Rippon Vineyard

Rippon Vineyard, Wanaka: Hours, Address, Rippon Vineyard Reviews: 4.5/5

Rippon Vineyard
4.5
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
About
On the shores of Lake Wanaka, Rippon has been farmed by the Mills family for 4 generations. Our vineyard Cellar Door offers tastings of a selection of wines all grown and produced on our biodynamic lakeside vineyard. Our Cellar Door is open from midday until we close the property at 5pm from Wednesday to Sunday. There is currently no need to book if you are a group of 6 or fewer people. This is subject to change so we would recommend checking our website ahead of your visit. If you are a group of more than 6 people, please contact us before coming out to arrange a time We do not have a restaurant onsite, nor are picnics allowed so we recommend you enjoy one of Wanaka's many eateries before or after your tasting time.
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Top ways to experience Rippon Vineyard
Popular mentions

4.5
373 reviews
Excellent
235
Very good
94
Average
26
Poor
8
Terrible
10

triny_bop
200 contributions
Delicious freshness
Jan 2021
Loved coming here for a wine tasting. The hostess was knowledgable about the wines, the views were epic - and what delicious biodynamic wine. Wonderful.
Written 6 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

roxydog2
Tauranga, New Zealand44 contributions
Fantastic View
Sep 2020 • Couples
Booked for the Chefs Table pop up restaurant and the food was beautiful as was the Rippon Pinot Noir. The setting is great and has a wow factor! Only need to mention we were encouraged to order more food than we could eat which was a bit disappointing.
Written 29 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alibilver
Alexandra, New Zealand70 contributions
Beautiful views
Aug 2020 • Couples
Absolutely stunning views, food really nice, 2 issues tho , firstly very very poor selection of soft drinks, ordered old fashioned lemonade, ‘ sorry we don’t have any’ ok can I please have a coke, coke came and not sure it was coke???? When I finished that one, I asked for another without ice, the waitress who spoke no louder then the field mice outside said they didn’t have any coke left!! They did have ginger beer , but sadly I am allergic to ginger so that was a no go. Ended up having a very tasteless grape something with a lump of lemon.
Written 30 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi - Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your experience at the Chef's Table pop-up restaurant. We have passed your comments along to Emma and the team at Raspberry Creek. Please see their response below: Thank you for your feedback on your dining experience with The Chef's Table. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and got to appreciate the stunning views. I am very sorry to hear you had a negative experience with our soft drink menu. We change our drinks offerings on a regular basis and it sounds like the new information was not correctly communicated to your server for the evening. I do apologise for any inconvenience caused to your evening and hope we can welcome you again to The Chef's Table.
Written 7 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

whattosay
Wanaka, New Zealand748 contributions
Great food, great location
Aug 2020 • Friends
Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. Lovely room and warm on a cold winter evening, service was attentive and professional. Food was excellent, we had the lamb shoulder which had great flavor and was very tender. We will be back.
Written 30 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi - Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your experience at the Chef's Table pop-up restaurant. We have passed your comments along to Emma and the team at Raspberry Creek. Please see their response below: We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your evening at The Chef's Table. The lamb shoulder has been a firm favourite through the winter and the Rippon Hall really is a stunning location - we are very lucky to be able to use the space for our pop up restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chef's Table this season.
Written 7 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Louise
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
Unwelcoming service
Aug 2020 • Friends
Nice views but that’s where it ended. Terrible service from staff. Rude & unprofessional. Food & Beverages took too long to arrive. Maude was exceptional over this for anyone looking for a winery.
Written 23 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Louis - Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your experience at the Chef's Table pop-up restaurant. We have passed your comments along to Emma and her team at Raspberry Creek. Please see her response below: We are so very sorry to hear that your experience at The Chef's Table has been disappointing. We take great pride in the running of our pop up restaurant and strive for premium customer service with every guest we welcome. I can only imagine that your experience has come on a very busy night and you have been unintentionally overlooked. This is absolutely not how we want things to run and I apologise for this error in our service. I will make sure this feedback gets to the floor team so everyone is aware of your experience and will strive to avoid this happening again. I appreciate you taking the time to give this feedback and would love to have the opportunity to show you how your experience should have gone. If you are still in Wanaka and would like to dine with us again please contact me on thechefstablewanaka@gmail.com so I can arrange a future booking. Warm Regards, Emma
Written 25 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cathy S
Hastings, New Zealand2 contributions
Beautiful setting disinterested staff
Aug 2020 • Friends
Picturesque setting, views to die for. Unfortunately terrible service from staff who were clearly not interested in serving us kiwi commoners. The lady with the ripped short skirt and ladder in the back of her tights might want to reconsider her work attire.
While boarders are closed you may want to reconsider how your staff treat ‘us kiwis’ willing to spend our money.
Written 14 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Cathy - Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your experience at the Chef's Table pop-up restaurant. We have passed your comments along to Emma and her team at Raspberry Creek. Please see her response below: We are so very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience with The Chef's Table. We have taken great pride in our pop up restaurant and the customer service offered to every guest we welcome. Whilst your feedback is disheartening, it is something we have passed on to all members of the floor team so everyone is aware. We have loved serving so many New Zealand 'tourists' and are so appreciative of the kiwi support for not only our pop up restaurant but our whole region at this time. As for the uniform malfunction - unfortunately one of our staff had caught her skirt and tights on a broken chair that evening and didn't have a change of clothes - I can assure you this is not the standard of dress we we regularly accept from staff members. We would love to have the opportunity to show you the high standard of service we aspire to at The Chef's Table - if you are able to join us again for dinner please email thechefstablewanaka@gmail.com so we can discuss a future booking. Warm regards, Emma
Written 25 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Benny
Auckland Central, New Zealand27 contributions
Location. Service. Friendly.
Jan 2020 • Couples
Beautiful Location. Couple from Waikato looking for wines for restaurant and most importantly a wedding location. Found both. Thanks guys.

See you next year. 😊
Written 22 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheers for the review guys ... good stuff! See you again soon. =)
Written 25 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Soccermike1015
Asheville, NC1,923 contributions
Stunning Views
Feb 2020
This was our second visit to Rippon Estate and the views are just stunning ! Wonderful time, great Wine and just an overall great time. I recommend this place !!!!!
Written 13 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for the 'stunning' review. We are very much looking forward to the health of our nation (world!) being restored so we can continue to share our wines and stories with you again. Opening dates, once allowed, will be posted on our website ... keep your eye out!
Written 15 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Greg K
Sydney, Australia98 contributions
Marvellous experience
Mar 2020 • Couples
My wife rated this a 10/10 choice of mine after:
- seeing the wonderful setting and magnificent vista down to Wanaka lake (on a beautiful sunny day)
- listening to the informative and interesting presentation by staff during the tasting.
- tasting a few nice wines.
- wandering around the gardens around the tasting room
You have to book a tasting time session but that was easy online.
It all added up to a marvellous overall experience - highly recommended.
Written 16 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Greg - Perfect review, thank you! A beautiful sunny day can make all the difference in the world. It's great you were able to come and taste with us before the lockdown. We look forward to greater overall health returning to the world so we can return to the Cellar Door and continue hosting lovely people like yourselves. Kia kaha.
Written 15 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Helenjen
Brisbane, Australia676 contributions
Stunning views.....disppointing wine!
Feb 2020
This was our third visit to Rippon Estate and the views are just as stunning as ever! The new cellar door (impressive building) looks out over the picturesque Ruby Island and is quite idyllic with the vines in the foreground growing down to the water. Just be aware that you can no longer drop in unannounced for a wine tasting, as there is a need to pre-book a day and selected time, then a code for the gate is sent to you 24hrs in advance. We got to taste six wines and the set up is quite formal so that you are spoken to as a group with fellow tasters. Unfortunately, most of the wines, while interesting to try, weren't to our liking, but the pinot and gewurtztraminer were.....but the price point wasn't! Recommend if you can organise yourselves in advance....to go along for the amazing views....definitely in the Top Ten Scenic Wineries in the world!
Written 9 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Helen - Thanks for the visit and review. Great to hear you enjoyed the Pinot Noir and Gewurztraminer. We absolutely understand that not all wines are to everyone's palates. We hope you are safe and well in these crazy times. Wishing you the best of luck and health.
Written 15 April 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 341
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing