out. I was quite disappointed and I almost want someone from there to see this so they can make some changes as the venue and staff are lovely just a shame...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Louise S
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

We apologise that our vegan menu was not to the standard you would like to receive. Our vegan menu is a working progress. This menu is new and we will be looking into improving it further within the near future. But thank you for your...More

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Just went for a late lunch with my wife. Went last week and it was brilliant. This week wasn’t such a present trip. Waited for 20 minuets behind two women who seem to spend ages ordering there food. When finally got to the front of...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank matthewpZ3583VM
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

We are sorry to hear you had a long time waiting to order food. Although it may not seem busy sometimes to customers the quantity of food orders that go into the kitchen at any one time can cause delays which is why the food...More

Reviewed 14 June 2018

Visited a couple of weeks ago, after a day on a nearby beach (parked on road so no car park charges). We didn't have a booking but got seated straight away just before 5pm. Service was friendly and efficient. Food was really tasty and portions...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Thomisa
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Fantastic review thank you for your feedback. Many thanks

Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Such a nice relaxing place to sit out side and have a great meal Friendly staff great food A place I’d defiantly go again

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank trevorflint1972
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

👍🏻 Thank you. Hope to see you again soon Many thanks

Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Run is not there job as serve customers. Good food but awful service. Too young waiters and sleepy manager. Yes nice place, amazing view but, don’t go there if you want to eat in a short time. Good luck

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank paul2019p
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Please contact us about your review directly. Many thanks

Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Visited today with 2 family members and my young son mainly because they had an indoor play area! I wasn’t expecting much but I could not fault the food or service. It was rather busy however they met our needs seating us by the play...More

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Sez1266666
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your fantastic review 😊

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Attended a family birthday function and had an amazing night. Buffet was amazing, staff couldn’t do enough and made the family reunion even more special. Enjoyed so much came back following afternoon for meal for 16+ and they didn’t disappoint. Food and staff once again...More

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank nataliecalvert11
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you we hope to see you again soon 👍🏻

Reviewed 3 November 2017

After never receiving our food at the Botany Bay Hotel along the clifftop, we headed to the Digby . What a difference. Excellent food, atmosphere and service. Despite being very busy we received our food within 15 min, all freshly cooked. All the staff are...More

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank suesjj
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you for your review 👍🏻

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Wanted to spend the afternoon at the beach and eat at this pub prior to heading home. Parked at the pub but were told we would have to pay £20 even though we were eating there later. I understand that the pub would like to...More

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank laurajj52
CaptaindigbyInn, Manager at The Captain Digby Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Please be aware our car park is £10 to park. Thank you for your feedback 👍🏻

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Botany Bay Hotel
785 reviews
.44 km away
Walpole Bay Hotel
622 reviews
2.64 km away
Royal Albion Hotel
784 reviews
2.90 km away
Palm Court Hotel
31 reviews
3.02 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5 nearby restaurants
Captain Digby
515 reviews
.02 km away
North Foreland Golf Club Restaurant
23 reviews
.87 km away
The Nineteenth Hole Restaurant
27 reviews
1.00 km away
The Botany Bay Hotel Restaurant
519 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 5 nearby attractions
Botany Bay
342 reviews
.51 km away
Kingsgate Bay
80 reviews
.10 km away
Joss Bay
236 reviews
.64 km away
North Foreland Golf Club
22 reviews
.86 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Captain Digby Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines