High Country Salmon

High Country Salmon, Twizel: Hours, Address, High Country Salmon Reviews: 4/5

High Country Salmon
4
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Drop in for a rest stop on your travels and look over a working salmon farm on the glacial waters of the Mackenzie High Country -and its free to drop in and feed our beautiful salmon. Try our farm fresh sashimi and a whole range of delicious salmon cafe items at our floating shop. Or buy a fresh fish or smoked salmon packed on ice to take home and prepare yourself. We're a family run business focussed on growing the best freshwater king salmon and getting it to you fresh. Our floating cafe menu also includes sushi, chowder, curry, burgers, smoked salmon platter, grilled teriyaki salmon, hot pies, quiche, salmon eggs benedict, sandwiches, miso noodle soup and more! We look forward to seeing you. We're easy to find on the main road 3km south of Twizel.
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.0
369 reviews
Excellent
133
Very good
140
Average
61
Poor
24
Terrible
11

aimee1812
Whistler, Canada184 contributions
Great coffee stop
Jul 2021
Great coffee stop! Fast friendly service & excellent tasting coffee :) Lots of parking available & right off main road.
Written 8 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glad you enjoyed your stop! We hope you call in again on your next trip through the area.
Written 20 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Eloise
Queenstown, New Zealand1 contribution
Cafe review
Aug 2021 • Family
Nice stop and nice to feed the fish. If your main reason for stopping there is the restaurant, lower your expectations.

We went to Twizel with the intention of getting amazing salmon and in all honesty I was really disappointed. Don't call a cracker and pickle platter a salmon platter. Yes there was salmon and yes it was delicious but it was just a small bite and not freshly cooked. The cafe was also untidy and very low key.

It's a nice stop on your way to another destination but as a restaurant, rather keep on going.
Written 8 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Eloise, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We don't market ourselves as a restaurant - we are a rustic cafe and yes, we are low key and proud of it. I'm sorry that you found it untidy - that isn't normal so I will pass that on to the Cafe Manager. The platter is a cured/smoked platter, so if you were wanting freshly cooked salmon, it would have been better to order something different. I will get the kitchen to review the proportion of ingredients on the platter since you didn't think they were correct. Again, thanks for the feedback - it helps in our continual improvement.
Written 20 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Always_with_U
Singapore, Singapore55 contributions
Nice food and Fun feeding Salmon
Jun 2021 • Family
High country salmon is a salmon farm on glacial waters. The choice of food was good and the food was fresh. We had fun feeding their salmon.
Written 18 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sam Z
17 contributions
Love the taste of this salmon
Apr 2021
I usually despise salmon and can't stand the taste of it however High Country Salmon was the exception. This salmon has a lovely taste and doesn't taste like your drinking straight sea water. Excellent sushi and a wide variety of different food options including seafood chowder and pies! Great little area to be able to see the fish as well as feed them and overall really happy we stopped and would recommend anyone else to stop while you're travelling around south island for lunch.
Written 13 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your great review. It is great to hear from someone who can taste the difference between our freshwater salmon and sea-run salmon. We look forward to having you visit us again!
Written 25 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Graeme Kennedy
2 contributions
Great experience. Great memories.
May 2021
I booked online for my two grandkids to do “ Catch a fish “.
Hunter aged 6 first to go, and after a few minutes managed to catch a monster ( 6.4 kilo ) then Eva aged 8 caught her salmon (2.4 kilo). 2.4 kilo usual catch size staff say. Eva’s fish took several minutes to catch. But the fishing guide Sam was excellent in patience and both children really enjoyed the experience.
We did not have to buy the bigger fish but we choose to take both fish.
Staff gutted and filleted the fish, vacuum packed and provided container with ice.

Cost to fish $15, but then you also have to pay for fish by weight plus filleting etc.

Overall experience 11 out of 10, extra point for Sam the guide.
Would suggest you book a time as several people came, but had to wait until the bookings had been completed.
Great to stop and break the journey if travelling. Right on the main road.
Written 3 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review and glad you and your grandkids had a great Catch-A-Fish experience! Excellent comments regarding booking - we can get pretty busy on weekends, public holidays and school holidays, so booking is the best way to ensure your spot. Congratulations to the kids on catching a couple of our beautiful salmon.
Written 29 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Grant N
Hastings, New Zealand1,226 contributions
Interesting and enjoyed feeding fish - but very low key
Apr 2021
Visited to see what was there - plenty of salmon for sale and other food. Was able to feed the live fish which was fun - tried to see who could get the best splashes going - but the overall impression is a bit low key and maybe a bit untidy. Worth checking out but not a highlight
Written 21 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sam Y
2 contributions
Fresh salmon but don't buy Pin boned fillet
Apr 2021
Experience in the complex is fantastic! Not just you can see their salmon, you can feed them. Also they has fishing gear renting for customer to catch their own salmon. We purchased "Pin boned fillet" however there were many bone (even you could feel from surface. Disappointed paying more (over $4 /kg more than standard fillet). I think fillet really need to check before pack - other ways tourist from Australia coming next week would have negative experience like we had.
Written 15 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your visit. We're very sorry you had bones in your pinboned fillet - this is not normal, and I will pass your comments on to our Processing Manager to review our processes. Thank you.
Written 29 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

NinaG
Auckland Central, New Zealand69 contributions
Awesome experience for the kids incl catching a salmon
Mar 2021 • Family
We loved our stop at High Country Salmon. You can feed the fish for free and book to catch a fish if you like ($15 plus you have to purchase what you catch). My boys loved it and we had the most amazing sashimi and salmon steaks for a couple of nights. Can absolutely recommend!!
Written 15 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Nina, thanks for taking the time to write a review and we're glad your boys enjoyed our Catch-A-Fish experience.
Written 21 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Breeze_NZ
Christchurch, New Zealand347 contributions
Feed the Salmon - Eat the Salmon
Feb 2021 • Family
We always buy the fresh and cold smoke salmon whenever we are in the Twizel area.

Farm raised salmon which you can also feed and watch them swim.

The salmon is much better than the supermarket's that isn't very fresh. If you eat raw sashimi salmon, then you can really taste the difference in the freshness. The cafe serves coffee and fresh salmon meals. (Sashimi, sushi/bento box, cooked salmon wings etc)

There is a variety of salmon products to purchase which are already vacuumed sealed in different sizes. The shop will wrap it up with a pack of ice to keep the fish cool while you are traveling.

A must stop over if you are a salmon lover.
Written 13 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your great review and we're glad you are a regular visitor!
Written 21 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Peter C
Whakapapa, New Zealand8 contributions
Outstanding salmon fishing experience
Jan 2021 • Couples
We booked to catch 2 salmon and duly caught them with expert assistance from Sam. They were processed to a high standard of packed fillets ie. vacuum packed and iced to transport. Awesome dinner. Thanks to Cheryl who organised everything for us. Great coffee to be had 😁
Written 29 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Peter, glad you enjoyed your Catch-A-Fish experience and your yummy salmon!
Written 21 March 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 317
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about High Country Salmon

High Country Salmon is open:
  • Sun - Sat 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking High Country Salmon tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 10 High Country Salmon tours on Tripadvisor


Hotels near High Country Salmon: View all hotels near High Country Salmon on Tripadvisor