We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz

Open Now: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Open today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
197
All photos (197)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good7%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“snow landing”(42 reviews)
“grand tour”(10 reviews)
“mount cook”(17 reviews)
About
Glaciers are one of nature’s most breathtaking spectacles. Fox Glacier and Franz Josef are internationally-renowned glaciers that attract visitors from around the world every year. Fly up over the ice, and see pinnacles, crevasses, seracs, and the...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
Alpine Adventure Centre Franz Josef, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-752 0793
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz
from US$245.70
More Info
from US$189.50
More Info
from US$336.90
More Info
from US$245.70
More Info
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
219
16
7
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
219
16
7
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow landing grand tour mount cook minute flight twin glacier mt tasman other companies great flight highlight of our trip next morning new zealand safety briefing worth every cent return journey interesting commentary take photos helicopter pilot
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

we took the Franz Josef and Fox Glacier loop on the helicopter and had a landing to take pics. Really a wonderful experience of a lifetime! not to be missed if u are heading to Franz Josef. We were only allowed to carry our cell...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Pigletau
Reviewed 5 days ago

Wonderful and incredible experience. Firstly, the customer service was great. The lady at the desk was Australian and was so friendly, the people who put us in the helicopters were also really friendly. The pilots are all great! On my flight there was the pilot...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank brianvergtyu
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Great chopper ride to see both the twin glacier. Nice view. With the snow landing for some great photos. Must try.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank jokl78
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you jokl78 for your wonderful review and 5 stars. It certainly is a "must try"

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Most amazing experience ever , safety was 2nd to none, from booking at the front desk to the pilot with his communication skills , we throughly enjoyed the experience and would highly recommend this company , 5 stars ⭐️ ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank xxtr4cyxx
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow, thank you xxtr4cyxx for such a wonderful review. I am so pleased you were able to have the most amazing experience ever! And thank you so much for your high recommendation : ) very much appreciated

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We waited 3 days for the weather to improve and then we went on an incredible adventure in a helicopter up to view the 2 glaciers and the snow at the top of the mountain. It was like being in another world. Our pilot was...More

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Excursion564453
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Excursion564453 for your wonderful and detailed review. I am very pleased after patiently waiting 3 days you had such a wonderful flight. Thank you for your kind words regarding your pilot and I am pleased to hear your learnt some interesting facts about...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I are located on the back seat and in the middle. None of us got the side window while other couples got all the rear and front windows. From the beginning we were not informed at all that we'll get the middle...More

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Dreamer02559692979
Michael N, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Dreamer02559692979 for your review. I am sad to hear of your experience, it is not our intention to have our customers disappointed. I assume from your description you did not get an opportunity to swap places after the snow landing so the views...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was simply the best experience of our trip to New Zealand. It was my first experience with snow and I loved it. Our pilot Bill was so informative and appreciated my need to lay on the snow and create my very own snow angel....More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank lindamZ2903BR
MichaelN5544, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow, thank you lindamZ2903BR "Snow Angel" for such an exciting review. I am pleased you were able to make a snow angel and great to hear your heli tour was "second to none"

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was one of the highlights of our trip in New Zealand! It was such a fantastic and unique way to view both the Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers with absolutely amazing views. We had a great snow landing with plenty of time to take...More

Thank rachelmgsy
MichaelN5544, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you rachelmgsy for your great review. So pleased to hear you highly recommend our heli tour. The snow landing is certainly a highlight of what we offer. Thank you for your comments "The pilot gave some great commentary on the area and the glaciers"...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Highly recommended. The view is awesome. Snow landing is an unforgettable experience as well. We had sufficient time taking photos and playing in the snow, surrounded by some amazing views.

Thank Yvonne N
MichaelN5544, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow thank you Yvonne N for your kind review and high recommendation. We are certainly surrounded by some amazing views and scenery.

Reviewed 28 October 2018

Blue skies may be deceiving when then wind is blowing. On second attempt, I was able to do the 40 min tour - and even though it doesn't come cheap, this flight is in the all time top three of my travel experiences and worth...More

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Heidi F
MichaelN5544, General Manager at HeliServicesNZ Fox & Franz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Heidi F for your wonderful review. So exciting to be in your top three travel experiences and to hear your heli tour with HeliservicesNZ was worth every Penny. Good advice to book ahead.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Alpine Glacier Motor Lodge
619 reviews
.16 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
794 reviews
.20 km away
The Terrace Motel
356 reviews
.22 km away
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
376 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 24 nearby restaurants
Alice May
1,557 reviews
.19 km away
Blue Ice Cafe
766 reviews
.18 km away
Snake Bite Brewery
1,064 reviews
.08 km away
King Tiger Eastern Eating House & Bar
887 reviews
.51 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 41 nearby attractions
Glacier Helicopters
469 reviews
.07 km away
Tatare Tunnels Walk
75 reviews
.19 km away
West Coast Wildlife Centre
761 reviews
.14 km away
Franz Josef i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
75 reviews
.50 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Chalky5363
6 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from BeckE2061 | Reviewed this property |
Definitely yes.
1
Vote
SummerLightening
22 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from FoxFranzHeliservices | Property representative |
Hi SummerLightening, You are correct in that the two glaciers are similar. Flight 2 Fox Glacier and Mt Cook is exactly as the name describes and includes a snow landing of 8 to 10 minutes at the top of the Fox Glacier... More
0
Votes
Gayle W
14 December 2016|
Answer
Response from FoxFranzHeliservices | Property representative |
Hi, we do not currently work with Viator so I could not be certain. It should be standard practice to refund if a flight is cancelled due to weather. You can book direct with us via our website and you do not have to pay in... More
1
Vote