We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Franz Josef Glacier Guides

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 63 Cron Street | (Glacier Base Building), Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 8600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-752 0763
Website
Today
07:30 - 18:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:30 - 18:30
Description:

The magnificent Franz Josef Glacier is widely regarded as the gen of New...

The magnificent Franz Josef Glacier is widely regarded as the gen of New Zealand’s West Coast Glaciers.Franz Josef Glacier Guides gives you the opportunity to experience the most spectacular glacier environment available to the general public anywhere in the world, offering a range of glacier hiking tours to suit all levels of fitness and ability.We make a clear commitment to you that our trip is the most spectacular and rewarding available.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$54.76*
and up
Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk
More Info
US$327.85*
and up
Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,095 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 704
    Excellent
  • 199
    Very good
  • 62
    Average
  • 37
    Poor
  • 39
    Terrible
Guided Walk

Our family completed this walk, our guide Harry was very informative about the area, the glacier and the edible and not so edible plants. Our three daughters (11,9&7) loved the... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 days ago
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

1,095 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,041: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Our family completed this walk, our guide Harry was very informative about the area, the glacier and the edible and not so edible plants. Our three daughters (11,9&7) loved the part where they could walk in the stream and stand under the waterfall in the water proof gear provided. We had a great view of the glacier, all the way... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Macau, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The experience walking on Franz Josef Glacier is much higher than my expectation, especially the fantastic guide, Andrew, who is extremely professional, knowledgeable and well-educated, taking care the entire group of participants. He is worth my high appreciation and thank you.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank TWTANG
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was booked for Heli-hike but weather was terrible first day. Much confusion between receptionists about flight times. Cancelled due to weather and put on waiting list. Managed to get a flight time next day. Showed up for flight again times were confused. Had to kill time for an hour went to check in and was told weight restriction was 115kg... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iceman3801
Kerry-NT_Tourism, Manager at Franz Josef Glacier Guides, responded to this review

Kia ora Iceman I'm so sorry to hear about your recent experience with us at Franz Josef Glacier Guides. Managing trips and customers through bad weather is a difficult part of the operation, and I'm sorry that on this occasion it seems we did not get it right for you. I'd be keen to discuss with you where the information... More 

York, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Our weather wasn't the best, but we had a great guide and we trudged thru the rain forest & streams on our way to see the Glacier. Unfortunately the Glacier has receded so much that is was barely visible, but the waterfalls we saw along he way made the whole excursion worth it!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank sherris482
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This "guided walk" does not offer any more than is available for free by driving up to the car park and following the public paths (provided you have your own adequate walking boots and weatherproof outerwear). Registration is a nightmare - it took more than 45 minutes of queuing before processed through to get "kitted out" for the walk. Check... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jrd720
Kerry-NT_Tourism, Manager at Franz Josef Glacier Guides, responded to this review

Kia ora jrd720 Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent experience with us - I'm sorry to hear that on this occasion our trip did not live up to your expectations. Our Glacier Valley Walk product is something we have a huge focus on specifically around explaining the glaciology of the area, Maori legends,... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Walking on the Franz Josef Glacier is truly unbelievable. The guides are very knowledgeable and put safety as a priority. They make sure you can take in the glacier, learn about it and still enjoy whilst making sure you are safe. We were lucky to be one of the last group able to go onto the Glacier for that day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suraj D
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this heli hike trip seven months in advance online even though we knew that there's a chance of cancellation due to weather conditions. When we were there for our report-in, we had to sign the indemnity and do the health declaration on a tablet. We waited for awhile before we were given the wristband to mark our group. Thereafter,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Grayee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They were flexible when we had a scheduling issue and had to change the tour date but then we didn't get to do it anyway because of rain.

Helpful?
Thank mestewart46
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Franz Josef glacier is amazing. The glacier guides are very well run with safety a priority. We were with a group of 11 and our guide constantly looked after us all. The helicopter ride was amazing too. This activity is weather dependent for obvious reasons so it can be cancelled right up until before you fly. The hike is pretty... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShellK8487
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great time on the glacier despite our flights being delayed by 24 hours. The guide was very slow and didn't provide much information but he seemed nice enough.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank bekah_cioffi

Travellers who viewed Franz Josef Glacier Guides also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Franz Josef Glacier Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Franz Josef Glacier Guides and other visitors
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Franz Josef Glacier Guides staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?