We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fox Glacier Guiding

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: State Highway 6, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-751 0825
Website
Today
07:30 - 19:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:30 - 19:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

It's our privilege to guide you on the West Coast's largest and less...

It's our privilege to guide you on the West Coast's largest and less crowded glacier. It is one of New Zealand's truly natural wonders.

Whether you are walking, heli-hiking or ice-climbing with us in this incredible environment, we can promise you a memory you'll cherish.

We have a long guiding history on the glacier (guided walks first started in 1928). Those years of accumulated knowledge and experience mean weare able to guide you with complete confidence.

You can rest assured we take your safety and comfort very seriously.

Come and enjoy our friendly West Coast hospitality, experience the mighty Fox Glacier with us and create a lifetime memory. We have glacier trips suitable for most fitness levels and ages including children from 9 yrs. Our informative Glacier Terminal Face walk is suitable for children from 5 yrs or for those who would find the walks onto the glacier too strenuous.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,101 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 818
    Excellent
  • 129
    Very good
  • 39
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
A great experience

Myself, my husband and our 12 year old daughter did the Fox Trail Terminal Face Walk. Much of, though not all, of the walk is accessible to the public without a guide. We... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 January 2017
LBEN25
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

1,101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,010: English reviews
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

This company really doesn't care about its clients. They only decide if a trip is going forward 10 minutes before the due time but for the client cancelling is only possible 24 hours ahead, so you have to come even if on the phone they say it's very unlikely that the trip will go ahead. Truly a company that doesn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gadi_mag
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review

It is with regret that we read about your dissatisfaction around our cancellation process when we were experiencing bad weather conditions. So far we have been experiencing the worst summer weather conditions for at least 12 years, this has been extremely challenging but our first consideration is and always be, safety. It is also a priority for us to manage... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Myself, my husband and our 12 year old daughter did the Fox Trail Terminal Face Walk. Much of, though not all, of the walk is accessible to the public without a guide. We however decided to go with Fox Glacier Guiding in the hope that we would learn something about the glacier. We were not disappointed our guide was funny,... More 

Helpful?
Thank LBEN25
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing Manager at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review

We're pleased to read that you were happy with your decision to join one of our Fox Trail:Terminal Face walks and that you had a good time. Thank you also for acknowledging the value of this informative walk and your guide. Guiding work very hard and it has such a positive effect receiving this recognition. All the best. Jo Wisniewski... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We had this guy called Sean on our trip, and he was AMAZING! He knew his stuff, answered all our questions perfectly and knew all the cool caves to go in on the glacier. Not only this, but he was an amazing guy, super friendly, and generally really fun to be around. He always had a smile on his face... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
Bangkok
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Not necessary to do the guided tours. It is true that you do not get access to the "restricted" areas because they are deemed "unsafe" but still you will get a good hike which start from the Fox Glacier carpark. You will have access to a high point where you can see the Glacier. Even if you do the guided... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AloysiusMD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

This was definitely a trip highlight. Although it came with a hefty price tag, the experience of flying in a helicopter and seeing the glacier up close was a once in a lifetime experience. Our guides were friendly and knowledgable - would highly recommend this adventure to anyone visiting NZ!

Helpful?
Thank Bec D
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Two of us did a terminal walk and were so grateful we paid for a tour on a rainy day. Guides took us further than general public, provided wet weather gear and were very friendly and knowledgable. Highly recommend especially if the weather is sub-par.

Helpful?
Thank Jess C
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

Very nice experience with Heli-Hike Fox Glacier : very friendly guide, amazing views. We had the chance to see it under a nice blue sky ! I highly recommend. The only '-' is for some helicopter pilots who are not always really friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We booked the flying fox heli hike and absolutely loved every second of it. We were told the weather had been bad for many weeks leading up to our trip and most tours had to be canceled for safety reasons. We were extremely lucky with the weather and took the 1:00 tour. This was my friends first helicopter ride and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoErica
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

You come to Fox Glacier town to see its namesake glacier of course, and this tour does not disappoint. Of course, you hear horror stories of crashing helicopters on this glacier, but Fox seems to be a very safety conscious and professional outfit but for those like me, uneasy flying, it was a bit of a leap of faith but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jerryskc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

We did the extreme heli hike and had a fantastic time. The day started sunny and we explored ice caves, saw the waterfall, and had a go at a variety of ice climbs. The provided lunch was excellent (you get a voucher to exchange for your choice of food before you go; sandwiches, cakes etc.) Our guide Cam was knowledgeable... More 

Helpful?
Thank togetherwego2016

Travellers who viewed Fox Glacier Guiding also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Guiding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fox Glacier Guiding and other visitors
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Fox Glacier Guiding staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?